We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The premier restaurants in Nerja beware!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sloans - CLOSED

Sloans
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The premier restaurants in Nerja beware!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife daughter and I have ate at most of the restaurants in Nerja over the last 7
Years and Sloans is no exception!
Last night at Sloans once again we has first class cuisine at very affordable prices! My wife had the fillet steak which she described as the best she's ever had in Nerja. My daughter and I had the Madras curry which was as good as the best Indian you'll ever have! ( Olivia restaurant and Restaurant on Burriana eat your heart out!) deserts and starters also matched up to the superb mains and all for 55 euro for 3 with wine!!
Definitely without doubt a lovely clean restaurant with excellent service coupled with supreme food and clearly deserves a 5 star rating!! Class!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tez57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, Staffs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Value In Nerja Bar None!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having visited Nerja for more than 20 years we unfortunately only discovered this gem of a restaurant last year. We made up for it this year by visiting twice, once when they do their traditional Sunday roast and on a Wednesday when we opted for their 3 course menu @ only €10.95! We washed down our lovely meal with a very quaffable bottle of house rose for just €9.00. Catering for an almost exclusive Briitish clientele this restaurannt is an absolute must visit venue! Quality of the food is as good as you get on the best cruise ships. You simply must try it & booking is highly advisable - bon appetite!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cochrane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Around the world on a plate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you want great food cooked by an excellent chef at a very reasonable price look no further than Sloans restaurant. We were lucky to go on the last Fri of the month where the owner (Sam Sloan) puts on a feast he calls "Around the World on a Plate". We arrived at eight o'clock and 3hours later we were still being served delicious plates of food. He serves plates of large tapas, inc. chicken, beef, prawns and many other dishes to numerous to mention. We gave up after 11 courses, but he would happily continued to serve for as long as we stayed. All this for an incredible 15 euros!! . The menu on other nights is equally impressive. If you like good food then "Sams yer Man", don't miss!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lugabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milo55
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quality is the Key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dined recently at Sloans & had a really great meal.Many restaurants in Nerja now serve very average food at more than average prices,not here.Good 9.95e Menu del Dia & plenty of choice on the interesting A la Carte.What I liked here was quality,fresh ingredients simply cooked & presented.The Chef Patron,Sam appears to treat his produce with respect without over elaboration.We enjoyed a complimentary Stilton or Broccoli Soup "in a glass" superb fillet steak with FRESH veg & Ice Cream with homemade sauce,a glass of excellent Rioja @ a very reasonable 40e for two.Sloans is slightly off the tourist track & probably caters more for the ex pat community but worth seeking out on your next trip to Nerja.Good service & good food,highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
643 reviews
615 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - exceptional value (3 courses for €11) - the beef was tender and very good quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Sunday Lunch set menu represents outstanding value - 2 courses for €10, or 3 courses for €11. Bottles of wine start at €9.95.

Of the starters (soup, pate, prawn cocktail) we chose the pate which was good. For the main course (Tuna, Roast Beef, Pork, Chicken) we chose the beef. The beef was very tender and accompanied with roast potatoes, peas, carrots, cabbage and yorkshire pudding. It was very good! The waitress offered us horseradish sauce and Colmans English mustard as accompaniments (in some restaurants you get American mustard in a squeezy bottle!). For desserts (baked apple pie, sticky toffee pudding, jam sponge, hot chocolate fudge cake, creme caramel or coffee) we chose coffees.

Sloans Restaurant is open for Sunday lunch all day from 1.00 o'clock onwards. We prefer to eat early and we were the first to arrive at around 1.00 o'clock but by 2.00 o'clock the restaurant started filling up.

The table settings are very stylish. The crockery in particular was especially elegant which adds to the experience. Above all the waitress was absolutely charming and provided faultless service (it is very apparent she enjoys her work) and the owner/chef came out to check that everyone was satisfied with their meals which shows a genuine hands-on approach.

We had a most enjoyable lunch. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloans also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing