We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”

Bar Dolores El Chispa
Ranked #62 of 399 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Some of the best seafood I have ever eaten. We had the whole squid a la plancha and it was delicious cooked to perfection. Have the tomato salad with it. Loads of fresh tomatoes swimming in delicious oil and garlic. The waiters don't speak much English so a great place to practice your Spanish too. They are super friendly though and will do anything they can to help you.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lornamharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    109
    21
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Great local scene,tapas and reasonable prices.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been here many times. We are staying a few doors down from it. Family run business with brothers, sisters and brother-in-law. They specialize in seafood tapas. We find the staff friendly but it does get busy and loud which is part of the fun. Try to speak some Spanish and it will be helpful and appreciated. This is Spain after all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourdon, France
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“CAN BE RUDE TO TOURISTS”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Normally I would have rated this bar higher, unfortunately they have a nasty habit of giving 'foreigners' whatever tapas is at hand or already cooked, not giving them a chance to chose their own.
Bar staff a bit surly.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank viperaberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An authentic Spanish restaurant I love to visit”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Whenever I come to Nerja, I have at least one meal here and usually more than one. The atmosphere can be noisy, in a Spanish way, and the food is simple but delicious: fish, gambas, some meat, tomatoes, … the Spanish way too… Prices are very low: you can have meal for €10. If you like the authentic Spanish restaurants, you'll probably like El Chispa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedroTytgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab tapas”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the most amazing and cheapest tapas bar in nerja, very few tourist ever find it, i.e. 3.90 euros for 2 very good glasses of red and the most amazing tapas, if you ordered this in London, you'd be paying paying £25+ You will need a map/gps but it's worth finding, if you really want to embrace and enjoy the spanish people and culture

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrissie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Dolores El Chispa also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Bar Dolores El Chispa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing