We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We got married in Nerja in 2011 and had the reception at the hotel. Everything was amazing, from the friendly staff, to the beautiful food to the stunning setting. I could not fault it.
We returned for a two nught stay recently and again were so impressed by this hotel. The check in staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Our room (311) was immaculately presented. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. We slept so well when we were there, hearing the waves lapping up against the rocks was so relaxing. We were kindly treated to some champagne and strawberries for Valentines day which was greatly appreciated. Breakfast aas lovely and is served in the dining room with fantastic sea views.
We love this place. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank econno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    411
    131
    41
    25
See reviews for
187
760
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned home from a two week break at this lovely hotel. We had great weather and just one morning a little cloudy.
We weren't that impressed with Thomsons though - dropped off at the Rui Hotel for minibus to the Balcon as its not possible for the bus to get down the narrow streets, we already knew this would happen. Rep left it very late to call the minibus and resulted in a long wait for many people. The bus carries 8 passengers and there were twenty people going to the Balcon, the rep already mentioned he was leaving for home that evening - guess he didn't care.
Arrived at the hotel a little weary after an early get up - had already read on TA that room 501 was a little noisey due to it being right under the cafeteria which was used morning and night. Guess which room we were allocated - asked if there was a room change possible and we were told to report back first thing. The hotel was quite full but we exchanged rooms the following morning without fuss. Have to say that the staff are really good and can see why many people return year after year.
As previously stated the breakfast is great, lots of choice and the evening meal is of a good standard - nice to be waited on for a change (not too many hotels do this these days).
In our opinion if you're going to Nerja the location cannot be beaten.
We checked out the Riu whilst we were there and we were please we'd picked the Balcon, understand that this is also a very nice hotel but way too large for us and not such a good location.
If we ever went back to Nerja we would definately pick this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea-view with balcony - would think that the higher floors 7 - 9 would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd stay at the Balcon de Europa and once again it ticked all the boxes for us .It's a lovely hotel that retains good old fashioned values and charm where the guests are treated with excellent service and respect. Rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard and have individual air conditioning and heating for the winter months if needed. Comfy beds with good quality bed linen and pillows make for a good nights sleep. The only thing missing which could improve our stay is tea & coffee making facilities. Excellent self service breakfast but there is waiter service in the restaurant for evening meals. Evening meals are acceptable but not outstanding but there are so many great restaurants in the area so bed & breakfast is a good option. There is a small pool and sunbathing area but also a lovely private beach.It's situated in the best area of Nerja with great sea and mountain views.
Look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Would recommend paying that little bit extra and book a room with balcony and sea view.Great for pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a week at The Balcon de Europa.
The hotel is popular and was full, so there was no way of upgrading our room.
The rooms are of a high standard and modern, however, those without a sea view are a let down. Ours looked out onto a tiny courtyard and you were unable to even see the sky, which my wife was not happy about. As has been said previously, the others look onto a lane, which can be noisy.
This being said the hotel scores on all other counts of position, amenities etc. the waiter service dinner impressed me, I was aware that earlier reviewers had mixed opinions. The choice was very good and the standard excellent, although a few of the staff could not raise a smile.
We have used the Riu Monica in the past and been very pleased with it, however The Balcon matches up - but book a sea view.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just got back from this lovely Hotel When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly reception staff Taken to our room by a friendly porter.We were delighted when we saw the room. It was quite large with twin beds.Flat screen TV with loads of channel.Beautiful decor and a view to die for (sea and mountain views).The bathroom was lovely with a large walk in shower and a bidet.Complementary shampoo and shower gel, lovely large bath sheets changed most days.The evening meal on a Sunday was a buffet but the rest of the week was waiter service. A set meal but plenty of choice,(the food was better the first week!than the second)The breakfast was buffet with plenty of choice also and mostly friendly staff.A small swimming pool and sun loungers available.The beach is private and very nice.Not a lot of entertainment but this did not bother us as we went out every night.Secure safe in room and heating or air con at no further expenditure.The only thing that I did not like was having to pay for water in the evening when water and Carva was free at breakfast.It as been a truly wonderful holiday

Room Tip: the 8 th floor with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STITCHHELEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here in January and were lucky to have really good weather. The Hotel is on the Balcon and has absolutely stunning views and at this time of year you can see the sun rise and set over the sea. We had booked a standard room (would definitely not advise this) but were able to upgrade as the Hotel was quiet.
The breakfasts are excellent, huge choice and Cava every day! The dinners were good but sometimes a little surprising because of their English translation, I never did find out what Cheek of Beef was. The waiting staff are very efficient and helpful.
The swimming pool is small but is heated in the winter.
Rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. All the staff were really nice and helpful. Happy hour from 5.30 to 6.30 was a bonus, half price drinks, and at this time of year amazing sunsets from the bar window! All in all an excellent hotel!
All this and right next to the old town. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Always pay extra for the balcony and sea view the other rooms are not worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 weeks in January/February 2013. The sea view rooms can be a little noisy when the sea is rough at this time of year whilst those overlooking the Balcon de Europa are quiet as the Balcon is deserted in the late evening. The hotel has a semi-public beach with its own restaurant at beach level.The staff are efficient and friendly and the hotel is kept scrupilously clean. Half Board, taken in the main restaurant, was good value and the food was varied and good quality. Internet access and the in-room safe were both without charge. The windows are double-glazed but inter-room noise can be noticeable if you get inconsiderate neighbours: if you do just talk to reception and they will take action.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on floors 7-9 have less sea noise in bad weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agrestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Property: Hotel Balcon de Europa
Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing