We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”

Review of La Roca Rara

LA ROCA RARA
LUXURY 7 BEDROOM VILLA
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LA ROCA RARA
LUXURY 7 BEDROOM VILLA
Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
LA ROCA RARA
LUXURY 7 BEDROOM VILLA
Swimming Pool
Living room
New Kitchen
New Kitchen
Dining Room
Terrace
Terrace
Floodlit Tennis Court
Driveway
Bedroom 3
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Nerja, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pat T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just returned from an amazing week at Roca Rara to celebrate my big birthday with family and friends. Everything about it is excellent - from our arrival to departure there were smiles all round. Loved the pool, tennis, table tennis and boules, or just relaxing in the many beautiful locations within the villa. A lovely meal prepared and cooked on site by Debbie and her husband (and brilliant team) for my birthday was superb. Then there was the manager, John - what can I say - he was excellent, and provided a welcome pack beyond expectations. I just want to go back!!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayer...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“La Roca Rara - A Fantastic Villa”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed for 4 nights (8-12 Sept), in the middle of a two-week stay in Nerja, for my daughter's wedding. We couldn't have wished for a more ideal setting. The villa and grounds are fabulous, with all of the seven en-suite bedrooms being of a good size with comfortable beds, even the smallest one. The showers were really good too, with no worries of any fluctuating temperature changes, however many people using them.
Extras, such as luxurious pool towels, toiletries, bottled water, kiddies toys, high-chairs were all included. Can't praise the comfort of the property enough and the kitchen was enormous, being extremely well equipped and plenty big enough for our caterers to work in.
We had sixty guests for the wedding breakfast and there was plenty of room for the seven round tables in the large lounge area.
The ceremony was held outside in the lovely gardens, with the expansive terrace and its beautiful backdrop subsequently providing a great space for socialising.
As mentioned in previous reviews, John, the villa manager, was incredibly helpful and friendly, but always discrete plus he was very calm when we had a couple of unrelated-villa issues.
We didn't have the pool heated and it was fine and unfortunately didn't have any time (or was it too hot) to use the tennis court.
The hotel just down the road was very reasonable and handy for some of our guests (needed to book early as quite popular) and twenty of us had an excellent meal there one evening.
There's a steep corner up to the villa (and hotel) but no problem as long as you're prepared for it.
A fantastic time.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkoGowa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Roca Rara contributed to one of the greatest days of our lives”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My now wife and I stayed at Roca Rara for a week with family and friends. During that week it was also the venue for our wedding. The venue/villa is absolutely stunning and communication with John, the villa manager, was great from day one. We viewed it twice before booking and a couple of times after, and nothing was ever a problem. He was incredibly helpful in all of our preparations and played a big part in helping the day run very smoothly.
All of our guests were blown away by the villa and it was truly an incredible place to celebrate such a special day. There is a lot of room throughout which gave us lots of different options for the ceremony and reception. I cannot recommend it highly enough for a wedding venue. You also get to stay there for a week which was incredible.
Every room is en suite and all of the beds are very comfortable.
At the end of the week I asked my friends and family if they had any feedback. The only thing that came back as a negative was that the wifi wasn't very consistent, and there could have been a few more sets of keys to go around.
Overall, 10/10! We will definitely be back in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and space
Liked least: inconsistent wifi
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgriffith...
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly Perfect”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned from La Roca Rara where we went for a family and friends celebration of my husbands special birthday. From booking the property to (sadly) leaving it exceeded all our expectations. The property is absolutely stunning from the accomodation to the views to the facilities. John who is the manager on site is just so helpful and nothing is too much trouble for him, there was a gorgeous welcome hamper when we arrived and the villa itself was simply immaculate. We have had an unforgettable holiday and we shall treasure our memories forever. If you are looking for a large villa for a large group then La Roca Rara is just perfect for you. We do hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Access is up a steep hill but we used taxis so no problems
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollie S
Kirby Muxloe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing week!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently come back after an amazing week at La Roca Rara. We were over in Frigiliana/Nerja to celebrate our daughters wedding. Nothing was too much trouble for John the caretaker, he was always on hand whenever needed. During the week family & friends came to visit us and had a great time. I would definitely recommend this villa for large parties who want to be together. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe O
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just came back from the most incredible vacation at La Roca Rara, hosting our families together from the US, England, Switzerland and Finland. The house has so much space we could have fit in a few more countries!! Everything was perfect about it, from the oversized kitchen which allows 10 of you to work on dinner together, to the way the bedrooms circle the pool which is great for the kids as well as all being able to hang out together comfortably. John was an impeccable host; invisible when you didn't need him but there in a matter of minutes when you did. Thank you for allowing us such a great family gathering. I am sure we will be back!! Zoe

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112allan
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this holiday for a family reunion as I had family over from Australia. After making the first enquiry the owners of the villa could not have been more helpful in assisting the organisation of flight transfers and a welcoming buffet.
It was a fantastic holiday from the time we arrived in Nerja, we were greeted by the caretaker who showed us round the Villa which was excellent in décor and the facilities were brilliant.
This is a definite holiday I would recommend to a large family who require excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spacious settings
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing