We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food heaven”
Review of Hostal Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Avalon
Ranked #1 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Food heaven”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We live about an hour from Nerja and visit occasionally, for various reasons. The restaurant at El Avalon is wonderful, with what must be the best views over the town and coast. In a place with numerous eating options, El Avalon scores the highest, in our opinion, for having gourmet food at very reasonable prices and friendly service. The home made croquetas are award-winning, apparently and now we know why. Delicious. And my husband was reduced to blissful silence by his pudding. Now we have many more reasons for visiting Nerja!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyRodgerBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
115
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked the Avalon for a treat for my parents as it was my Mum's 60th birthday.
As a family we have a villa on the complex Punta Lara (a few yards from the Avalon) and we often come to the Avalon for a meal.
We stayed in the family Villa but were always welcomed when we joined my parents at the Avalon.
We have eaten in the restaurant on numerous occasions and the food has always been excellent and the views make the dining experience extra special.
The service we have received has always been first class and the owners and staff now remember us on each visit which is always nice.
The stay for my parents was lovely. They had a nice room again with fantastic views.
We all met there for breakfast on a couple of occasions and they were lovely, they also organised a champagne breakfast for my mum on her actual birthday.
I would highly recommend the Avalon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

You can count on the best views of the Nerja from your balcony or from the restaurant terrace overlooking the beach and the mountains with white hill houses behind. You need a car to go to the city, even it's a very short drive. The rooms are very basic, but has everything the travelers need - after all you will not spend a lot of time in there. The staff is helpful and restaurant is OK. Don't forget to drive 15 minutes from there to see the famous Nerja Caves - it's a wonderful break from visiting old cathedrals and museums.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

First the more factual bits: Nerja is a beautiful little town that many people choose to visit as it’s a bit less touristy and natural than other towns with pretty beaches without the high rise hotels. There’s a lot of good quality places to stay in Nerja. This Hostal is a bit out of town which means it’s a bit quieter but it also means you don’t have the same selection of shops and supermarkets in reach (and Nerja is not exactly a busy city). I wouldn’t recommend staying here unless you have a car or plan on living only in the beach and your room. With a car it’s a very short drive but free parking in town is tricky!
The view from the roof of the Avalon is stunning and the beach is a short walk.

Unfortunately we had a bad experience with the managers of the hostal and wouldn't recommend it for this reason. I won’t pretend none of it was our fault but I think it’s fair to judge a place on how the deal with problems not just when things go smoothly and we weren't dealt with well.
I can see there are lots of positive reviews of the Avalon, and we booked it as it was number 1,s o maybe we were just unlucky or were there at the wrong time. But from our experiences I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elavalon, Owner at Hostal Avalon, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Some more factual bits...
Readers of TripAdvisor will note that this guest does not describe the rooms, the restaurant, the food, the service or the staff. This is because this guest has never actually been inside The Avalon.
The bad experience with the mangers of the hostal occurred when this guest, after emailing us to say he would arrive at 4pm, then calling at 10.30pm to say that he was 'on his way' tried to check in to The Avalon at 1.30am.
He was so drunk that he couldn't quite stand up. When he realised that he was causing a disturbance, he offered to leave, saying 'its no problem'. He then complained to Booking.com, describing Nelson the Labrador as 'two snarling guard dogs on chains'.
This guest frightened my wife, woke up our guests and disturbed our neighbours.
Our check in times are from 3pm until 10pm and we reserve the right to refuse entry to people after 10pm. Booking.com agreed with us, and supported us in his attempt to complain.
We maintain good relations with our neighbours in this quiet and exclusively residential area. Our guests enjoy peace and tranquillity.
We are disappointed with TripAdvisor for allowing this guest to review El Avalon. He has only seen the car park, at night. We are disappointed, but not surprised that this guest has taken one whole year to vent his misguided sense of justice.
Kevin Mark Robinson - Chef Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We came over for a 5 day break to stay with friends in a near by village and came to the Avalon for 4 of those days! As previously mentioned, the views and atmosphere are fantastic, the terrace really makes it. The hostal is very clean, fresh and a great mix of traditional and contemporary. All the staff are very friendly (even the old lady who cleans the rooms) and love to spend time chatting about the local area, your trip, recommendations and proactively ask for feedback on both the hotel and restaurant part of the hostal. I love the fact the owners have terraced the back garden and are growing their own produce to cook in the restaurant, thus showing their passion for locally sourced and organic food. If you eat at the restaurant (which I strongly encourage) you have to try the smoked cod croucettes and the sticky toffee pudding, they are amazing! I also love the fact that there is a sofa outside the rooms on the shady side of the building, so you can just sit in comfort and check emails (with the free wifi) or read a book with a G&T! If you want a beach, there is a secluded little cove just over the road and down the hill from the Avalon, it takes no more than 5 minutes to walk and Alex is more than happy to give directions and provide bottles of refreshment to take down with you. Overall, a fantastic place to drink, eat, socialise and spend quality time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robkiveton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We reviewed the restaurant a year ago. This time the restaurant lived up to expectations. The food was delicious and Kevin once again surpassed himself. Eager to please and share his expertise with others wanting to hone their cooking skills. The restaurant staff are professional and well managed by Alix who keeps everything in the restaurant appearing effortless.
The accommodation, whilst retaining a Spanish feel, is comfortable and has everything you would expect of a small hotel. It would have been nice to have had tea and coffeee making facilities but this is Spain! - it was no trouble to go to the bar and get whatever you needed. Alix has great plans for the Avalon and we are looking forward to staying again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenandcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived a little early but the manager was very pleasant. We left the car in the car park and headed to the beach. When we arrived back later we enjoyed looking around the establishment and got showed to our room. It is small but cosy and extremely lovely. It has lots of little homely touches within the decor and we certainly felt more than comfortable. It was extremely clean and well run and the rooms were lovely, We had a fantastic large balcony with table and chairs and a great view which was lovely for relaxing alone together. The restaurant and bar is very modern and we could choose to eat out on the balcony evening and also for breakfast. We were the only ones that did so and had it all to ourselves. The food was absolutely amazing it was like fine dining and we were extremely well looked after. The staff are fantastic and the owners are great. I would definitely recommend that my friends and family visit and should I get the opportunity to go back I would.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymjane86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,766 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avalon

Property: Hostal Avalon
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Punta Lara 22, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, family run Andalucian hotel with beautiful views. 50 Metres from the beach. All 6 spacious rooms en-suite with large private terraces with sea views, air con, free wifi and satelite TV. Rooms refurbished in January 2015. Restaurant, bar and terrace open all day, everyday. Large, free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing