We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and views”
Review of Hostal Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Avalon
Ranked #1 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and views”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Hostal Avalon is a lovely hotel with lovely rooms with sea view balconies where you can catch the sun in the day if you don't feel like going to the beach. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. We spent most of our time out and about but ate there on the first night, we have to say the food was exquisite however a bit pricey if you are on a budget, we also had a lovely breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravenchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
115
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent an idyllic week at the Avalon in June.The room was lovely with a balcony that was the perfect place to share a pre-dinner glass of wine while gazing at the spectacular vista.We sampled breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was the best food we have ever had in any hotel anywhere!The Tapas Fusion evening with Flamenco dancing and music was a perfect way to end our vacation.Alix and Kevin greeted us like old friends, they could not have made our stay any more enjoyable. We can't wait to go back to Nerja and the Avalon
Ellen and John Harte, New Jersey, USA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

rooms have no fridge, an absolute necessity, especially for self caterers,reason given, food in room causes cockroaches (not if you cleaned it up it doesn't)

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandymno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Had a lovely time, views are out of this world.
Owners Alex and Kevin were on hand for any and everything.
Kevins the Chef and wow Fantastic and very very Tasty.
Must go just to have the Steak absolutely Wonderful.
Will be seeing you again very soon......

Room Tip: All rooms have Amazing views, Easy Access, Quiet and Tastefully Decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

One of the benefits of a small hotel such as the Avalon should be the personalized attention. Unfortunately, this was lacking. We were not greeted in a warm or friendly manner; rather, we felt we were inconveniencing the host. We were not provided with any information about the area and when we asked specific questions we were given vague, bored responses. The room was basic but clean, lacking simple details such as a hook for hanging things in the bathroom. It had a wonderful view and lovely terrace, but it was unshaded and too hot to sit out on during the day. Perhaps an umbrella? We did not eat in the restaurant, but felt it must be the focus of the owner's attention with the hotel rooms and the guests who stayed in them an afterthought.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vlhdcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hostal Avalon, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Kevin and I are so sorry that you did not enjoy your two day stay with us.
The Avalon is an old Andalucian building and it's upkeep and maintenance can, at times, be time consuming and require urgent attention. I am happy that you were unaware that when you arrived there was such a problem, requiring me to rapidly give you a different room whilst organising a plumber, general builder and drains expert to arrive quickly and discreetly.
I am saddened to hear that you interpreted my preoccupation with solving this problem with you being an inconvenience to me, and me responding in a bored and vague manner.
It is difficult for me not to take this personally, but Kevin tells me that I am too sensitive.
The terrace in your room is indeed lovely, and has stunning views. Unfortunately we are unable to provide parasols as here on the windy coast we have watched three parasols take off gracefully and fly across the bay (the last one crashing dangerously close to a passing pedestrian). The Avalon faces east and terraces are in shade by 4 pm. They are a lovely place to enjoy an evening drink.
The Avalon has six rooms that are clean, comfortable and, in June, 50€ per night. It was a shame that you didn't come into the restaurant, or even have a coffe or a drink in the sociable bar. There you would have met the staff, other guests and Kevin and I, and I feel sure that your opinion of us would have been more generous.
Ps - Kevin has put a hook on the back of the bathroom door now. Sorry, we didn't even notice that. Thanks for pointing it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We arrived at Hostal Avalon on the Saturday and were immediately made to feel welcome by Alix and Kevin. The rooms were simply decorated and exceptionally clean. The views from the rooms were outstanding. Although we didnt eat lunch during our 4 day stay we did eat breakfast and there was a good choice we especially loved the omelettes. Evening meals were great and the staff (miguel) looked after us beautifully. We had a lovely stay and would advise anyone to visit. Andy and Vicky Sussex

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Myself and a friend spent seven nights here recently and had a fabulous time. The Hostal Avalon provides basic, comfortable accomodation in a beautiful setting, but the jewel in the crown of the Avalon is the food!
The hostal is run by an English couple, Kevin & Alix. Alix made us feel really welcome from the moment we arrived, while Kevin is an excellent chef. The food is superb, with equal attention paid to breakfast and lunch, as well as dinner. You would not get food of this quality for the price anywhere in Dublin, that's for sure! Each afternoon we saw Alix in the gardens picking herbs and vegetables for the kitchen and all the sauces and garnishes, not to mention the chunky chips, were to die for.
As others have mentioned the beds were really comfy and we slept like babies each night.
Just be aware that there is no hairdryer, ironing board or kettle provided, so be prepared for that. This is not a criticism, just a point of information if you're thinking of going.
If we return to Nerja, we would not consider staying anywhere else, and that's the best recommendation I can give!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMcDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,768 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#5 of 37 in Nerja
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avalon

Property: Hostal Avalon
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Punta Lara 22, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, family run Andalucian hotel with beautiful views. 50 Metres from the beach. All 6 spacious rooms en-suite with large private terraces with sea views, air con, free wifi and satelite TV. Rooms refurbished in January 2015. Restaurant, bar and terrace open all day, everyday. Large, free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing