We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thailand in Spain!”
Review of Tapas Plaza

Tapas Plaza
Ranked #107 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Dutch owners Johan and Jeannette welcome you as friends to their restaurant at the Paseo Burriana of NERJA, Andalucía. Famous for authentic Thai and Indonesian dishes, fresh,from scratch as spicy as you like. Once you have tried our food, for sure you´ll be back!We have renamed our restaurant to Tapas plaza as from may 2013, you will be able to enjoy our food as a tapa as well
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thailand in Spain!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Johan & Jeanette are THE most gracious hosts! Previously owning Sabor De Amor we were very disappointed to find that the restaurant is no more, upon our return to Nerja. By a stroke of pure luck we bumped into the pair outside of their new premises which is called Tapas Plaza opposite Burrianna beachfront. We had a drink and sampled a Thai tapas of chicken satay & also a pork stew which was very tasty indeed.
Having eaten previously in Sabor De Amor we booked a table for our wedding anniversary later that week & had a fabulous meal of red & green Thai curries which were cooked exactly to our liking and were very very authentic Thai.
I would thoroughly recommend paying a visit to Tapas Plaza, you will not be disappointed!!
Once again thank you Johan & Jeanette for your lovely hospitality.... Can't wait to come back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooby657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    23
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have spent our holidays this year and last year in Nerja and visited a lot of restaurants while we were there. We went several times to Sabor de Amor, because they offer the best quality. We can recommend their bami for the kids. For sure they'll love it. Johan cooks with real passion for food and flavour and the curry's are delicious. Also service and ambiance were perfect.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claartje_van_beek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Read about this restaurant on Tripadvisor before we travelled.
Was expecting great things, but quite frankly was very disappointed.
I appreciate we did arrive just after a family (friends of the owner) of twelve had ordered, and therefore service was slow.
The restaurant is run by a Dutch couple, and although it serves Mediterranean food, is best noted for its Thai food.
I had the beef in oyster sauce, and quite honestly it was bland. Despite the oyster sauce it still needed salt!
My wife had the chicken with cashew nuts which was okay, but nothing special.
One of our least enjoyable meals in Nerja.
Certainly wouldn’t go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Best in town”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

While staying in Nerja we visited this very sweet restaurant at the end of the boulevard of Burriana beach. Because of the having as a speciality Thai food we decided to visit this restaurant. We have to admit that the food as well as the reception and service were excellent! We had such a good experience that we went back another 3 times to enjoy the atmosphere and quality of food from this dutch couple. As you may conclude a visit is more than worthwile, enjoy!
Kees B.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kees B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish this restaurant was near home Wow!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ignore all negative comments, it is.fab-u-lous. It is freshly prepared for you and not a.fast food joint, nor would you want it to be. Proprietors are lovely friendly people who genuinely want you to enjoy your eating experience. Went twice during our 7 day stay because it was that good. Try it, you will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jericrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Plaza also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Tapas Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing