We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Don Peque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Don Peque
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My Mother-in-Law and I chose this hotel after reading the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor. The room was small but very comfortable. Lovely decor, very rustic and lots of lovely artwork around the hotel all painted by the owner Clara.
Tea and coffee was provided in the room which was a lovely touch as breakfast was not provided because of the season.
It's close to all the shops, beach,restaurants and the Balcon De Europa.
We went 25th Feb for 5 nights and it cost us 200 euros for both of us which we paid when we were leaving. We had a top floor room which we didn't mind because it had a balcony overlooking the main street, but wouldn't be good for people who have difficulty walking.
Overall a great place to stay and value for money considering the location.

Room Tip: Not suitable for people who are disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mardipardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    65
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
165
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip advisor. Very helpful and friendly owners, Superb location central to the shops and restaurants and for walks in the area. No breakfast as it is winter but a very good cafe at the top of the road will provide fresh croissants and coffe for two for 6 euros - beat that Starbucks (by the way the coffee is served in cups not buckets and tastes better) Lots of places offering 3 course menu of the day for 7 or 8 euros. Bar Chanquete at the corner of Calle JAEN, opposite the free parking place for your car does an amazing menu del dia with lots of choice and daily specials which are very good. Popular with workmen and teachers from the nearby school.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Location is perfect.Run by French people, whose daughter´s name is the same as ours, it could not fail. It did not.

The place makes you feel like when you went on holidays in the 70s,and I can´t really explain why.It might be their caress, our how good they make you feel, or Nerja itself.But you will love it.

I am not telling you anything practical.Location, cleanliness, warmth, etc...is perfect. It is just a not so new building in the old center of Nerja. but if you hate these new 4 star hotels (all the same to me) this place will make for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the attic is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cigarreando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hostal Don Peque on the 31st Dec 12 and 1st Jan 13.
The place was spotless with very individual rooms tastefully decorated.
My only criticism would be the price of 70 Euros per night for a Hostal without breakfast (Its only served in the summer) would seem to be a little excessive, seeing that 3 star The Plaza Cavana just 100 metres further down the road with pool/Gym and Breakfast was 5 Euros per night less expensive for the same period.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timemachine-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just had 5 days in nerja, doing some research for our forthcoming wedding, so delighted to find this little gem, perfect for recommending to our guests for central clean, friendly location with all the facilities you could wish for. Don't be put off by the name "hostal" it really is just the same as a hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katethegreatross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, Surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a second trip to Hostal don Peque and it was every bit as good as our previous stay in 2010. Clara works so hard and her attention to detail is extraordinary. Cleaniless is second to none, all the rooms are so tasteful, hand decorated, colourful and spotless. Many of Clara's only unique paintings are dotted around the Hostal and she has a wonderful collected of quirky hats all which add up to excellent ambience and atmosphere. For us Brits there is even a link to UK television which was a bonus for my husband! Continental breakfast was very good, always served on the rooftop with a selection of local cheeses and hams. The hostal was very centrally located from excellent restaurants, the beach and shopping. We cannot recommend this place too highly and will certainly be back for a third trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sat nav if it is your first visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smigglies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our arrival at Hostal Don Peque was not the easiest - locating the hotel can be tricky and we had to drive around the block a couple of times before we had a clue! We were lucky enough to find a car parking space nearby, but allow plenty of time for your often-frustrating search, and any vehicle larger than our VW Polo won't stand a chance on the streets - although the hotel advised that there are two pay car parks fairly locally.

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing entrance to the hotel - because the smile that greets you from the Reception desk on the first floor once you've struggled with your luggage makes it all worthwhile! The French husband-and-wife team are the most welcoming and friendly hosts, and the breakfast on the roof terrace that they serve is a delight - although place yourself under the numerous parasols to have the best experience.

The hotel is very clean and a great deal of thought has gone into the Moroccan-inspired rooms - our spacious third floor 'blue' room had some lovely touches, and the furnishings were fresh and new. Whilst I would not pretend that you could take much advantage of the promised 'sea view' due to the rooftops in the way, the table and two chairs on the balcony was a good place to relax after the beach before taking in the many attractions that Nerja has in store!

One of the main benefits of the Hostal Don Peque is its central location - there are bars and restaurants a plenty very close by and the street that the hotel is situated on closes to traffic in the evening so that a number of bustling street cafés can spill out just in front of your door. This could be a bit noisy if your room is on that side of the hotel, but we never had any problems being on the opposite side (and being 'night owls' - the hotel gives you 24-hour access).

We thoroughly enjoyed our four-night stay at the Hostal Don Peque, and would definitely return for its friendly greeting, central location, excellent value-for-money and the fact that nothing seems too much trouble - we were delighted by the recommendation for a restaurant on our last night and the hotel even made the booking and arranged a prime position on the terrace...now, there's customer service for you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank felixstowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#10 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Don Peque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Don Peque

Property: Hostal Don Peque
Address: Calle Diputacion Provincial 13, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#7 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Don Peque 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Don Peque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Don Peque Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing