We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms and great location”
Review of Hotel Perla Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Perla Marina
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“nice rooms and great location”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hard to complain about this place. We got a great room with a balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Decent size for what we needed had plenty of space. Safe in the room which has to be paid for but was €8 for the week so not to bad. Large bathroom also. We were there for a wedding in the Balcon so this was close enough to it.

Breakfast was in the other part of the hotel cross the road and every taste catered for. We weren't hungry leaving put it that way. The always empty bar was a bit strange even at night but it was a little dearer than the nearby bars.

We had to checkout by midday but our flight wasn't u until late evening and we were left in the room without any hassle. We emailed our boarding passes to the gentleman in reception and he printed them out and all without a word said. Highly recommend this hotel

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank theredarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    292
    232
    87
    57
See reviews for
137
455
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have stayed here previously and said in a review that this place is excellent value for money and we have had really good sea-view rooms on both visits and the staff in the restaurant have been brilliant at breakfast.
Unfortunately like the previous reviewer we have just experienced a wedding party (different one as ours was 13th October) where the drunken large group of guests sat on the terrace (presumably being served drinks) on the night before the wedding singing loudly until the early hours of the morning. If you have a sea-view room in the main building this is a real problem. No longer a hotel for couples or families now with these large noisy groups. We will not stay again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokefree99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingslynn
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have stayed here many times but felt on our last stay that the Hotel is going downhill. Many areas now need redecorating/refurbishing.
Our biggest complaint however is that the Hotel is being taken over by large groups of people who are coming to weddings and staying over for a week or so.The behaviour of these groups had to be seen to be believed, drunkenness, swearing, leaving litter and broken glasses around the pool area, noisy behaviour on the terrace until the early hours with no regard for those trying to sleep and being bare chested in the dining room.The hotel management did nothing to correct this behaviour and will have to decide whether it wants to continue having ordinary couples as guests or to let these groups take over.

Room Tip: Sea view room well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johndayKingslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely location - right on the seafront. Excellent service and great facilities. However - we did request a balcony but this was only six inches and could not sit out. We were told we should have requested a terrace and would have to upgrade 20 euros a night for this facility. Nerja itself if beautiful and unspoilt - very Spanish.

Room Tip: request a terrace and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueyorkshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

we could not fault this hotel unlike some other people on trip adviser. we found most things were a 100% beach was a bit stoney untill you got in beach umberelas good but rooftop infinity pool was perfect,but take food up there with you.all the staff were realy good and the both hotels were a pleasure to be in would definetly reconmend but book a sea view room.

Room Tip: sea view corner rooms is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel Perla Marina was recommended to us from friends. We arrived before check in time , but the room was already ready. The check in goes very fast and professional with the friendly guys at the reception.

We got a room in the "old" building facing the street. The room is really very nice and the view towards teh mountains was amazing. It was not really a fancy and new designer room, but was definitely comfortable and clean and tidy, allowing enough space to live during the vacation time.

The food at the restaurant was really it's biggest advantage. The dinners were really very various with a lot of freshly prepared fish and a lot of choices. My hint are the tomatoes. They just taste like nowhere else!!!! Also breakfast was reasonable. Everything could be found - from traditional english breakfast, via cereals up to a continental breakfast... Really everything!

The stuff in the restaurant was the best - very kind and welcoming with a lot of experience....

The location is also very nice, because you have a beach just infront of the hotel or you can go to the center of the village, which was in walking distance (5-10 mins).

Nerja the village is a bit boring, because a lot of older people are visiting, but it is also quite calm and safe. Prices are also very reasonable, compared to other parts of Spain.

Overall rating is EXCELLENT! We would definitely book it anytime again without any consideration!

Room Tip: I would go for a sea side room, but also the other rooms facing the street are nice. I didnt see any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank br0kera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pro's

*Right on the beach
*Food in snack bar lovely
*Staff helpful
*Spotlessly clean
*Rooftop pool is breathtaking. You have the ocean on one side and the mountains on the other. It is in the part across the road from main hotel on the 5th floor and is so nice.

Con's

*beach is snony
*Breakfast not the best {however, if you are only looking for fruit, toast, yoghurts etc, it is fine. The sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs are inedible (seriously!)}
*Rooms in main hotel are not great at all... we paid for a sea view room which we got but the room itself is seriously outdated. Even the complimentary toiletries come in sachets! The balcony was tiny and uninviting


I was here with a group for a friends wedding so it was fine. But, given the choice, i wouldn't have booked this hotel and wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Rooms across from main hotel seem a lot nicer than the ones in the original hotel. Seaview room is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklyirisheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#27 of 37 in Nerja
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Marina

Property: Hotel Perla Marina
Address: Calle Merida 7, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Perla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Marina Hotel
Perla Marina Nerja
Nerja Hotel Perla Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing