We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea side heaven !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nerja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sea side heaven !”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I have been holidaying in Nerja for the last 13 years and have stayed in the Apartamentos Torrecilla for many of them . This is a small apartment complex opening out onto a beautifully maintained garden right on the beach front . It's just on the edge of the town with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby yet very quiet at night .
We have always received a spacious and spotlessly clean apartment , and have always found Francisco and the rest of the staff friendly and very helpful . We like to leave the sliding door open at night with the shutter down - listening to the sea last thing at night and first thing in the morning ....... heaven !!!!!!!!!
Towels and bed linen are not automatically changed - you have to ask .... but that's no big deal and no problem .
This is one of the best places we have ever stayed in and we intend to return again and again .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    47
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matching Tye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Positives: lots of space for the money, excellent location with nicely kept garden area, right on the beach and just a short walk into Nerja
Negatives: Tried to call them to find out where to pick up our key but there was no answer so I emailed them only to get a reply 2 days into our stay...thankfully the restaurant was open when we arrived and they had they key! Got into the apartment to be greeted with dirty bed linen and towels, the 'concierge' is hardly ever there and even when he was he was useless. Asked him to get someone to change our bed sheets and towels, it never happened. We had arranged at the time of booking to either keep our apartment if possible or was told if not they could arrange a room for us to have a shower and would certainly keep hold of our luggage as we didn't fly home till 11pm. This also didn't happen, the 'concierge' did suggest that we could have a shower in the garden if we wanted but no we couldn't keep our room and no there wasn't anywhere else for us to change. He would keep hold of our luggage till 6pm when he went home though, although on the day he changed his mind to 4.30pm as he "had to go to Malaga".
So overall, I wouldn't go back, there's loads of places to stay in Nerja and it's probably worth just finding somewhere else. That said, if they just paid a bit of attention to detail, this place could be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGCford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G E, Manager at Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are also very disappointed that you felt so strongly about your experience, and hope that you did enjoy your stay overall. But there seem to be some major discrepancies with the facts, and would like to point them out:

1. As you can see from our emails I responded on the same day you requested the late key pick-up point, the day of arrival.

2. The concierge/manager if not in reception is around the building, but he is in the premises. He gave you at least 3 changes of towels (during 5 days), as an extra as we only have to provide them once a week. This is a self-catering apartment, not a hotel - and with our prices we cannot give hotel services like changing sheets daily. You did not request new sheets though, as he would have also given them to you if you needed them. And did not actually complain of dirty linens on arrival. We readily give out the complains book (a requisite under Spanish law), as it records this type of incident and prevents hearsay later on.

3. On your departure day he did have to go to Malaga as an exception; but he did offer that you could leave your luggage at the restaurant. Many clients do this with later flights, but you did not take up the offer for some reason.

4. We happened to be nearly fully booked this year on your departure day, and there were other clients arriving into your apartment that day. In your original email, in March, you had only asked it there would be an area to change in - not, as you state now, to shower in. Again you can see this in our emails from March. Some clients like taking a shower to refresh in the garden (as it is still summer) and change in the public bathroom that we have - all this after checking out. You where offered this, but also declined - and the receptionist assumed you were just stressed.

It is very unfortunate that due to a leaving incident that was blown out of proportion you feel you would try to damage a business by distorting the facts. I hope that you had a good experience overall, and as I doubt you will find other front line apartment in Nerja at our value (space/views/prices), you are always welcome back.

Yours sincerely
Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Where to start? Probably by saying DO NOT stay in these apartments. We arrived on a Friday (August 2012) and our apartment was never cleaned for the week nor was the towels replenished!!!!!!! The apartment was like walking back into the 70's! It was so basic it was beyond belief.

The bathroom was the size of a shoe box and it was not clean.…… The kitchen was tiny with the dirtiest grill I’ve ever seen. A shabby curtain separated the bedroom to the sitting room which plastic outdoor furniture set in the middle of the floor. To make matters worse there was NO AIR CONDITIONING just a filthy fan in the bedroom!!!!!!!!

The one thing going for the apartment we stayed in was the size of it and the view of the beach. That was where it starts and ends and these two things is definitely not enough for us to book it again.

The photos of the apartment on the site are nothing like what we stayed in!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireland10Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G E, Manager at Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are saddened to read your review as we felt that you had always looked so happy during your stay, never complaining once. If your apartment was not cleaned to our usual top standard, we would have readily made sure it was immediately, while you where out, so as not to cause you any inconvenience, or by giving you another apartment. We have official complaints forms which we readily give out if we did address the issue at hand, but you did not bring anything to our attention at any point of your week's stay with us.

It seems that your complaints, apart from the cleanliness, are mainly due to not receiving hotel services. We are not a hotel; we run officially classified self-catering holiday apartments. This makes a big difference as to linen/towel changes (we do not provide daily changes as stated in our conditions), air-con, etc.

When you first reserved, we gave you the choice of a premium apartment with air-con, or a standard one at a cheaper rate. You chose to forgo amenities for the cheaper choice, so you knew you had no air-conditioning from the start.

Most of the furniture in your apartment is at most 2 years old, when it was refurbished, including the curtains and beds - and we have had a great response regarding the sleep quality in the last year. There were 2 sets of dining furniture in the apartment - one for outside and one for inside. You also give us a low rating for the rooms and then say they where spacious, and had no complaints about the general service - but still a low rating there.

At the end you state that the web photos are nothing like the apartment, but in a recent email to me you admit that the pictures resemble the apartment. In the same email you then try to extort payment by requesting a part refund in exchange for a higher rating. We where at a loss at first about your review, but maybe the last point has clarified it for us a bit more.

Yours sincerely,
Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innishannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here last about 12 years ago, and never forgot it because of the location! We returned last September, and again in April/May this year, and it was all we had remembered it to be! We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves and awakened to it each morning as the sea is only about 100 metres away. The apartments are extremely clean and spacious, adequately furnished. The garden is lovely and peaceful, with the promenade outside the gate and the sea just beyond that. The centre of town is a mere 5 minute walk away - with easy access to shops, restaurants, etc. We hope to return soon........even though the weather in April/May this year left a lot to be desired, but that was nobody's fault! Lastly, the concierge is extremely helpful and courteous. Dermot and Mary, Co. Cork

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My sisters, niece and I are just back from spending 8 nights in these apartments. We were at a wedding in Nerja. This is our third visit The location is fantastic, no more than 5/8 minutes to Balcon De Europa. Close to 2 small supermarkets, restaurants, bus stop outside the door. The bus takes you to the Tuesday Market also. Beautiful walks right in front of apartment. Our apartment was recently refurbished, had 3 balconies, was spotlessly clean and had amazing views of the ocean. It had a new kitchen, new cooker, microwave, fridge, washing machine, everything in bathroom is new. It was fantastic to wake up in the morning and look out at the sea, it was like being on board a ship. Our dealings with the management and staff could not have been better. They were very helpful and if there was any problem they were on hand immediately to sort it out. We found the beds to be very comfortable. We plan to come back again in the near future and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Breda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We visit Nerja at least twice a year in Autumn and Spring.We find these apartments to be ideally located for the beach and the town,without the hassle of traffic since routes are mainly pedestrianised. Theer are many restaurants nearby and the restaurant in the complex is good. The apartments are clean and the facilities adequate. They are in the process of being refurbished. We have stayed in several of the apartments and find them all spacious and comfortable. We are able to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset over the bay.every apartment has a sea view and overlooks the well kept garden. There are supermarkets within walking distance and the local bus stops just outside. We hope to return again this Autumn. the receptionist is very helpful and obliging and able to sort out any minor problems

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

we stayed in apartment 26 on the second floor which was a 2 bedroomed property.it cost 75 euros per night for upto 5 people to stay in firstly the negatives (if you can call them that) that apartment was built in the late 60's and it is showing its age. kitchen units that are way past their best doors that could do with being replaced etc just a general update of the apartments.no aircon just ceiling fans unless you book the updated apartments.also the bed springs were loud to say the least! only other issue was the noise that you got if you were in the second bedroom as this faces onto the back and onto the road and pavement. traffic wasnt so much of an issue just people walking back to their hotels late at night. sometimes caused abit of noise. but earplugs sorted that .

the positives.As i said earlier the apartments are very big we had two large double bedrooms plenty of storage space with a small kitchen which is all you need when on hols.sat tv with the usual sky news bbc etc a large terrace balcony and a bathroom with a bath tub! there was also free secure parking ( its 10 euro a night in peak season. mid july-august) which was a god send considering how bad street parking can be in nerja and one of the reasons i booked the apartment. but best of all is the location. its litterally 10 steps off torrecilla beach and an easy 5-10 min walk to the balcon. so you get the best of both worlds. theres a laundrette service for a few euros and theres free wifi in the reception area the gardens and outside areas where kept lovely.

so if you are after abit of the 5 star treatement this place certainly isnt for you. but if you just want a great sized basic apartment in a wonderful beach side location at a great price with a nice garden around you for the kids to play in safely and parking thrown in then you cant go far wrong with playa torrecilla.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThewanderingLoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 37 in Nerja
757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla

Property: Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla
Address: Calle Torrecilla 3, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach holiday resort with fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. Large apartments with sea views and terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Playa Torrecilla Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing