We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calabaza - CLOSED

Calabaza
Price range: $17 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Calabaza is a restaurant situated in the possibly the most beautiful little town of Costa del Sol. We try to make your visit a memorable experience and we have created a restaurant that will come back home talking about. We are proud of our working staff that is completely new since the month of December 2012. We hope our menu is to your satisfaction and we are looking forward your visit.Calabaza es un restaurante situado en el que posiblemente sea uno de los pueblos mas bonitos de la Costa del Sol. Intentamos que su visita sea recordada con satisfaccion y para ello ofrecemos un restaurante del que hablaran encantados con sus amistades. Estamos muy orgullosos de nuestro personal, que es completamente nuevo desde el mes de diciembre del 2012. Esperamos que nuestro menu sea de su agrado y con una sonrisa le atenderemos en su proxima visita.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's has to be one of my favourite restaurants. The surrounding are very romantic with flowers and candles around the place. The service is fantastic! The food is also amazing. I've been to this restaurant at least 5 times and I always am excited to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    24
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Memorable dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is easily one of the best restaurants in Nerja in our opinion. It is a lovely, intimate restaurant staffed by a friendly and knowledgable team. After booking a table for three, the restaurant had decorated our table beautifully upon arrival. There were extensive options on the menu to suit all tastes, and a very good selection of fish too. The suckling pig was delicious and my wife's duck was sublime. Child-friendly too, and spotlessley clean. The children's meal that we ordered was actually better than most of the food available in other restaurants in Nerja. I expect to see this restaurant win a Michelin award in the future and it goes to show that TripAdvisor rankings must always be taken with a pinch of salt :)

A couple of points for management. Please consider opening in the afternoon, and secondly make the lavatory for guest use only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndaluciaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Very tasty and enjoyable dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had dined at the Calabeza several times in the past and were never disappointed. On July 4th 2013, my wife and I had once more a tasty and enjoyable dinner. The menu offers a wide selection of mouth watering dishes. We had three different appetizers and all were excellent. Tempura and “Tartar of atun” served on sliced avocado (one of the special) landed beautifully on the tongue, whereas the Calabasas soup with a piece of “foie gras” was unique. The “Magret de Pato” was tender, succulent and generously portioned. The red House wine was as usual excellent. Also we had to tip our hat to the chef for the presentation of the dishes. To conclude, any list of top Restaurant in Nerja and vicinity would have to include Calabaza which we definitively recommend.

Ivar & Nadine
Bethesda
USA .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivar565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

By the time we visited Calabaza we had already tried Oliva and Restaurant 34 so our expectations were high but it didn't disappoint! The food was absolutely beautiful and presented like a work of art (the flowers were a nice touch!). They were very accommodating of my gluten free needs and the service was outstanding. It was quieter than the other two restaurants but I'm not sure why as it was equally as good if not better, definitely one to visit whilst in Nerja and we will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great food and excellent service -definitely worth a visit and no more expensive than similar restaurants in Nerja-[and less so than some ]

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calabaza also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing