We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located boutique hotel which takes some beating”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfectly located boutique hotel which takes some beating”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perfectly located boutique hotel which takes some beating. Rooms are adequate. Small plunge pool. Excellent food. Nice and close for pubs, restaurants and shopping. Fish alley is nearby. Great views over the harbour. A hidden gem!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking port and beach as opposed to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GolfbloggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Hotel Florida Spa here on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your lovely comments and are very pleased to know you loved the hotel and the surrounding area. We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    479
    122
    25
    13
See reviews for
186
924
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really had a great time at this hotel. The rooms were spotless, bathrooms well appointed, plenty of room. We went half-board planning to eat out and have the occasional meal in the hotel. In the end, we ate all our evening meals in the hotel because the food was so good.

The location couldn't have been much better, only a few meters from the sea front and shops. Several good restaurants and bars are literally on your doorstep.

We will return for another visit but will wait until mid to late June as the weather wasn't as good as we would have liked.

Room Tip: Street noise in the early morning was noticeable but not intolerable. Possibly having a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion about Hotel Florida Spa here on Trip advisor and for giving us such a high mark. The pictures you attached are lovely and show that you have enjoyed the hotel and also the area. We are sorry to hear about the bad weather, as you know it is kind of unpredictable and you never know, but we are sure that if you come during summertime you will have no problem as it will surelybe bright and sunny. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for the first two weeks of June at this hotel. Found the food very good Seemed to be plenty of choice. The dining room could do with the air conditioning switching on, it was so hot in there even with the windows wide open. Entertainment was not to our taste. Different artists each night but all seemed to sing the same songs. The bar staff were excellent and happy hour was even cheaper than the local bars on price.Kim the Thomson rep is very good at her job and very helpful and friendly. Room was a good size. All in all this was a good hotel and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Returned from a 2 week trip & we found all of the staff to be very helpful & obliging. Nothing was to much trouble. Rooms very clean & toiletries replenished daily. Service in the restaurant was excellent but unfortunately the food did not come up to standard on some days. Breakfast no problem but evening meals sometimes left a lot to be desired. No show cooking & you had to request an omelette. Pool area was a complete let down. Sun beds ripped & in our opinion dangerous. Some parasols were inoperable & the pool area was not cleaned, as very often you would find beakers & straws left laying about. Pool no good if you are a swimmer. Entertainment was very good on some nights but we found that by visiting the sister hotels you could get an excellent choice. Location is very good & not to much noise can be heard from the bars etc on the harbour. We had a top floor room on the front & the view was excellent. No mice dancing on the ceiling!!! Would we return to the hotel. I am afraid my answer is a definite no but I would return to the area. Thompson need to take a good look at this hotel. We are not a fussy couple but we expect better.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room on the front. Views excellent. Watch the sun rise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingshoes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked this hotel for my Mum and Dad , Brother and my Husband and I, having read reviews on this site. What a gem of a find, I have spent most of my life working in hotels and so there is nothing that can surprise me.

Location - Perfect

Reception- night flight, great welcome with cold meal supplied in the Restaurant, porter polite friendly and took bags to your room

Rooms - spotless well air conditioned having worked in Marriott and Hilton this beats them. Cleaned Daily toiletries provided daily including tooth brush and paste.

Maintenance- fix things pronto, small problem with TV remote.great choice of channels should you need to watch Tv

Pool area- great friendly staff happy hour 12-1pm 510 euro spirit and mixer for two drinks pool is a little cool

Restaurant- WOW FACTOR Maria and team do a fantastic Job I could not fault a thing on both breakfast and dinner, Plenty of choice, hot food . take a fan, it is a little warm in there.

Bar- Antonio and rest of staff service with a smile at all times happy hour 830-10pm

Entertainment- is good, for age range mainly older guests, some singers better than others, similar songs.
Spa- great way to spend an hour before dinner, pool and jacuzzi free for Thompson guests.

Resort itself, Great beaches, Flat easy to get around, Cheap for food and drinks, shoes great offers in shops.

Zoo - was great 10 euro at a weekend

Dolphin trip my brother visited, enjoyed, yes saw Dolphins.

Market on a Tuesday Massive, Antique Market on a Sat even bigger.

Go to the Harbour below are some bars that are really nice to watch the world go by.

River by the castle, good for fishing.

My Mum was in a mobility scooter which my Dad hired recommended by the hotel, great service provided.

Thomson's themselves- No hassle, one niggle never was informed about welcome meeting, so my Mum and Dad missed out on some free excursions, It was Wednesday by the time we met Kim our rep, however she is lovely and down to earth.

When booking online with Thompson's late checkout is only on one room, so if expect on more that one room if booking say 3 rooms like ours it is not.


Overall excellent time, Yes we will all be returning at some point, so Florida Spa keep up the excellent work, never Listen to moaners, as no justification to it.

Room Tip: high floor above level 6 and pool view we had 810 812 814
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheefieldsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your well detailed review, for the compliments and for giving us top marks. We are very happy to hear you loved your first experience at the Florida and hope you repeat as it would be really nice to see you all back for another nice holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm in my early 60's and travelled with my 21 year old grandaughter. As other reviewers have mentioned, guests are mainly over 50's but my grandaughter really enjoyed the atmosphere, which was 'young at heart' and there are countless bars and clubs close by if you did want something a little livelier.

Good things:

Rooms: spacious and comfortable. I have a sore hip and often struggle to sleep in unfamiliar beds but there was a really comfy topper on the beds and I slept really well. We went with Thomsons and I decided not to pay extra for a sea view room but was very pleasantly surprised to find our room had the most wonderful view of beach and harbour. The bathroom was large and clean with a great shower. Tea and coffe supplied each day with uht milk and a decent kettle (not one of those that take all day to heat up!)

Food: mainly very British. A different roast meat every night - choice of 3 different types of fish as well as pasta dishes and numerous vegetables, salads, cheeses and puddings. I've been to many hotels serving buffet style food and the quality here was excellent in comparison. Breakfast included 'full english' which my grandaughter took advantage of every morning and declared it 'fab'.

Staff: on the whole very friendly, particularly Maria in the restaurant who works incredibly hard and always with a smile. Reception staff also brill - really happy to help with any enquiry.

Little niggly things:

The fridge never worked, despite a man coming to look and saying it was fixed. When I asked at reception I was told ' it is not a freezer'. We gave up in the end but it would have been nice to have been able to keep our drinks cold.

There was an issue about whether or not we were entitled to eat in the restaurant on the last day as our flight wasn't until 7.30 pm. The Thompsons rep told us it should be fine, but when we arrived in the dining room they insisted on charging us E10 each. I argued a little as we hadn't eaten when we arrived on the first day so figured we were 'owed' a meal. They said that they did leave something out for late arrivals which we did have a look at but was, frankly sad and inedible so we didn't bother. I thought that this was rather unnecessary and sort of spoiled our farewell to the place. I truly think tht for the tiny extra cost to the hotel this practice should be reviewed as a matter of goodwill.

Finally, just a word about the Thomsons service. Not great I'm afraid. I would recommend you ask reception about trips and the best ways of getting about, rather than the Thomsons rep. We went on a trip to Marbella and Porto Banus which was well over-priced at £54 for the two of us. It was basically just transport there and back which we could have done by local bus for a fraction of the price - you live and learn though!

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firstimert0rquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at the Florida Spa Hotel in Fuengirola Spain.One word that encapsulates all aspects of this holiday,FABULOUS.This is the best short haul/stay (1 Week) holiday that we have ever done. Our flight from Cardiff,took only just over 2hours,excellent flight,excellent cabin crew.Smooth coach transfer to Hotel,Upon arrival reception staff sorted our luggage and paperwork all inside a few minutes.We were taken to our room on the 3rd floor, No 318.Only 3yds from the lifts.the view from our balcony was amazing,looking over the small Harbour entrance .The food was of excellent quality, you could always find something that you could enjoy.The Restaraunt is run with fantastic efficiency by Maria,She and her staff were very polite and the service matched ,if not exceeded any 5 Star hotels that we have stayed in.This Hotel is for the over 55's. children would be bored stiff here.Another plus,is that the endless beach is only 50yards away.Fuengirola is a lovely place,no boozy yobs,and very well pollced,you will feel very secure wherever you go.Excellent flight home with good Thomson cabin crew.We booked our Holiay with, as always Thomson First Choice . June6-13th 2013.

Room Tip: Any floor 3-12 sea views 18 - 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenvr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and the top marks. We are very pleased to hear you had an excellent holiday at Hotel Florida Spa and that everything went smoothly and was to your liking. We hope you visit Fuengirola soon as it would be amazing to see you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Property: Florida Spa
Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing