We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Joy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Another delightful five days in the Balcon. Refurbishing is still taking place but you hardly notice it is happening. Everything excellent as usual. Unlike our October stay we were lucky enough this time to get a refurbished suite. Lovely decor with a large comfy new bed and I do prefer the new bathroom layout it has more shelving and a decent hairdryer compared to the previous rooms. Breakfast is good and plentiful and served until a very leisurely 10.30am. We do not eat dinner in the hotel but found the lunches good, especially the grilled sole. Washed down with a bottle of the house wine which is most reasonably priced. For dinner there are lots of wonderful restaurants in Nerja, we like No 34 ,- delicious sucking pig, Calabazza for the steak and No 39 for lobster. Out shopping look for 'La Mimosa' a delighful spanish owned shop selling the most beautiful things and not too expensive. Ps hotel no longer charges extra for safe & fridge in suites & Slippers are provided. A great idea, hopefully the high heel wearers will take the hint and stop clacking around on the marble floors?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Being in the Centre of Neja and, having a room which provided views of the Balcon Esplanade, my Wife and I spent a leisurely ten days using the Hotel,s private beach,wandering through the adjacent Streets and, sampling both the Hotel food, and the many local restaurants
The Balcon is ideal for we older Seniors who wish enjoy the comfort and service associated with a Family run Hotel .
We hope to return next year!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Balcon Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kellockadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent 3 days at this hotel and wished we'd allowed more time both for Nerja and the hotel. We had a 2nd floor room with a balcony fronting the water with a spectacular view of the rocks and crashing waves. We never closed the balcony door the entire time we were there as we loved the crashing sound and the temperature was perfect both day and night. Our room was very large and spacious with a nice sitting area and was very clean.

The breakfast was fine, and the breakfast room setting had wonderful views. We weren't impressed by the menus for lunch and dinner, and frankly, based on Trip Advisor reports, we weren't inclined to try. It was too easy to stroll to all the nearby restaurants. In addition to cheaper tourist places, there are quality restaurants as well.

We did enjoy the light and airy hotel bar where the service was good and the prices very reasonable. This hotel is frequented by Brits who would congregate there after dinner. They were affable, and we enjoyed getting to know two of the couples there.

We had been traveling for over two weeks at this point and were used to the typical hotel TV line up where the only English speaking channels were news. Here they had several English channels with BBC drama and movies. We were delighted.

We enjoyed this hotel so much that we plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontheroad4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We enjoyed our morning coffee on the terrance of this hotel on a sunny morning in March, watching the crowds go by, when we decided for an early lunch. We were surprised that the kitchen was already open at 12 noon but even more by the quality of the food. The grilled sword fish and the gamba's arrived fast and were excellently prepared. Our waiter was very attentive, also in trying to chase away the doves that apparently appreciated the food as well.
The plates were that large and tasty that we had no room for dessert.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Radz494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Lovely hotel. Great location. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Room with sea view was fantastic. We didn't eat there in the evenings so can't comment on other food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiddlegirlHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last week April 2012 and would highly recommend it - Its a beautiful hotel and deserves its 4 star. Rooms are spotless and food is excellent - The perfect place to stay when in Nerja.

Room Tip: Look for room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

on a day trip to Nerja we had lunch at the Balcon de Europa.
the food was sub par for a supposedly 4 star hotel. I had the fish plate and got a variety of fish...all fried, greasy and with little taste.
when I had to change my little one's nappies there was no nursery room or changing table in the restroom. and apart fromt that there was no lift to the floor with the toilets, so I had to carry the pushchair downstairs without getting a helping hand from the staff (not a biggie but again: 4 star hotel, without a changing table/nursery room and no lift to the restaurant restroom...).

the only positive thing i have to say is that the waiter was very nice and helpful: when my little one spilt my coke, I got a new one without being charged. the waiter also gave us advice on how to get to the caves.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
3  Thank FirstNameSurname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $110 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing