We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oliva

Oliva
Ranked #3 of 389 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $51
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Contemporary, European, Spanish, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant with a modern creative Andalusian cuisine, with a solid traditional base but constantly experimenting with new tastes, textures, techniques and products. The wine list includes wines from all around Spain. The restaurant is very close to Balcón de Europa, in the center of Nerja and has a private sunny terrace.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited last evening for dinner. Our reservation was for 7.15 so just after opening time. One other couple there. By the time we left, which was about 10.30 the restaurant had been full all evening, with people still arriving. Great buzz so happy atmosphere. Waiter Adam couldn't do enough to explain ingredients. All staff very friendly. My prawn starter was most unusual and very tasty, my husband's scallops pronounced delicious. Both pork main dishes were well presented and flavoursome. A great little restaurant, not cheap, but good quality, well thought out dishes. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    208
    82
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great welcome, delicious food & wine, wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had lunch with several friends for a special occasion. The welcome was warm and friendly. Our table was ready beautifully laid with crystal clear glasses. We were given plenty of time to choose our food with wine we had chosen poured for us to drink while doing so. After our order was taken we were given the most delicious parmesan lollipops to nibble with a selection of dips all beautifully presented.

The food was served, again well presented with generous portions and cooked to each individuals' taste. A delicious sorbet was given in between courses to clean the palate.

The service was friendly, attentive with a totally relaxed atmosphere.

I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending to family and friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at Oliva's in Nerja. The atmosphere was charming, our waiter was delightful, the food was delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fancy restaurant with very good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

After a week of tapas in Andalusia we were searching for a restaurant to have a dinner.
Thanks to tripadvisor we found this little restaurant. Hidden in a side part of the street it is oliva situated. We arrived around 19.15 (it opens at 19.00) and it was already almost packed with people. The food is really gorgeous and tasteful. While you wait for your starter you get a little teaser dish and also before your main. Especially our small drink before our main course a mandarin ice cream in a fizzy redwine "sauce" was delightful!
Also a slight alteration to the menu for my pregnant wife was not a problem. Later on the waiter even suggested what she better not have. All staff speaks perfectly english, spanish or french so no communication barrier. Furthermore the service was super friendly and quick.
As mentioned earlier, the portions are quite big, but overall the price is a bit high €85 in two without wine.
Overall still a very pleasant experience and worth going (make sure you make a reservation)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berend_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, good ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a really nice dinner here. Portions are quite big, so you good actually do with a main course only. The cheese platter is really good (but also really big), we shared this as a starter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michiel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliva also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing