We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom extras 1 cockroach 2 or more?”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived 04/08/13 for 2 weeks, all ok till Saturday morning end of 1st week came hope after Marbella trip late about 1am went to bed shortly after needed to go to toilet turned light on and saw cockroach scurrying across floor shut the door quickly then thinking I must have imagined it opened up again and no sign told my partner in morning she thought I'd imagined it too but next night she saw it too reported to reception and they apologized and said they would send a cleaner up, I think that was Sunday she done room whilst we were out but our cockroach was still hiding in our bathroom door frame we caught him that night and removed from building and expected bp more problems, Wrongly Wednesday evening got in about 11ish went to bed then as before needed toilet and found yet another one which we caught again this time out of frustration that this was still a problem took it down and handed in at reception saying I thought this was totally unacceptable for a 4star platinum hotel, expected to hear an apology From manager in the morning, Wrong again seems they don't care, so 5pm our Rep Natasha was in hotel informed her what had happened and fair play it was sorted in 30 to 45 mins clearer came up sprayed insecticide and left us the can so we could kill our own ( nice of them ) then a man came up and sealed around door where they were coming from, good that was last cockroach as far as we know anyway, now the Eatery I think they call it plates dirty in plate warmer on a daily basis with dirt in corners at base possible food residue not sure but to cap it off on our last evening meal picked a random table and sat down only then noticed our folks 3 out 4 were dirty ( contracts on the clean one ) my 2 folks were actually Stuck to the tablecloth, I wanted to report this but my partner convinced me not to. Disgusting.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
There are newer reviews for Florida Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back from the Florida Spa after a weeks stay at the hotel and it was a great stay! The rooms were spacious and very clean and the buffet food was good every night with lots of choice. The hotel was in a great location and central to everything and only a couple of mins walk to the beach. We found the hotel staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble especially the staff at the bar of an evening (they knocked up some lovely cheap cocktails!). Would definitely recommend this hotel to people!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience at Hotel Florida Spa here on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are very rewarding and we are really happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you repeat and visit the Florida soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the Florida Spa.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Provided with bath robes. Modern looking bathroom. Asked for sea view on 5th floor and got this. Definitely recommend sea view situated on at least the 5th floor to avoid noise from people outside.

Pool was quite small but not always many people in it so it was ok for me and my boyfriend. It wasn't always as clean as it should be due to peoples sun-lotion washing off in it and collecting together at the sides. Pool bar was great, reasonable prices and lots of foods to eat for lunch including sandwiches, toasties, scrambled egg on toast, pizza etc.

Indoor heated pool and large jacuzzi were both very relaxing. However, we were told that we were not allowed to use the steam room or sauna unless we paid 10 euros.

Restaurant food was just what I wanted. Lots to choose from including fish, meats and beautiful desserts (ice cream, cake, fruit, yoghurts etc). Noticed the staff seemed to be the friendliest when the restaurant manager was present. She was a very friendly lady who always said hello to us.

There was different singers every evening for the entertainment which created a nice atmosphere in the evening. The hotel barman created some laughs as he came from behind the bar dressed up as Elvis Presley whilst one of the singers was singing 'cant help falling in love'.

Location seems to suit everyone. Lots of restaurants if you walk in the direction to the right from the hotel. Lots of bars with all the best cocktails! Arcade opposite the hotel for children with trampolines, dodgems, table hockey etc.

Harbour across the road from the hotel (behind the arcade area) with a view of boats and restaurants. Quite a quiet area.

Overall, really enjoyed my stay at Florida Spa. Wish I had stayed for 2 weeks as 1 week did not seem enough!



.

Room Tip: Sea view on a higher floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks a lot for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your stay at Hotel Florida Spa. We really appreciate your comments and are happy to hear one week at the Florida wasn't enough for you. We really hope you and your boyfriend visit us again in the near future as it would be great to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through Travel Republic based on the good reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We asked for a high room, facing the marina with twin beds and got just that. The room had a free safe and wifi, a fridge for personal use and tea and coffee making facilities these items alone deserve top marks in our opinion.
The pool area as other have said is quite small perfect for a dip to cool down and doesn't fully get the sun until after 12 noon even in August. The sunbeds could do with some cushions as a tad hard.
We had a half board package, the buffet breakfast and dinner were plentiful and tasty with plenty of choice including several types of grilled fish, a roast carved meat and many choices of vegetables, potatos and salads and the usual breakfast offerings.
As we had our car with us we used the off site parking at €8 per day which was located within a 2 minute walk from the main reception.
Other people had mentioned this hotel is only for 'old people' well age is only a number and we saw people of all ages including families and couples enjoying what this hotel has to offer.
Possibly the singing entertainment could be improved on and is probably the only area that is somewhat dated in it approach, but each to their own and there is plenty to do in Fuengirola so no requirement to stay in the hotel every night.
In conclusion would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Fuengirola, by the way Fuengirola is by far a much more interesting place than we imagined and we certainly will be returning.

Room Tip: As for a high room overlooking the marina.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_and_Kaz_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your review about Hotel Florida Spa and for the high rating you gave us, they both are very appreciated it. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked Fuengirola. We are also very grateful to hear you would recommend our hotel and you are willing to come back. We hope it happens soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks and it was lovely clean, spacious, well equipped, staff very helpful and friendly always saying good morning or hello as you went by. Evening entertainment as stated in other comments very minimal with usually a singer on in the evening, after saying that it's stated in the hotel guide that entertainment is 'low key' so you can make that choice before booking.
The pool is small and after time scum can be seen floating on the top, this was reported during our stay by others although nothing was done about it which was a shame.Our room was spotlessly clean with air con a must have as the weather was in the 90s. Maid service every day she left us milk, coffee, tea top ups etc. a huge walk in shower with high and lower spray nozzle with all the usual toiletry freebies and bathrobes.
To tell you all about the food would take all day, let me just say full credit to the chefs/catering staff that must have worked so hard to produce the food that came out of that kitchen it was incredible, the variety was fab you couldn't want for anything and all so tasty.
We visited the Spa a few times which was so refreshing after a day in the sun, the water was warm and salty in one of the pools with relaxed chairs to sit on full of bubbles.
Overall a very pleasant and relaxing hotel to stay at which is what we wanted, most guests over 60 we are under 50.
Thank you Florida Spa.

Room Tip: I'm not a fan of heights so being on the 7th floor made me nervous, the views are great though...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellymsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everything great at Florida but SUN lovers beware, very small pool and in The shade till midday, hardly anyone uses the pool area in the evening because it looks closed ( no lights on had to ask) its the only outside area to sit, everything is in doors, staff food reception air con .Room all excellent ,

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter ,but all noise stops at 12
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJS56186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great holiday at this hotel. I would say that the rooms and staff are the strongest features of the hotel. We were not over the moon with the food, BUT, to be fair, there was always something we were happy to eat. To be honest, neither of us love buffet style, so our mistake to book half board.

We had one slightly unpleasant experience. When entering the dining Rom we were taken to the side and asked to sign the drink checks from our previous three nights. This was done in front of other diners, and in such a way that we were embarrassed. Now some of this was our fault in that we believed that as we were given checks we would automatically settle up before we left. However, the hotel expects you to either pay at the till, or sign and place the check with the till, to be paid when you are leaving. This was not explained well when we arrived, and perhaps someone approaching us at the table would have been more appropriate than stopping us in front of other diners. Having said that, As we were leaving, the restaurant manager Maria approached us and her professionalism, compassion and care, was very impressive and reassuring. If I were the manager of this hotel, I would make sure she stays in place, as she is a shining light, and is an exemplar for other staff.

So, in conclusion, we had a great stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone, great rooms, great staff, clean and pleasant. Top restaurant manager as well!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jvoh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,021 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.3 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $96 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing