We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and log fire in winter.”
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #70 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Good quality home cooked English food, Great staff, non-smoking, reasonable prices
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and log fire in winter.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A good fixed price menu but worth going a la carte now and then;- if only for the steak. Very friendly staff and customers. Good music on Thursday nights but you may need to book.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaMandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    51
    18
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly place with lovely homemade food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We was in nerja for four weeks in jan, we visited the cottage sevral times over that time, each time we had a warm welcome by becky or felix, we tried lots of items on the menu, and was never dissapointed, lovely home cooked food seved with a smile, we had family and friends eat there also, everything was fresh hotand delicious, definatly not powdered,my grandson was in a pram and they made room for his pram without hesitation, lovely food cooked by steve, we will Definatly return...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The chips WERE good”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was an odd experience. The welcome from the young chap with the Irish ? accent could not have been friendlier and the overworked blond girl behind the bar, serving the tables, chatting to the customers was clearly one of nature's "nice people".

The menu was reasonable - a what do you expect for 7 or 9 euros.fixed price menu with two or three courses - and the food was OK (mixed salad, chicken in breadcrumbs, chips , veg)

But it took ages. After about 25 minutes and no sign of anything edible, I pined for something like War and Peace to distract me. The chap singing in the back - a pleasing tenor I may say - My Way, Unforgettable, that sort of stuff - didn't do it for me. The Irish? guy must have been abducted by aliens because I didn't see him again the whole hour and a half I was there. The blond girl served my my food, eventually, and took my money at the end. I left a tip because she was so nice.

I might go back some time because at least they made me feel welcome before ignoring me for aeons.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plonker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“First visit fine second visit - wish we hadn't bothered”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had a reasonable meal here for a reasonable price with good service so decided to return as it was quite close to our hotel. A mistake - both our meals were awful - potatoes obviously powdered, meat tough etc and service desultory - were not many people in so the staff appeared to have come to a halt - including those in the kitchen! Not sure what went wrong but certainly wouldn't go back until I had exhausted all other possibilities! Have given average on the strength of our first meal but otherwise would have been poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avrilritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A warm and friendly welcome by all staff can be expected at every visit. The quality of food is excellent and the atmosphere relaxing and enjoyable. If you find this restaurant once you will return, Steve and Becky are wonderful hosts of a great family business and deserve the loyalty of their returning customers.
Denise and Barry

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Maro, Province of Malaga
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing