We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have people stayed in a different hotel to me?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Goodness me! I have just been reading the reviews for the Balcon and cannot believe the negative comments. Yes, you have to be dropped off at the Riu Monica and wait for the mini bus, but it was only a short while before it came and the driver/porter arrived and he was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at the Balcon, we were checked in quickly and efficiently and the porter took our cases up to our room. We had booked a room without a sea view, so we knew what to expect and as we were only there for a week, we didn't care, as we were hardly in our room, which was incidentally, lovely and light and airy. I have to say, however, if I was staying for more than a week and at a different time of year, I would definitely pay extra as the sea view is absolutely stunning. I honestly don't know why people are complaining about the food so much as we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals there, so much so, that we never went out for a meal. On the Friday night before we came home, there was a Chilean night, which was superb. Drinks were reasonable and we found all the waiting staff, both in the restaurant and the bar and terrace were all lovely. As I was always taught, behaviour breeds behaviour and everyone, including the lovely reception staff worked very hard. We were there late November, and they were just putting up the Christmas decorations, which were beautiful and made me wish I was staying for Christmas. The hotel is in such a superb spot and we loved sitting on the terrace or the small bar in the square opposite watching the world go by.

Room Tip: choose a sea view if you like sitting on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jellyfish28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just come back from a lovely stay at nerja!! Stayed at the balcon de Europa and was a very pleasant stay!! The staff were very friendly, especially the waitor Oliver who was very helpful!! Would recommend staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

On a recent trip to Andalucía I chose to pay a little more than budget to stay here, and I have to say it was well worth it, with a stunning location right by the Balcon de Europa. Even then it wasn't desperately expensive. I had a comfortable room with a stunning sea view, with the most amazing sunrises and the restful sound of the waves lapping on the beach below at night.
Staff were friendly and attentive, and the breakfasts were very good indeed. One or two reviewers have criticised the cooked food, but come on guys, this is Spain, not England. There was a wide range of continental stuff on offer, including some quality Serrano ham, omelettes made to order and cava available to make Bucks' Fizz. What's not to like? Just make sure you get up early enough to have time to enjoy the breakfast, and the view from the breakfast room.
Staff were also good at helping with the slightly complicated parking arrangements, where you go through the underground car park for the Balcon to get to the hotel's garage. Not specially cheap but all central hotels in Nerja charge a lot for parking, and the hotel garage is significantly cheaper than a long stay in the Balcon car park.
One of the bonuses was to discover a Happy Hour in the bar in the early evening, sets you up a treat for your tapas in the town later. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view of the Med. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrFelixPolenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

hi
just arrived home after a fab week in nerja we stayed at the balcon I will write a very honest review as I always try to use trip advisor.on arrival this hotel has the wow factor for location and fab reception,we had only paid for a standard room what a very big mistake we faced an alleyway and NO balcony never again the supplement is well worth it.
we found the restaurant had amazing views and was well looked after by the waiter oliver who was English and helped with our menu choices, what I must say as in other reviews we were fed! BUT it was not always good 4 star this being on the table service evenings the buffet nights 2 nights were excellent.
lastly everyone needs a Rory the Thomson host he was very chatty very helpful as it was our first time in nerja so thankyou for all info on area and making us laugh .
Would I return yes most definitely for the ambience and area

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pops073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic sunsets and sunrises. Clean and comfortable but next I will ensure to have seaview instead of the window facing a wall. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. The best located hotel in Nerja.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank d57san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just spent a delightful five days at the Balcon. We had a superior sea view room which appeared to have been recently re-furbished. Staff were helpful and efficient, and breakfast was delightful and varied. Will definitely stay there again.The weather was also excellent - as were the views from our balcony.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a package deal with Thomsons during February at a vey fair price. If you can book a full sea view room as the location is amazing, can't be beaten in the whole of Nerja.
The staff are great and very helpful and courteous and the housekeeping staff do a great job, the hotel is spotless.
We stayed here last year and don't go back to the same place twice that often but we enjoyed it so much last year we thought we'd return.
The only thing I will say is that we thought that the food at dinner wasn't as good as last year. Dinner is waiter service (which I really like) on 5 nights out of sevev but I have to say on a couple of nights it was a bit hectic and lacking in some respects. Also the temperature of the food wasn't always as hot as you would want it either. Don't know whether they're trying to achieve this without the right number of staff. The wait staff all do their best. Rumour has it that they will gradually change over to a buffet at dinner. Must say the breakfast is excellent with a chef there to prepare fresh omelettes and pancakes, all the usual bacon etc., lovely pastries and a cava to wash it down if you wish.
So all in all we had a very good stay but the evening meals were not up to par with last year.
However if we were visiting Nerja in the future we would not hesitate to stay at the Balcon, good price for a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: if you can go for full sea view - wouldn't go for 5th floor - it's the floor between cafe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiraiya23, Propietario at Hotel Balcon de Europa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

@valleygirlCardiff

Thank you so much for repeating with us during your visit to Nerja. Our goal is to keep improving and give our guests the best service we can. Sorry you didn't find the dinner as good as you wanted.

Thank you again for your feedback and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $102 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing