We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Without doubt one of the best hotels in Fuengirola. Good rooms, friendly staff, good service and a decent breakfast - what more could 8 golfers want?! And just a short walk from the old town where there are excellent Spanish bars and restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank DAB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Florida Spa and for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to hear you and your companions enjoyed the time spent with us and hope you choose to stay at the Florida again as it is always a pleasure to have golfers among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    484
    123
    25
    14
See reviews for
189
934
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is great! I had a wonderful time. The place is very clean and the staff is so friendly. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. My money was well spent!
Customer service is something I always take note to wherever I travel. And the customer service I received here is something everyone who works there should take great pride in.
Will be coming back soon!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank WLM_station3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks a lot for choosing to stay at Hotel Florida Spa and for rating us so highly. We are delighted and feel very flattered by your beautiful words. We are very glad to know you appreciated the service received and really hope you visit us again as it would be a real pleasure to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

In my opinion this hotel should not be given 4 stars,I would say more like a 3 star. Rooms were all OK clean and well supplied with toiletries, view of harbour good etc. outside pool was far too small, could not have a good swim due to the size and depth. Food in dining room all OK plenty of choice, staff all lovely. My biggest problem was the hotel caters mainly for the VERY OLD!!! It feels more like a care home than a hotel, Zimmer frames, walking sticks and wheel chair users were the majority of clientele.This is absolutely great for the OAP's but me personally I would not have chose to spend a holiday of this sort.the evening entertainment sank to an all time low when the singer was singing "on mother Kelly's doorstep".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1127dexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for staying at Hotel Florida Spa. We are sorry to hear the hotel wasn't very much of your liking due to your age gap with some of our guests. It was a pleasure to us to have you among us. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is very central, only five minutes walk from the train station and right on the beach. My room was facing onto the beach which was nice, however, in summer this might be a bit noisy. All the staff in the hotel were polite and friendly, being very helpful without being asked. Breakfast was well cooked, with fresh pancakes and eggs made in the dinning room. It was the small things that made a difference, towels in room to use at the pool, a robe to use in the room or to go down to the spa, coffee sachets etc, not usual in most Spanish hotels. Also, safe was a combination one and free to use. Spa was nice, give you towels and a swimming cap to use, however, need to pay everytime to use it ( although I was given a voucher for one free use). Outside pool area gets sun in afternoon, it is very small though. Well worth the cost and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms are front facing for sun in the morning or side facing for sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 700Glitterfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for spending your holiday at Hotel Florida Spa and for reviewing it on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful for your kind comments regarding our staff and are very pleased to know you would consider visiting again and found our hotel a friendly place to stay. It would be lovely to see you again, so we hope your next visit comes soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just back from a 7 night break at this great hotel. It is in a great location opposite the marina. Wonderful food and great staff and service in the restaurant. Tea and coffee in the rooms as well as a fridge and safe at no extra charge,also bath robes and towels for use at the pool. Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: A high room with a limited sea view gives you the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for spending your 7 day holiday at Hotel Florida Spa and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. We are very grateful for your kind comments, especially the ones regarding our staff, and hope to have you among us again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days at the Florida in March. We found the room very comfortable and very clean. We really liked the free safe ,tea and coffee,and fridge which in some 4 star hotels are added extras.Food was good with plenty of choice. All the staff are really friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the entertainment every evening and the cheap drinks and really had a good time. I had only one gripe and this was being unable to access one of the free newspapers kindly provided by the hotel. This was because other guests selfishly removed them from the foyer area despite a notice telling them not to do so. We even saw a woman coming down in the lift having taken a paper up to her room. I could only suggest signing for a paper at reception with the time and date. We intend to return to the Florida in the future

Room Tip: Pool view rooms catch the sun in March.High floor best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheshe393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for writing a review about your recent stay at Hotel Florida Spa and for rating our hotel so highly. We are very happy to hear you had a good time and intend to come back in the future. It will be a real pleasure to us to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week on a Thomson holiday that we booked at the last minute as we needed some relaxation and a bit of sun. We were not disappointed!

Firstly, I will say, that staying at the end of March, we were among the younger guests and the hotel does cater towards a more mature age group. However, don't let this put you off!

Everything is the hotel is catered to make guests comfortable and happy. The facilities are really good. The rooms are well equipped with a safe, a small kettle with tea and coffee and a fridge in every room. We paid a little extra to ensure we had a shower and we were on the 11th floor of 12, with a large walk-shower and a balcony and sea view. Perfect for relaxing in the afternoon with a beer or wine and watching people coming and going along the promenade.

Other facilities include: an outdoor pool with lots of sun loungers (not used as it was a bit chilly but I did see some other guests using it) and a poolside bar with pool table and dart board. There is an indoor pool and spa. As we were on a package, we could use the small swimming pool and jacuzzi pool for free, there was a small charge to use the steam room and sauna. The indoor pool is lovely - highly recommended. My husband and I also had a massage on the Saturday evening. I booked a 1 hour massage while my hubby went for a 45 minute one which we asked to have at the same time. When we arrived, they had set up 2 massage tables in the same room, so we had a couples massage. James was able to relax for 15 minutes at the end while I finished my massage. It was a great service and good value for money - again, I would recommend having a treatment if this is your sort of thing.

Food and drink facilities: there are a couple of bars, the main one being the Miami bar on the ground floor. Happy hour is 8:30 - 10 every night - you get two drinks for the price of one! Bear this in mind, as we were not aware when ordering and my husband was perplexed when he ended up with 2 beers! Suggest you order a beer and a short and enjoy! Good drinks selection and the bar staff are like human dynamos but manage to stay cheery and pleasant!

The restaurant is superb. We had half board. For the breakfast buffet, you can have hot full English type breakfast, continental, lots of different breads and cereals, plenty of fruit, yogurts and pastries. Dinner is also a buffet, again there is a varied choice of English and Spanish / Continental type food to suit all the guests (mainly English but some Dutch, German, Scandinavian, Czech while we were staying). I highly recommend the fish - it was always tasty and the salads. I was less keen on the dessert selection (not enough chocolate puddings!) so I ate lots of the fruit, which was a great selection and really fresh.

Overall, the hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are also a real asset - nothing was too much trouble and they are really cheery and look to really enjoy their jobs. They are really kind and helpful to the more elderly guests too, which I thought was pretty special.

Regarding the situation of the hotel, it's very conveniently placed, right on the beach and in the heart of the 'beach' action, near the marina. There are plenty of nice fish and tapas restaurants near the marina for lunch. It's also only a short walk into the town centre and the more traditional Spanish parts of the town. You could walk to Bioparc from here (we didn't have time to visit this). Also a short walk to the bus and train station if you want to go further afield.

Definitely recommended! A fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Pay extra if you can to get a balcony overlooking the beach. The higher floors are relatively quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alicat_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks a lot for choosing Hotel Florida Spa as your holiday retreat, for rating us so highly and for writing such a well detailed review. We really appreciate your kind words and are very flattered by them. It is lovely to know some of our guests enjoy their holidays as much as you and your husband did. We hope this is not your last visit to the Florida as it would be a real pleasure to us to have you as guests again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
922 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.2 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Property: Florida Spa
Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing