We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the burgers”

J.J.'s Cafe del Mar
Ranked #50 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: JJ's Cafe del Mar offers good value food in a comfortable setting on Burriana Beach - for lunch, snacks and dinner. Reservations recommended.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved the burgers”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The menu was great and we really enjoyed the burgers. Mine had cheese and a fried egg with it and the chips were home made and tasted wonderful. They also offer a wide range of home made deserts.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    53
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food & always busy”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited JJ's just by chance as during march not many restaurants were open on burriana beach. But what a find. Freshly cooked food, homemade specials & plenty of it. Prices very reasonable especially the 2 course menu of the day. Lots of ex-pats & returning customers. Most nights we walked past & the place was full. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Sarahaj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montayral, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Candlelit Valentines Dinner”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a splendid meal at JJ's Cafe del Mar on Valentines day.Baked avocado starter was absolutely lovely followed by equally good soup sea bass and dessert. Great meal and good atmosphere. This is our second visit to this restaurant and we had an excellent meal on both occasions Well done to all the staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pembler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton-Cleveleys
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Gourmet food, reasonable price”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us several years ago and we have been returning ever since and have never been disappointed. A beach bar by day, gourmet restaurant by night.
Comfortable with a relaxing ambience. Our latest visit was our annual reunion meal with friends, one of whom can be fussy, Miguel handled this with tact and humour ensuring that we had a very enjoyable night. If you enjoy well cooked, attractively presented food served by friendly staff this is the place for you. Advisable to make a reservation as they are full most nights which in itself is a good recommendation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandhml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You will not leave here hungry!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stay each year in Nerja and make a point of visiting our favourite restaurant at Burriana Beach. If you are lucky enough to reserve Christmas Day you are in for an extra special treat. This year we arrived at one o'clock and the festivities did not finish until fivepm - the food just kept coming and not just quantity but excellent quality too.
Best time to visit is late afternoon so that you can take advantage of the two courses for 14 euros. You will be lucky to leave space for a third course as the portions are very generous! We went today and enjoyed Gambas pil pil (local delicacy) followed by avocado and prawns and smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Toyed with the Steak & Ale pie but got to watch just how much we eat so gave that a miss this time in favour of the seafood... Honestly you cannot go wrong and that's why the place is full every night. Not a bad idea to make a reservation, you will not regret it. Don't understand the comment about Graham or Miguel being miserable - they are nice genuine people doing a great job. TIP: If you arrive daytime there are always free English newspapers available for you to read as well as a few locally produced magazines (SolTalk and Insight) that will give you advice and times of local fiestas and activities. Good food at very reasonable price. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.J.'s Cafe del Mar also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to J.J.'s Cafe del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing