We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small surprises”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oliva

Oliva
Ranked #3 of 389 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $51
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Contemporary, European, Spanish, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant with a modern creative Andalusian cuisine, with a solid traditional base but constantly experimenting with new tastes, textures, techniques and products. The wine list includes wines from all around Spain. The restaurant is very close to Balcón de Europa, in the center of Nerja and has a private sunny terrace.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“small surprises”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Service was great, they recommended a really good red wine and served us three small dishes on the house, a very nice surprice! We had steak and it was cooked just perfect!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kattis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    208
    82
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
242 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just visited tonight, the food was lovely, the parmasen lolly pops a sheer delight !!! Wethe has fois gras and my husband had scallops, for main we had fillet steak, and my husband had pork shoulder. Both were wonderful, we finished with coffee and brandy, the Irish waiter is a crediit and asset to the pace. We will be back each time we visit nerja

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oliva nerja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

An outstanding restaurant - we visited Sunday lunchtime and whilst well laid out and presented the atmosphere was friendly and we felt welcome with our three children. There was a children's menu which was good value and the children enjoyed their food

The entrance was through a beautiful courtyard and the restaurant is well presented

The food was superb with brilliant amuse Bouches between courses including Parmesan sticks and a brilliant home made butter with the bread

The scallop starters were outstanding and the mains (we had cod and tuna) were superb with a variety of flavours

A good regional Wine list made for an outstanding meal which was not overpriced for its quality

Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christophe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent food, beautifully presented. We went last Friday (5th April).
We had a warm welcome and were well looked after during the evening. We have been to Nerja several times and never came across this restaurant before - it is a hidden gem.
The wine was lovely and very good value - not over-priced. One of the best meals we have ever eaten in Nerja. Thank you very much - we will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fine dining with attention to detail and excellent service. Staff are very friendly and helpful when helping you to choose the dishes. I had duck which was cooked perfectly - pink with crispy skin and a beautiful chocolate fondant for sweet. Probably the best dinner we ate during our month long stay in Nerja. Well done to all the team!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Epr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliva also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing