We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back On Form”
Review of Meson Antonio

Meson Antonio
Ranked #38 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back On Form”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ten years ago we started going to this restaurant at least 2 or 3 times every visit to Nerja - the food was good & the father & son owners were extremely friendly then for some unknown reason about 3/4 years ago everything went down hill - the food wasn't the usual quality - the friendliness had gone & the prices soared & on one occassion during the time of the feria they ran out of bread & beer.
So for 2 years we decided to give Antonios a miss.
On our return a few weeks ago I'm extremely pleased to report everything is back to how things were - the food was great - father & son were very friendly again & I even think that they have dropped their prices. It was that good on our first visit that we returned a few nights later just to make sure it wasn't a one off & am again pleased to report it was just as good again.
We shall definitely be returning when we return to Nerja next October.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    76
    30
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a typical spanish restaurant less than 10 min walk from Balcon de Europa and well worth a visit. They have absolutely beautiful fresh fish and the entrecote steak is excellent. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. On the left as you walk in is a great tapas bar where locals frequent. We always take a table inside in the summer because of the airconditioning and the great atmosphere. Love this restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spanish Restaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Really good Spanish food, Serano ham, Manchego cheese, followed by the best steak in town. What more could you want. The house red wine is also very good. We felt it was better inside that out, but then I don't much like eating out in the road. (shut off to traffic at night)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pretty average and expensive.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We popped in here for a steak on our first night in Nerja. It was recommended by our hotel desk chappie, we mentioned that we fancied a nice steak.
The restaurant interior is perhaps typically Spanish, but when we were there it only had one other couple in and therefore had no atmosphere.
We both ordered tomato soup followed by tenderloin steaks, medium done.
The soup was pretty good.
The steaks were burnt on the outside and pretty much raw on the inside, the chips were just frozen "beef chips", a bit of salad was also on the plate.
One bottle of house wine, and that was us set.
The bill came to €87 which I considered a bit steep! The waiter was unattentive and more interested in chatting to other staff then doing his job.
Not impressed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Restaurant just below our apartment, tables inside but after 6pm road closed and tables put on the road, always full, so thought would give it a go. How disappointed we were. Sat outside, our choice. Got the last table. Waiters very busy and kept coming and apologising for the delay.Could hear other people complaining about the long waits. Didn't have a clue why tho. We did get our wine, but had drunk it before they took the order!! I would have left but we had a really busy day and were both shattered and couldn't be bothered to find somewhere else. Now after 9pm and had been waiting over an hour. Finally got served, and don't agree with other reviewers about the food. Both shared pate as starter, ok. Other half had fillet for main and he did enjoy it. I had ribeye with peppercorn sauce and found it ok but nothing special, it came with fries,boiled potatoes and veg. The potato was really salty.Didn't have desert as was now after 10pm. But the waiter did give a complimentary drink, we both chose brandy. He must have felt really bad, cos he just kept pouring and wouldn't take no for an answer!!!
I think the reason it always looks full is it's the same people all night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank makins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Antonio also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Meson Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing