We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas Trail”
Review of La Puntilla

La Puntilla
Ranked #41 of 393 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tapas Trail”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Tucked away in a back street and lots of locals gather here every day.
Maybe not for a romantic meal but definitely a must on the tapas trail.
Good quality wine. Tapas are free with beer or wine.
Tapas all fresh and cooked on the hot plate - cod, baby squid, pork fillet, pork kebabs.
Lovely prawns pil-pil if you ask for a ration.
Staff very efficient and friendly - one of our favourites.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Too_Hoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    124
    34
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went here based on reviews previously posted but we were disappointed by the location and also the food. It took a long time to find and when we reached it the street location was a bit shabby with very ordinary tables etc outside. It was quite busy, usually a good sign for Spanish bars etc, but the menu was standard fare only with nothing particularly tempting. We ordered and spoke with the owner who seemed pleasant although was somewhat upset when he saw his TA rating was not in the top twenty places in Nerja! Service was good and the food was well cooked and ok. After words such as 'amazing' and 'fantastic' this was a disappointing experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Comaresman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you want to benefit from a "local" atmosphere and experience fresh fish - this is a must - hidden away but I really do not want to share with anyone else - a very local experience not to be missed and excellent value!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tucked away but not to be missed!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I first visited La Puntilla a couple of years ago, taken there by Rafa, a friend who lives around the area. If you want the "Spanish feel" this is the bar/restaurant for you. The atmosphere here is fantastic (especially Saturdays and Sundays) when it is pretty much standing room only and very noisy...don't be put off, the service is second to none with the staff working both sides of the bar, serving your drinks and tapas with a smile in no time at all (my longest wait was about 30 seconds!). On the subject of tapas the bar has fantastic fish (all freshly cooked) as well as a selection of meat but I would stick to the fish.
All in all a fantastic hidden gem, great staff, great food, great service and an atmosphere money can't buy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas bar”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This bar is amazing. Pay 3.60 euros for a beer and a glass of wine and get 2 free tapas if you sit at the bar. Fish is the speciality but you can get great chorizo or meat kebabs. We normally always had mussels- they are 2/3 times the size you get in the UK but the prawns are amazing too! The staff are really friendly and the service is amazing. We went there every night as part of our tapas trail. This bar is a must if you are visiting Nerja.

Helpful?
2 Thank AmyA26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Puntilla also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Puntilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing