We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Capistrano Villages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Los Arcos(Nerja)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nerja Club(Nerja)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
111
118
43
18
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
118
43
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cave barbedroom villabreathing problemsminute walkburriana beachshop on sitepool rulessmall supermarketnerja townsmall gardenup hilllos arcos hoteldining tablemini marketsun loungersrelaxing holidaylocal supermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 312 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just returned from a week at El Capistrano, it's a beautiful place, a proper little white washed village! The apartment was a little tired inside, but was clean and very well equipped in the kitchen, everything you would need. We arrived at 9.30pm, we knew the reception would be closed and they did leave instructions on how to find our key along with a map on how to find your apartment. It's a vast place and the map is pretty rubbish, so it did take us about an hour to find our apartment in the dark. There is no maid service and our towels were never changed, but that didn't really matter. The pool area is beautiful and is very clean although you need to pay €2.90 a day to hire a sun lounger which wasn't good! It does take 30mins to walk into town and would be a struggle walking back if you weren't used to the hill climb. Once in the town there are lovely restaurants offering 3 course meals for €8-€20 - excellent value. El Merendon Italian has the best pasta/pizza/crepes I've ever tasted - all freshly made, that pasta really is to die for! There is a lovely bar on site but the bar man wasn't too nice and we didn't like the feel of the place - had a sleazy feel about it although that could have just been to one night we went in. The supermarket on site is pretty good, well stocked and reasonable priced - all in all, we would go back to El Capistrano.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have been here a few times on holiday and really love it. I stay in the same apartment every time and it's beautiful. The urbanisation is lovely also with fantastic gardens. Also the supermarket and restaurant don't try to rip you off. Paco the barman is a legend! A fair walk back from the beach as its all up hill.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AndyX_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The Capistrano Village is actually 3 villages of differing distance from Nerja centre and beach. We stayed in the top part of the village which was a good 30minute walk down to the beach but longer on the way back as it is up a relatively steep hill, so a car would definitely be beneficial. No air con in the appartment which meant it was incredibly hot at night. However the setting is nice with views across Nerja, there are multiple pools and the appartment was clean and well furnished. Receptions staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sheffield88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I rented a privately owned villa here, so cannot comment on the quality of the tourist ones rented directly from the reception. However, I do need to say that I was massively impressed with the place in general. Imagine winding little paths between villas, with a wide variety of pretty flowers and the smell of jasmine on the air, villas with large terraces, all overlooking the sea. There are two pool areas, both generously sized, which are deep and refreshing in the August heat. There are also splash pools for younger children which are far more shallow and a life guard watches over both pools for most of the day. There are also snack bars at both pools, which are comparible in price to the bars down on Burriana. If you order a hotdog you will literally get the equivalent of two Princes hotdogs in a soft and squidgy bun. Around 3.5 Euros for two beers (not full pints).

For me a major part of the appeal is that this place is not in the centre of Nerja and there isn't a tower block style hotel to be seen in the area, it feels far more authentically Spanish and a bit of a haven away from tourist tatt. Adalucia is a very hilly region, so expect to have to walk up some fairly steep hills getting back from the beach. This is around a 25 minute walk in the heat of the day (unless you have a rest stop for a beer at Hotel Nerja Club). The quickest route to the beach we found was to follow the road downhill fron the Hotel Nerja Club and just keep going down, you will arrive at Burriana (around 1 mile). It's about 2 miles to Nerja town from here and the best way is to follow the N340, this is a mostly flat walk for people who don't like hills.

There is a decent supermaket (SuperSol) a five minute walk away, but don't leave it too late to get your fresh fish for the BBQ because they sell out of that mid afternoon. The bread there is also good, you will often find it is still warm when you pick it up. Beware though, in this touristy area the supermarket food prices (and fuel prices) are not disimilar to the UK and it can often be cheaper to eat out, as many of the restaurants have daily menus for around 10 Euros for a three course meal. However, wine and beer in the supermarkets is very cheap!

Room Tip: If you feel lazy the food at Hotel Nerja Club is good, for a splurge the steak menu is very tastey. Three courses inc. a large steak dinner and a bottle of Rioja 25 Euros per person.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Fatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My Son lives in japan and came to Europe for 1 month as a belated honeymoon, so we joined them for their last week in Nerja.
I must admit I am bordering betwen average and good for this holiday venue overall.
This is a very clean and comfortable area but far away (1km) from the hub of Nerja. That may not appear a long distance until you take into account the heat of August. It means taxis or buses (time dependant) if you want to go anywhere.
The pool areas are clean and with cafe / bars you dont actualy need to go to the beach, sunbeds are not free but cost e2.90 each per day.
The cabes are a must see.
Would I go back here again. Maybe but not in august - too hot.
the transfer (by taxi @ e80 each way) is about 45 mins so if you get a coach transfer then you could be looking at 1.5 hours.
There is a supermarket on site - 2 resturants so it is catered for quite nicely. You will find much worseplaces than here and if you do come to these appartments you will not be dissapointed but if like us not delighted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews