We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Nerja de Nerja

Restaurant Nerja de Nerja
Ranked #39 of 383 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great staff, excellent service, and wonderful food in the lovely setting of Burriana Beach. The ideal venue for that special someone meal! Will definitely visit again when my bank balance allows, expensive but worth every penny or cent as the case may be.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    61
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
638 reviews
610 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch for 18.50 Euros”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The name of this Belgian restaurant on Burriana Beach may well be "Nerja de Nerja" but most people know it by the name of "Bruxelles" which is very prominent on the restaurant signage.

We have had moules with frites, a Belgian speciality (very good) there on previous occasions. Would willingly return for this dish anytime (with their delicious home-made Belgian frites).

This time we opted for the Sunday Lunch set menu for €18.50 per person which included a Kir Royal aperitif. For starters, we both chose the tomato salad with prawns and Rose Marie sauce very decoratively presented. We both chose the Carbonade a la Flamande (beef stew cooked in dark beer - another Belgian speciality - very tender and tasty) which came with salad and dauphinoise potatoes. For desserts there were Belgian waffles. Charming owner provided good service.

Wines available from around €11 a bottle and by the glass.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the finest restaurants in Nerja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Nerja de Nerja, a.k.a. "Bruxelles" is an absolute gem of a place located on a strip of "me too" type establishments. The menu as you might imagine is Belgian, and if you are unfamiliar with the cuisine, think French style with German portion size. Friendly, attentive service. Delicious FRESH food and lovely Duvel beer to wash it down with. Everyone in our party had a different starter and mussel dish and they all went down a treat. It seemed to us that great care was taken by the chef to make sure everything was just right. And the price was very reasonable as well considering the high quality. We will certainly be visiting again. Highly recommended! Booking advisable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Campodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Will never be back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We went here after recommendation. There was no welcome greeting and had to find our own table.. Had to eventually call waiter over to ask questions about menu. When my main course arrived it was not warm enough. My husband's was piping hot. When mentioning this there was no problem taking it away and heating it up. Mine should have come with chips and veg, but veg was missing. I didn't mention.
My main complaint was the bill. We had asked what the Soup of the day was. (4 euros 50 cents on the table menu and on the outside menu.) It was fish soup which we both love. It was really tasty, could have done with some bread, but later realised if you want bread you have to ask and pay for it! When the bill came we had been charged 6 euros 50. We pointed this out and were told the price was correct. We showed him the price on the menu for Soup of the Day and he waffled some story about that was only if it had been something like tomato, and that Gazpacho and fish etc was dearer, even although it actually named gazpacho on the menu as being 4 euros 50 cents.
It was the principle of the thing but I am not rude enough to argue about a few euros in front of other tables, so we just paid and left. We were made to feel very uncomfortable. As far as I am aware in UK it is illegal to advertise a price and charge another, and it may possibly be so in Spain. Spoiled what could have been an ok evening meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classy and Great restaurant at the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I recomend the mussels! Served in a pot! My favorite.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IceWoman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Nerja de Nerja also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurant Nerja de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing