We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! Almost don't want to tell anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jaen
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
492 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“What a find! Almost don't want to tell anyone!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We decided to stay somewhere new on one of our 4 yearly trips between Malaga and UK. We chanced upon this one as the timing was right and were thrilled to find it is a 4* which only charges 57 Euros at this time of the year. The hotel is fairly new and there is some great design - some not so great [such as the copper roof which blew off and had to be replaced by felt!]. The foyer is lovely and the design all centres around olives as Jaen is the self proclaimed world capital of olive production. The vast murals, the specially made olive leaf chandeliers, the vast wine 'tinajas' at the entrance all echo this theme. The corridors and rooms are all tiled and practical. The rooms and bathrooms are quite large, spacious and extremely well fitted out. The beds were divinely comfortable.
The bar, cafeteria and restaurant share the same space but we saw no-one in the restaurant. The extensive menu in the cafeteria seems to be more than acceptable. We thoroughly enjoyed our 'Executive Menu'. We both had the partridge pate with ham mousse which was beautifully presented and delicious. Our main courses of Swordfish and Chicken were equally well presented and tasty. The service is friendly, competent and swift. The breakfast at 12 Euros for two people is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the choice available.
From their brochure it seem that the hotel was built and is run by the city of Jaen and incorporates the catering college. They have a vast separate building for weddings, christenings and conferences, there are swimming pools, spa, tennis court, football pitches and other sports facilities. The gardens have been newly laid out and are coming on well. It will be lush when everything is fully grown.
My ONLY criticism is the daft placing of the vital information sheet on the back of the bedroom door. They have placed it sideways in the holder so, to read it, one has to crane the neck sideways which I could not do. I took a photo of it so I could read it the right way round!
We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the swimming pool as, apparently it is noisy there in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    139
    39
    20
    16
See reviews for
65
117
5
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

POSITIVES

o A modern room – a decent size. Double doors between the room and the corridor – reducing noise. Double glazing reduced road noise (road is about 120m away).
o Plenty of parking – until the cycling event started and then I had to walk about ¼ mile.
o Close to a major road junction – fast access to the road network in all directions.
o Basic bar and restaurant on site – provided an edible meal and a drink at affordable prices.
o Good gardens and clever sound barrier that reduced the noise from the road so that it was hardly noticeable.
o Stunning views from my room – 4 mountain ranges, two of them covered with snow and some great sunsets and sunrises.
o Internet fast with a desk and chair to work at.
o Helpful reception staff with good English.

NEGATIVES

o No kettle in room for tea or coffee.
o Large cycling event hosted during my stay – they completely took over the bar and restaurant.
o Very little close to the hotel – this means lots of driving into Jaén – with all the problems of parking and navigating.
o Breakfast was extra but it was affordable and OK. I managed a second cup of coffee on one day. Coffee was middling – strong but not a lot of flavour.

CONCLUSION

I liked this hotel – until the cycling event started and the hotel was mobbed by cyclists, bicycles and support vehicles. If there was no cycling event being held I’d rate it as a good place to stay. You need to be ready to travel into Jaén for food and drink. Jaén has a big Carrefour (not where it is shown on Google maps – check out the Carrefour website) and a nice historic center. Unfortunately, Park Natural Sierras Cazorla is about 1 hour 30 minutes away and that rules out longer hikes using this hotel as a base.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stopped here by mistake on the way to Southern Spain having been caught up in the Brittany Ferries strike. Normally we stop at Paradors but because of the strike we kept driving for 10 hours and found ourselves at the Ho in desperation. It was fantastic and everybit as good as a Parador. Nice room with airconditioning beautiful bathroom with all the things you expect from a Parador (twin basins, bidet Marble and high class toiletries very comfortable twin beds put together. The room had a balcony and whilst it faced the Motorway it had a lovely garden and was completely quiet with the french windows shut. I asked for another pillow which was found immediately and the breakfast really tried hard to provide evrything all for about £40 a night. Wish there was a chain of them as we would not bother with the Paradors if they were all like this

Room Tip: we had a room groundfloor facing Motorway but it was peaceful with lovely views of garden and evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel rooms were tired but clean and comfortable. Plumbing was poor: toilet flush, wash basin tap and shower were all faulty.Previously discarded cigarette ends on the balconies.

We booked in May, choosing this hotel because of the advertised pool, but were not informed that the pool would close for end of season at the beginning of September( temperature was 40 degrees)

We asked to see the manager to discuss the lack of advertised pool facility but he refused to see us.

Recption staff excellent. Barman was generally rude.

Room Tip: best to have room overlooking mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
244 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We couldn't check in because the clerc at the reception was not autorized to use the new system.
She asked us to wait for a moment, but made no effort to get someone else. After 5 minutes waiting i asked if she called a collgue yet and the answer was....no my collegue is in a meeting!!!
When we finally checked in and went to the assigned rooms, they were not made and dirty and a broken bedlamp was scatterd over the bed.
We were assigned other rooms that were fine. Not great and not realy 4 star quality, but good enough(airco and shower worked)
Breakfast was okay, not great. Yogurt was not available and when i asked the only available waitress did not speak english and walked away.
I realy don't understand why this hotel employs young people who don't speak english or have no idea about adequat service delivery? There are so many unemployed young people in Spain, who do know how to be nice to guests and who do speak english.
The hotel is realy a bargain though is we paid only 56 euro per twin room, including breakfast for
However, i will stay in another hotel next time

Room Tip: Avoid by al means that they give you a room near the pool. There is loud disco like music the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here for a one night stopover en route to Madrid from Malaga. Had read a very poor review but others that seemed positive enough so decided to take a chance as the rate I got at the last minute was reasonable. The furnishings were a bit worn out but when travelling with small children that is often deemed a plus as I don't worry so much about spillages etc! The rooms were spacious enough and had a pleasant little balcony. The bar/disco that is part of the hotel complex was no longer operating so that was another plus in my opinion - no late night music to disturb us. The staff said it had closed down a few years ago. The reception staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The lady who did the laundry didn't even charge me for drying some clothes (hadn't had time to get them dry before leaving the coast). We were too exhausted to visit the bar that night so can't comment on that but the breakfast was fantastic. Just as varied and tasty as the best that I've had in any hotel in Ireland or the UK. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for basic but comfortable surroundings with a decent breakfast.
The hotel was also very easy to find despite another review stating the opposite and is well placed for a visit to Jaen. We spent a very pleasant couple of hours wandering around the town after breakfast before returning to the hotel to check out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRMoonful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevilla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Breakfast excellent and very good value.
Came here from a top Valencia hotel, on the outskirts much as this, and found everything here an improvement on that one and at a much lower price.
Staff very helpful; everything clean. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SevillaJuani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaen hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Infanta Cristina
3.8 mi away
Parador de Jaen
Parador de Jaen
#1 of 17 in Jaen
838 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Condestable Iranzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 17 in Jaen
173 reviews
22.0 mi away
Balneario San Andres
Balneario San Andres
#4 of 17 in Jaen
92 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Xauen
Hotel Xauen
#8 of 17 in Jaen
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen

Property: Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen
Address: Autovia Bailen - Motril, Kms 36-37, 23009 Jaen, Spain (Formerly Gran Hotel Triunfo Jaen)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Jaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ho Ciudad de Jaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing