We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE authentic Spanish restaurant in nerja”
Review of El Nino

El Nino
Ranked #241 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“THE authentic Spanish restaurant in nerja”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is run by two charming ladies, mother in the kitchen and daughtr in front of house.
It is a most welcoming place.
You can have Tapas at and around the bar, medio or full raciones and a comprehensive authentic full al a carte or fixed price Spanish food in their beautiful dining room.

We ate a selection of delicious raciones, beatifully cooked and presented. Lots of lovely tastes and flavours, complemented by a well priced and delicious Rioja.

Lots of the locals eat here.
It is a short walk up the street from the more touristy eateries but well worth the search for it.

Brill place and staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    22
    13
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on Sea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wooooooooooow, just wooooooow!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were advised to make a trip to El Nino while in Nerja, I can it was the best trip we made in the 18 day holiday.
What a fantastic place, not only Bibi but all the staff were so welcoming and made us feel at home. I can not express how amazing the place was and made us feel, thank you so much.
The tapas was superb, every bit of food we tried was of top quality.... the suasages, chic peas and the pork was by far the best I have ever had any where and i must admit we did try a lot of tapas bars.
Leaving nerja was difficult enough but leaving El Ninos behind was probably even harder, Bibi gave us a leaving present and made us feel very special.
Thank you so much, we will be back I can assure you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simmo_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
247 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Wow what a little gem”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have done many tapas bars in nerja, but this little one is a gem, the owner of the place BIbi makes everyone welcome, a drink plus tapas 1.50 ...... There is a good selection also, rage chickpea, the ribs and sausages are all lovely, the next stop is to try the a la carte as it also looks lovely !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must when in Nerja”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Always got to have a big night out at family run El Niño when in Nerja. Great food, excellent atmosphere and the best staff. A bit expensive, but worth it. Private photos on the walls of the greatest flamenco singer of all times, Camaron de la Isla (1950-1992). Also great for a couple of glasses with free tapas to chose in the bar area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas and friendly welcoming staff.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Twelve of us visited this fanatstic little Tapas Bar just off the main drag. All the tapas was delicious and washed down with some great wines. The ambience created here oozes Spain and the same family have run the restaurant for over 40 years now and are doing a great job, look forward to visiting again on our return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Nino also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing