We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb will definetly be back-expect to see a 5 rating on the wall next vist!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb will definetly be back-expect to see a 5 rating on the wall next vist!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately only stayed 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. Everything was superb from uthe staff, the room and the food.
Staff -upon arrival we were given a warm welcome, and greatly appreciated the help the porter gave us with collecting our luggage from the underground car park. The reception staff were very approachable and nothing was too much trouble. The staff in the restaurant were efficient, and all seemed extremely happy, especially the chap who made the omelettes and pancakes!!!!!
Rooms-We only booked a basic room with no balcony or seaview-the room was furnished beautifully, with an excellent shower room. All furniture and fittings were in good working order.
Food-Breakfast was very good everything you could wish for including Bucks Fizz. We also tried the evening buffet which was excellent, did not experience sloppy food or a smell of cabbage!!!! There was everything from Paella, to Roast Chicken, Smoked Salmon, beautiful Rosada Fish, and a wonderful selection of salads and pasta dishes.
Will definetly be back next year if not sooner !!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    388
    126
    40
    24
See reviews for
175
709
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fantastic location and we had a great view from our balcony in one of the higher rooms. What a break from the rain at home. Staff especially the porter really helpful and just smiled when I got lost walking back to my car with him so he could show me the parking. Good breakfast but I would skip the half board as the food seems to be designed to be easy on the dentures and the dining room smells of boiled cabbage like a hospital canteen.

Room Tip: higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simontolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just returned from the Balcon de europa in Nerja a perfect part of the true Spain,We had a very nice time and met some lovely people. Our room was with a balcony and well worth the money difference spotlessly clean and kept that way every day, The views are fantastic with the sea views. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Now the food was not as good as we would have liked evening meal was not very good but breakfasts were fine with plenty of choice, bed and breakfast would be a better choice for us in the future. Nerja is lovely and well worth a visit with plenty of lovely eating places and bars a great tapas ect. They have a good bus service to lots of area in the Costa del Sol. I would'nt think it it would appeal to families only because the swimming pool is very small but the beach is only inches away so that makes up for it. Will certainly go back there as the location is brill.

Room Tip: sea view with balcony a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

After 20 years of the 'Nerja Experience' we now choose to stay at just two of the hotels available in Nerja. We have stayed at the Hotel Balcon de Europa the most times and after a four week holiday we are now back home planning our next stay. The staff are so friendly and professional and made our stay all the more enjoyable.
The only drawback is the lack of access to front of the hotel for taxis (drop off about 150 yards away) and coaches (drop off at the Riu Monica Hotel). Also the waiter service is now down to five days a week and a couple of evenings a week there is 'live' music played during dinner which, in our opinion,is not necessary.
A 'free' safe in all rooms is a definite plus and the comfortable beds ensures a decent nights sleep. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghostrider5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at the Balcon de Europa in Nerja last week,a simply fabulous hotel.We flew with Monarch Holidays. everything to plan.this hotel is spotlessly clean,well appointed rooms, staff who are obliging to the enth degree. A menu with enough choice for the most particular diner.We found everything one could have wished for. The weather was kind to us too temperatures varied from 12/19o Showers on a couple of days but very comfortable most days
Nerja has plenty of attractive areas to explore a very pretty town, small coves since there is no continuous length of promenade but dining in the hotel restaurant looking out over the ocean at sunrise and sunset is an amazing experience...

We visited many nearby resorts using the local bus service which is good and cheap - to Frigiliana, to Torrox,to Torre de Mar, to Malaga,to almudeca an extreme variety of coast line, Torrox - all apartments,Torre de Mar also dominated by high rise apartment blocks.................Almudeca such a pretty place, good promenade and pretty scenery.

We were on a half board basis and even this early in the year we found restaurants open and serving good food for a quick lunch,

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear but those with rooms and balcony overlooking the ocean said it was worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to this hotel by our travel agent and reviews on this site. We booked a sea view room, which has more than met our expectations. The room is spacious, very nicely decorated and furnished, with bedside lights that you can actually read by!
The weather has not been great but we can sit in our room or on the balcony and watch the waves. The breakfast buffet has a wonderful choice, you can even have a champagne breakfast! It's just a short walk to the restaurants, shops and beaches.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ejsibbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

had a great time at the hotel, my partner and I really enjoyed her stay food good, staff friendly and helpful. weather was good and an ideal position for the shops and restaurants. no problems at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlifeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#8 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Property: Hotel Balcon de Europa
Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing