We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pulguilla

El Pulguilla
Ranked #30 of 389 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I love it here, its full of Spanish people - the bar at the fromt is fantastic for tapas, this was the very first place we were brave enough to try them, the staff are so friendly and you just point at what you fancy. The restaurant at the back is also lovely, full of chattering locals it gets really busy from 9pm onwards and at lunchtime, but the servcie remains friendly and efficent. The fish dishes are fantastic very basic, but well cooked. Dont go without trying their chicken croquettes they were the best me and my husband had ever eaten. Very reasonably priced as well including the wine which is about a quarter of what we pay at home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fransmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    452
    131
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We loved the fish tapas and fish plates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a bar and tapas restaurant frequented by the local population. It has a real buzz. We visited three evenings while in Nerja for 12 days. One evening FC Barcelona were playing Real Madrid and the place was humming. My favourite dish was Puntillitas (Deep fried baby Squid) while my travelling companion loved her prawns Pil-Pil. When you buy a bottle of wine you get 5 tapas as part of the deal. Whats not to like? Not to be missed. Large range of food, mainly fish and shellfish, and very reasonable priced. We found it to be the most-fun-place to eat in Nerja.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimonDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best little tapas place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

El Pulguilla (the little flea) is on the pedestrianised street a hundred meters east of the central Balcon de Europa square. It is a lively and noisy tapas bar with a restaurant in the back. No soft furnishings, just bright tiled floors and walls, and steel and aluminum bar stools and tiny tables.
But everyone comes here because the tapas are delicious and (one-for-one with a drink) great value. Ther are plenty of fancy restaurants in Nerja, but this place is the best ofr a drink, a nibble, and a chat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captainedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best value and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Been here many times both in its current location and previous incarnations, quite simply amazing value and superbly fresh.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank par22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Also a nice restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

When you walk through the bar of El Pulguilla you enter the area where the restaurant is situated, Walking towards the back you have a large outside terrace (bordering on the central parking of Nerja). We had lunch on the terrace and we ordered several fish dishes from the menu. The other time wet had dinner inside, a not so appealling room (bright lights and simple furniture) but, as was the lunch, excellent food. We especially liked the Kockels in wine/garlic sauce. Higly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pulguilla also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Pulguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing