We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food”

Meson Jose y Victoria
Ranked #82 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our visits to this family run restaurant. You need to book in advance to get atable but well worth the effort of doing so.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    37
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice but not outstanding”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We thought the setting was charming and the tables on the street provided a good view of the passing tourists. The menu didn't seem as traditional Spanish as we expected. Food was cooked to order and very tasty. Although the service was slow, we were not in a hurry. It's very popular and often booked for a party. We will try it again the next time we visit Nerja.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuakerBoy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Looks romantic and quaint”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked our table in advance the day before - food took ages and was just ok when it arrived - we did not go again - although people were lovely don`t think they could cope with too many people

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank havetosaynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bijou, great food, got to book”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Chef Jose and waitress Victoria manage to present great wining and dining at this little venue, but you need to book. It is popular with both locals and returning holidayers. We got in on a Sunday, the Saturday had fully booked long ago. A reasonable time between order and the arrival of four starters and later the main course, was well worth it. The lone chef prepared everything carefully, all our dishes were good and tasty. This is in my top four in the town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fatherof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simplistic but superb food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to Nerja for the last 5 years and sometimes twice a year.
No visit is complete without a visit to our favourite restaurant in Nerja Meson Jose y Victoria. It's family run and all food is cooked from fresh as ordered by the owner Jose. We can recommend the chicken and the fish skewer which is accompanied by a wonderful potato side
Made with fried onions!
Anything you have to eat here is so wonderfully fresh and cooked to perfection. This is a small Spanish restaurant so you need to book early!!
The prices are very reasonable, considering you have free tapas before your main meal!
Oh and one more thing my wife thinks I'm mad even allowing trip advisor into our secret. She thinks there will be so many
Customers in the future when they read this review, that we will have a job even making a reservation!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tez57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Jose y Victoria also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Meson Jose y Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing