We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the centre and very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al-Andalus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al-Andalus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Out of the centre and very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I used to come to this hotel with my family when I was a teenager and I am happy to say that when I went back this year I was not disappointed.
The hotel is situated out of the town centre up by the caves. It is easily accessible by bus or if you are feeling energetic it is a 30 minute walk or so.

The breakfast is to die for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zozotxiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    38
    17
    16
See reviews for
22
99
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was advertised on the Thomas Cook website as being 400m to the beach. The hotel is OK, clean, staff fairly friendly with a small pool area. It is quite remote but fine if you want a very relaxing holiday. However, in order to get to the beach, a bus trip is required as this is 4 Km away. The bus goes from the Caves which is close by. We telephoned the Thomas Cook office whilst on holiday as instructed to register a complaint about the misleading location which was to be followed up once we got home. When we arrived home, we were told Thomas Cook was not responsible for the website (says Thomas Cook all over the home page) and that is was a Flexi-tours trip so not their problem (we paid TC for the holiday!!!). Anyway, very rude Customer Services woman said they would refund some of our bus fare but not the full amount as we could not provide receipts (do you keep bus tickets when you are abroad on holiday?). Gave us a TC voucher for £35 which we rejected. Have since sent emails to TC and Chief Executive - no response or reply. Terrible customer service - used to go with TC all the time - never again. Sheer misrepresentation on the website!!!!! don't go there is you like the beach!!!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel if you like the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoochie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights while we visited nerja, the hotel was very clean, staff very polite, food cheap and delicious, you really need a car to get into nerja but there is a bus stop about 100yds away from the hotel, or if you are feeling energetic its about 20 mins walk, (all down hill) but remember its up all the way back. would recommend this hotel to anyone, also has a very nice pool with sunbeds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1621mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked as website indicated 1km from the beach - in reality over 4km, meaning using either an infrequent bus service, or a 10-15€ taxi journey each way. Lovely view of the N-340, the Spanish equivalent of the M4 which will keep you awake all night. Service is pretty much non-existent, rooms are small, under equipped, neglected, but in fairness, are clean. We indicated our displeasure and wanted to cancel our remaining nights, and were met with disinterest even though we are on our honeymoon. We have booked elsewhere, even though that means losing over 60€ as we feel the service is totally unhelpful. Overall, one to be avoided, especially if you enjoy being near the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcleanhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nerja hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this hotel to go to a friends wedding in NERJA. This hotel is in a neighboring town called maro there is not a single thing to do around the hotel other than the small pool. The menu was poor with very little choice. We stayed here for four nights self catering. Although the hotel was clean enough and staff friendly (good English and 24 hour reception) the location totally spoiled our trip... a taxi into nerja centre was between 9-10 euro and was absolutely unavoidable we had to make this trip several times a day to get food unless we made food in the room... there are no facilities for this.Nerja is a beautiful town there are lots of nice places in a more central location. Had I have took my 5 year old daughter the holiday would have been ruined.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen10g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel was in a lovely location, food fantastic, staff brilliant, nothing too much trouble for them.

We booked this on the internet and it said that it was 500 mt to the beach and it wasn't ! very very long walk away, so you need to hire a car (which we didn't want to do )we wanted a hotel close to a beach...........so the information on the co op travel site was wrong ! which really upset us as we like to snorkel and swim. Also I think it is totally unsuitable for kids, as there is nothing for them to do. So you live and learn. We will never book a holiday on the internet again, by the way we were not the only ones to be fooled about the beach being close by...................so take note

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raykay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

booked a week away at christmas last. Yes i know its taken a while but it still bugs me. Wanted to get away for xmas so booked through travelsoon .com and they came back with this, I already know the area very well as normally stay in Almunecar but thought we would try something a little more livle hence Nerga. OMG right next to a motorway although we still had sea views via the smog. Constant God FM played during mealtimes which were incvlusive but totally inedible (spaghetti bologniase) actually pasta with tomato soup. the staff were lovely especially the irish lady on reception but after 2 days had to leave and go and find somewhere else to spend the week, I think it was the remotness that really put us off. Not the hotels fault after all its just a motel but Travelsoon should have made this clear.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#28 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Andalucia
Hostal Andalucia
#21 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#11 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#8 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Andalus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Andalus Hotel

Property: Al-Andalus Hotel
Address: Calle Siroco 1 | C/ de la Cueva s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Andalus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Al-Andalus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Andalus Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing