We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Romantic setting and delicious food!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Avalon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Avalon
Ranked #1 of 31 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alhama de Granada, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
“Romantic setting and delicious food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hostal Avalon for two nights. The view from our hotel balcony was absolutely stunning. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was equipped with everything we needed. The hotel staff was lovely as well. However, the food blew us away. Even the bread was amazing. Each dish was perfectly seasoned and paired with sauces that brought out the incredible and fresh taste of the dish. I would highly recommend the hostal and the restaurant to anyone and everyone.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
105
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Only stayed one night, however our room was spotless and service terrific. Its the little things that impress like offering rugs when we decided to sit out on the terrace at night. We ate dinner which was excellent, again it was noticed that one of our party has some pate left but no meba toast, it arrived at our table without request.
Two tiny minus comments, breakfast does not start til 9.00, a bit late if you need to get going and if you come from Malaga direction you may well miss it, get to Nerja and turn round, coming from Nerja its easy to see.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AeroMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had our wedding in the Avalon in September. The bride's family and ourselves stayed for the week of the wedding. The food was amazing, the views are amazing and the wedding was amazing. would thoroughly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our son Brendan and his lovely bride Justyna had their Wedding Blessing and Reception in Hostal Avalon on 21st September this year ! For a party of 50 it is perfect, we sat 44 persons to Dinner.
The food, prepared by Chef/Patron Kevin was superb, with a nice touch of up-market Tapas on a Slate for starters. The staff, headed by Co-Owner Alix could not have been more attentive, down to the last detail. Everything went like clockwork, but in a very nice and friendly manner. Justyna's Family stayed in the Six Double Rooms available and were more than impressed, the view are spectacular, Mountains and Sea !
We will certainly be going back if only for Luch or Dinner, have to sample Kevins cuisine again,
Philip and Mel Crowe, parents of the Groom and very proud of our New Daughter-in-law

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at El Avalon with children at 2 and 4 years of age. The view from the balcony outside of the room was fantastic, and the staff outstanding as they did everything to make 2 busy parents get the best out of the stay. At the El Avalon we got the best food in Nerja delivered straight up to the rooms balcony together with candle lights and excellent wine. The room was very comfortable, and a family of four slept well in clean and good size environment.

All our meals at the hotel was of high quality, and we would strongly recommend both the restaurant and the hotel for anyone travelling to Nerja, Spain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The views are amazing from this property. So is the price and staff. We had a good stay here but if you don’t have a car I would not stay here. It is a ways out of town. Even with a car it was sometimes hard to find parking in the city center. We opted to not get breakfast as I felt it was to expensive for what you got. We did get coffee every am which was fantastic. Also the Sangria was a bit over priced. It was $15 Euros for a picture. I got great tasting Sangria in town for $5. Overall great stay for the price and would not haste to go again. I just know I wont be eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have recently returned from a long weekend in Nerja Spain and stayed in The Avalon. It was really lovely, with lovely owners Alix and Kevin. They were friendly, easy to get on with, whilst being very professional. The room was comfortable, clean and a good size, and the view was amazing looking out over the beach and sea.
Although we only had one Breakfast and Evening meal, the food was of a very high standard with a varied menu.
I wouldn't hesitate in going there again and recommending it to anyone who is thinking of going to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySouthMolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avalon

Property: Hostal Avalon
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Punta Lara 22, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, family run Andalucian hotel with beautiful views. 50 Metres from the beach. All 6 spacious rooms en-suite with large private terraces with sea views, air con, free wifi and satelite TV. Rooms refurbished in January 2015. Restaurant, bar and terrace open all day, everyday. Large, free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing