We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Back again on 25th Oct for 5 nights. Location superb. First 2 days rain but didn't spoil our visit - hotel lent us an umbrella. Refurbished room (309 junior suite, 3 floors below reception, 1 floor below the breakfast/restaurant) to a high standard. My wife even asked where they bought the wallpaper from! Bed very large and comfortable, flat screen modern TV (BBC1, 2, ITV, CH5, CH4 etc if you are that desperate), Balcony -great view to sea and the Balcon de Europa. Bathroom good - only negatives - needs anti-slip mat in bath/shower and instructions how to operate the 2 over the bath showers (a rain type one and a power type one). Large hot and cold buffet style varied breakfast, replenished regularly. (Juices, sparkling wine, water - eggs of all kinds, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, etc. - fruits, cold meats, pate, cereals,cheeses etc. Coffee or tea replenished quickly at your table with wonderful views out to see. The French doors not open at this time of the year, but would have been possible on a couple of mornings the weather was so warm. Staff were very pleasant and helpful as usual.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Junior Suite with balcony facing the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helenamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Balcon de Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very enjoyable visit.Couldn't be beaten for location in the heart of Nerja.All restaurants and bars within a short walking distance and beautiful views.The staff were excellent and very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Breakfast better than expected - really nice. Tiny private beach accessed straight from lift is fantastic. Rooms cramped. Location good for the town. Decent terrace with nice view. Staff not friendly.

Room Tip: Nearby caves very worth a visit.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I will start of by saying I love Nerja and have visited on countless occasions; we usually stay in a fantastic Apt on Carebeo so if honest the hotel was always up against it.
We had paid for a sea view and when we got to our room we had a sea view but overlooking the canopy of the hotel and the Balcon.We asked to be moved and we did, but slightly dismayed the change was so easy as I got the impression it was a room that nobody really wanted.
Anyway let’s get onto the positives:
Room excellent
Staff excellent
Breakfast excellent
Beach lovely - but for me scandalous how you have to pay for the use of beach beds. Also being able to book your bed with the attendants the night before is also unfair
Pool lovely and great sun trap
Food for lunch fine, little expensive, but with so many eating places close by always up against it
Sitting on the Balcon outside the hotel with a drink people watching is superb
A lovely setting
Great young lad who helped with cases and also general enquires was superb (Can’t think of his name)

Overall great hotel – but would only stay if I couldn’t get our Apartment

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leejanste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have just returned from the Balcon..wish I'd known beforehand that not all of the rooms have a balcony or a VIEW!! My first room looked out onto a white wall. There was no balcony so I had to lean out of the window and look upwards to see the time of day and the weather!!! Midway through my week I was allocated a 'single' room - define that to mean shoebox. There was a view of the sea and beach if you were less than 2 feet tall or above 6 feet six...in between these high and low windows was an obstruction to the view - a wall! Still no balcony! There was now the added inconvenience of there being nowhere to sit other than the bed, which slid away from the wall as soon as you leaned on the headboard!! Food varied in quality..great buffet..bland main courses...interesting, well presented starters...desserts okay if you enjoy fresh fruit or ice cream. Some delightful staff...some miserable 'do we really have to serve you?' types too. Overall, the hotel is living off its reputation and doesn't really care if you enjoy your stay or not as there are many who do return knowing how to nab the best rooms etc but despite its 'beachfront location' don't expect to see the beach unless you're a visionary and know to ASK beforehand!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview and balcony when you book otherwise..forget it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The. Hotel and its location was excellent. The food was very good with lots of choices. Staff very obliging and friendly. Free wifi was fantastic, able to keep in contact with home and not pick up a hefty bill from service provider. One small problem for us was the room (501) which was next to the bar and was noisy especially in the mornings when they were opening up. However, we didn't complain but when we return next year we shall ask not to be put in the same room. Adored Nerja with its easy going atmosphere and can't wait to return

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeathergOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at several hotels in nerja area ,but this hotel is quietly becoming the best,surely cannot be beaten on location , restaurant position ,more or less own private beach , free sunbeds after oct 1st ,with nice restaurant snack bar on beach . Staff efficient ,friendly,and very helpfull, The balcon area is right in the centre of the old town, and is quite flat for those less mobile to get around ,or even sit in one of the many pavement cafes and watch the world go by. If someone knows a better hotel in nerja please let me no ?

Room Tip: If can afford it do get a suite with balcony overlooking beach , fab
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Phil5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,819 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $104 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing