We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value & Location”
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mena Plaza
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Value & Location”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We found this hotel great value, excellent location very central, rooms are immaculately clean and modern with air con. Nice breakfast. There was a large group of us over for a wedding and everyone was delighted with the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrinamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    121
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
211
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I loved the location of this hotel, steps from the Balcon de Europa, but otherwise found the hotel itself to be fairly average. Perfectly suitable for a short stop in a beach town, and the staff was friendly, but it could use some minor improvements - hand soap in the bathrooms, do not disturb signs, etc. One thing that was very convenient is that they have dedicated parking with easy access to the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drp528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER/DUBLIN
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a friends wedding in June. The hotel is on a square literally two mins walk from the centre of town - if even that. its location is a victim of the recession in Spain and its on a new square that is sadly full of empty shop fronts and new apartments; In turn it means the location is quiet for a town centre.

For the price we paid we were really surprised by this hotel; it was modern; spotless; finishings were to an excellent standard. The room was spacious with a lovely modern top range bathroom; we had a big corner balcony too with a sea view.
What makes this hotel is the roof top pool; Nerja doesnt have the best of beaches so after a day sightseeing to be able to retire to the roof for a swim was brilliant.

Special mention should go to the lovely lady on reception; she encouraged us to speak Spanish; she told us numerous places to go for food and drinks - local places and not tourist hot spots. Really helpful and much appreciated.
We are going back to Nerja for another wedding next year and cannot wait to book here again,

Room Tip: Book a sea view room with a terrace; worth the extra few pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVOBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent one night at the hotel. The room was clean, nice bathroom. The bed definitely needed a new mattress. I could count the springs as I was tossing and turning trying to find a comfortable position. At midnight I heard steps in the room. I then realised it was the corridor, but I tell you, it was like having them in the room. Ditto bathroom to bathroom. MMMhhh.
Breakfast was OK, a buffet with some fruit, bread, ham and cheese and jam.
The nasty surprise was the telephone bill. We've been charged 1.36 just to try to get the line. Since the line was dropping (with a pre-paid card for international phone calls) that added up to 16 euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieIlaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights last week. Lovely hotel, absolutely spotless, delightful friendly staff, nothing too much trouble, very central location, gorgeous outlook onto the plaza, breakfast very simple but lots of it. We'd have liked a softer mattress but this is just personal choice, we asked for more pillows and received them immediately. Pool area is beatufully quiet and peaceful, and the beaches are a few minutes walk away and fabulous All in all a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovecats26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our weeks break in nerja we were unsure what it was going to be like as it was only a 2 star .on arrival we were greated by the most lovely ladies that worked there the hotel was sparkling clean our room was lovely with a nice balcony we spent most days by the pool on the roof it was very relaxing with an amazing view breakfast was basic but was still lovely this hotel is so central it's near everything the plaza is very quiet and peaceful Its a must to stay here .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 37 in Nerja
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Property: Hotel Mena Plaza
Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mena Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mena Plaza, is one of the newest building hotels in the Historic Center of Nerja. Our Hotel is located in Plaza de Espana, few meters of the famous "Balcon de Europa" and surrounded of all kinds of stablishments. Our location, rates and services, makes our hotel a place highly recommended by our guests and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing