We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

After many years of holidaying in Nerja we decided this year we'd stay in the hotel. As everyone who has read the many reviews this hotel is perfectly situated at the Balcon De Europe plaza and is in the heart of this traditionally Spanish town, its location is perfect. We'd booked a sea view room with balcony & were given a room overlooking the plaza so we had asked to change rooms, which they did. We were on the 2nd floor which was closer to the beach and terrace which was better. We'd booked on half-board which to be honest wasn't worth it. The breakfast buffet was very good & great quality however, the evening meals were disappointing. We only ate in the restaurant on 3 evenings as a result (the night of arrival & buffet dining nights) the town has many excellent restaurants to offer & with better a dining experience.

It was also disappointing to have to pay for the use of sun beds as a hotel guest (but not on the very small pool deck). The staff were helpful and polite and if we were to stay in the hotel we'd go B&B.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
9  Thank MistaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful hotel in a lovely location look no further! This hotel is situated in the quaint Andalusian town of Nerja with it's own beachside restaurant and beach cove - you could be in the Caribbean without the hurly burly . It's peaceful yet right in the centre of this quaint town with it'd cobbled streets and lovely restaurants. Go in the winter months for this atmosphere, it's quite a different place in the high season. Excellent for the retired but young at heart in winter. I haven't found a more beautiful place. If anything lets it down it's the food but there are plenty of other places to eat. A wonderful experience-I look forward to my month next March. You must get a sea view room.

Room Tip: You must get a sea view room, they are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

For me, this hotel was perfect and the location could not have been better. I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful when needed.
My room, 701, overlooked the Balcony de Europe and the sea and coastline beyond. It was a pleasant room with a small balcony from which I enjoyed watching the constant parade of people going to the end of the balcony and back. Swifts circle the sky from morning to night and are so much nicer than seagulls of which there are a few.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and the coffee/tea was served at the table which was very convenient.
The beach bar provided a good menu of meals and snacks which were well presented and reasonably priced.
The pool area and the beach were well kept. The sea, when calm, was enticing.
Service in the Balcon Bar was perhaps a little slow, but hey, this is a holiday.
The presence of the manager was in evidence nearly everywhere and the staff are obviously well trained and smart.
Many lovely restaurants and bars are within very easy walking distance.
Sorry that a charge for sunbeds is imposed in the summer months.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend finding the extra money for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andreamay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Nerja. All the staff are very friendly and the service is excellant. The hotel reception in particular were extremely helpful . Breakfasts very good. Champagne thrown in for free. Ideal for lunch both in the beach restaurant and balcon cafe both perfectly located for a relaxing meal in pleasant surroundings. The balcon bar is great for a pre dinner drink and not expensive. Did not eat in the hotel in the evening as there is tremendous choices in the town. A charming and friendly hotel in a beautiful town that still retains many of the Spanish traditions no longer found in many Spanish resorts. Also note there was no charge for the sunbeds as noted by a previous reviewer. Will definately return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bibirain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Came for a cup of coffee after the beach, we were dressed appropriately and acting appropriately but treated very rudely by the waiter who acted like we were wasting his time by being there!

No gluten free dessert options at all (the waiter couldn't/ wouldn't make any other suggestions).
Wouldn't come back again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Agapantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Nerja is a beautiful town & the Balcon is right at its heart. Obviously very pricey but you get what you pay for. We had room 711 which had a sea view & terrace ... the rooms on the 5th floor have the biggest terraces. The lift to the beach is great & the breakfast is terrific, thankfully we only stayed three nights as otherwise we would have piled on the weight from the freshly cooked pancakes & omelettes. Staff very helpful & friendly, although the reception staff could be a bit more pro-actively friendly. The hotel is very close to all the restaurants (& there are very many!!) & pubs ... just great.

Room Tip: The 5th floor rooms have the biggest terraces, but any room with sea view & balcony is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BernieH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We love the Mediterranean and Adriatic coasts, and have stayed in wonderful seaside hotels all over Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Croatia, Slovenia, and various islands around the Mediterranean. We are very particular in selecting the hotels where we stay, seeking out what we expect to provide the best experience in these incredible seaside towns. So we had some idea of what we were going to encounter at the Balcon de Europa in Nerja. But it surpassed our wildest dreams for this terrific little resort town. It's now our all-time favorite hotel for a relaxing beach stay.

We spent four nights in Nerja, sandwiched between stays in Malaga, Granada and Madrid, all of which have more interesting historical and cultural sights. But Nerja is the perfect town to stop in, relax, and enjoy a little down time between enjoying Spain's historical and cultural sights. And if you do go to Nerja, don't even consider staying anywhere but in one of the Balcon de Europa's seafront rooms. You will be amazed!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank savvy_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $111 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing