We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are a couple in our forties. Returned from this hotel today; 17/03/13.
Not a single problem here. The room, which faced directly onto the sea, was very nice with solid fittings throughout. The bathroom was faultless with a proper hot and cold power- shower. Large fitted mirrors everywhere. Good solid beds. No unpleasant surprises to be found. Choice of three glitzy elevators to the various floors. Beautiful scenic views to the front and back of the hotel.
The dining room and bars were spacious, and very well presented. Breakfast and dinner were everything anyone could expect, and more.
One very pleasing aspect about staying here was the absence of any silly charges for extras, such as safety deposit box and T.V. We even had free access to the nice little pool and large jacuzzi in the basement spa.
One tiny criticism...It would be nice if water, tea, coffee or juice could be served free of charge during dinner.

Room Tip: A high room with a sea view is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robagil2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florida Spa here on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and liked the hotel. It would be a pleasure to us to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not such a good impression for us. The superior room was worth it for size but the beds were so uncomfortably hard. The food was a rather same'ish each day. We wanted to have a drink on our balcony but when we asked for some ice at the bar to take up we were told we would have to but it from a local shop. Not very 4 star.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for writting a review about your experience at our hotel. About the comment on the ice, it is not our policy to send the guests to buy it for themselves and we will therefore look into this. We hope you enjoyed the area an the rest of amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed Feb 24th for 5 nights. Excellent large room on 11th floor (with English TV and Tea/coffee) overlooking pool, harbour and sea. Tremendous views which would be obscured by other buildings on lower floors.
Hotel also has three glass fronted lifts with allround, different, views. Food good and plentiful; restaurant spacious with friendly attentive staff. Reception, lounge area and entertainment areas all excellent, as well as smaller quiet reading/sitting room.
Outdoor pool slightly heated; Indoor spa area nice and not too busy. Evening entertainment good and well attended, happy hours with reasonable drink prices. I could go on and on.
Our only bugbear was the weather, which was not very good with some sun, but also strong cold winds at times. We also had bad colds when we came.
Were glad we had decent hotel and decent room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and we experienced very little waiting for lifts. May be different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailForce188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and your high marks. We are very pleased to hear you liked Hotel Florida Spa and had an enjoyable stay. We are sorry about the weather though. This winter we have had quite a few days of really bad weather but luckily it never stays too long. We are sure you will be much luckier on your next visit and will make the most of our fantastic sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Bizarre policies.
We ordered two glasses of red wine from the bar. Cost 6 Euros. Undrinkable
The barman, somewhat shamefacedly, offered a better alternative but could only sell it by the bottle, not the glass. Both he and the reception staff were clearly embarrassed by this policy. We had the impression that if they disregarded the policy their positions might be at risk. A Francoist legacy for the workers?
The argument being that if this wine was sold by the glass and at closing time there remained any in a bottle it would have to be thrown away. Definitely a first in Spain in our extensive experience!
This point conveniently ignored the fact that the initial offering is available in Spanish Supermarkets at 99 centimos per bottle. Ergo.. Gross receipts per bottle would be 18 Euro. Nice work?
This is a reasonably comfortable hotel aimed at the package market and this sort of stupid inflexibility is the result. It would be useful if Booking.com could filter this on its website?
This hotel also debits the card account upon arrival without any notification to the guest. Security?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beech09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guest, we apologize if you felt our policies were not reasonable and did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a lovely holiday, we would definately go back. The hotel was spotlessly clean and everyone was so kind and friendly, hotel staff & guests that is. The weather was a bit disappointing but apparently it's not the norm for february, maybe next time we will go about a month later or so. The hotel is situated just across the road from the harbour and the beach, ideal for sun worshippers or those who just like to stroll along enjoying the sights and scenery. The food was very appetising, there was plenty of choice and it all was presented lovely. There were some guests that had been there for 6-8 weeks. the pool area was very nice, not very big but nice all the same and there was a snack area that was also very good. It's not a hotel i would recommend for small children, although there was about 3 or 4 children there. that being said, there was plenty for children to do out and about. There was a childs playground across the road, as was the beach and a few other children's things, and in Fuengirola itself there is more than half a dozen or so attractions including animal parks, a butterfly world and many more. All in all an excellent hotel in a lovely resort.

Room Tip: If you want a good view you need to be higher than floor 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Hotel Florida Spa here on Trip Advisor and for giving us top marks. We are very pleased to hear you liked the resort and also our hotel. Regarding the weather we can only say that this winter has been one of the rainiest we can remember though luckily bad weather never stays too long. We are sure you will be much luckier with the weather next time you visit. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel the rooms are clean and well equiped, the staff cannot be faulted for courtesy, efficiency and helpfulness and the food is first rate with plenty of choice. Situated a very short walk from the beach, bus and train stations.

We'll be back

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bejay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for your feedback and your kind comments. We really appreciate them and hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from our second visit. We had a sea view which was great although the room was smaller than the last one. We felt the food was better. The staff, again, were great and really friendly, in fact it was because of the staff that we returned. We will certainly return again. Unfortunately the weather was disappointing but the we still had a really good holiday. The entertainment on the Thursday evening was fantastic. We've saw same act back in September and we were equally as impressed again. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OptimistEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Florida Spa here on Trip Advisor and for giving us such a high rating. We are very pleased to hear your second stay with us did not disappoint and our staff was an important factor in your decission. We are sorry about the weather though, it is kind of impredictable! We are sure you will be much luckier on your next visit and will be able to make the most of our great sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,540 reviews
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,058 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $94 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing