We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Spanish hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Florida Spa
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Spanish hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel in a great location for the beach and the town. Bus and train stations only a ten minute walk. Shopping centre a short bus ride away. Staff at hotel helpful and pleasant. Rooms adequate, tea and coffee and kettle, free fridge and safe a bonus. My personal opinion of the room furnishings is that they could do with updating, the bathrooms were lovely, towels replaced as needed , shower only. Cleaned daily, shower gel and shampoo supplied, maids very thorough. There was an outdoor pool and an indoor pool in the hotel spa, I didn't use either, but many people enjoyed the facilities. Bath robes and towels supplied for use. Food selection at breakfast and in the evening was plentiful, they cater very well for the British and most people seemed to be satisfied with the choice, Evening entertainment was ok, here again the artists were British and the majority of the guests, being over a 'certain age', enjoyed the music and dancing. Happy hour from 8.30-10.00 great, this was especially good because the weather was cold and windy in the evening so it meant we didn't have to leave the hotel. During happy hour the staff are very busy, unfortunately a few times we were short changed when buying drinks, we noticed this immediately and questioned the bar man, the correct money was then given, maybe just an oversight because it was a busy, but made me very aware of the change I was given. Trips offered buy both the hotel and holiday rep, we booked ours directly in the bus station, this could save you some money if you intend visiting a few locations. I was very impressed with the overall standard of this hotel and would return if I could get a similar deal again, but I would not recommended for the under 50 age group, unless they just wanted it to use as a base, the hotel is definitely more for the older holiday maker. The entertainment and company would not suit the younger age group. This however is not a criticism of the hotel just a general observation.

Room Tip: We were in the end room on the 7th floor facing the harbour, no sun in the afternoon at this time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USA4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your well detailed review. We are very pleased to hear Hotel Florida Spa did not disappoint and that you would consider visiting again. It would be a pleasure to us to welcome you back, so we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    464
    121
    24
    12
See reviews for
181
897
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Location was excellent, great for walks after breakfast - which was also top notch.

Staff very friendly and rooms were very good quality and very clean with english TV channels in case you get homesick.

When we were there there were many retired people on hoilay in the off-season and the hotel seemed to cater for this market very well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyseman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and the high marks you gave us. Thanks a lot. We are very pleased to hear you really liked Hotel Florida Spa so hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
555 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a drink with friends who were staying at the hotel. Large comfortable foyer area, with lots of seating and very pleasant furnishings. For a four star hotel, the drinks ordered were not expensive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fueng2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear you liked the hotel and that you had a pleasant time at our bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel. We stayed in a 10th floor seaview room which was amazing. I love the sun and knew we wouldn't get it all day and so we were torn between seaview and pool view where you get the sun in the afternoon. I was so pleased we went with the seaview and we had the sun until 2.30p.m., at which time you could sit by the pool in the sunshine.

The weather was superb, the best we have in January/February for a long time and the hotel was extremely comfortable. I loved the free fridge and kettle as well as the safe and and the free wi fi was the icing on the cake. I had a good reception with this only having a problem when there was a technical issue which they soon sorted out.

Staff were all lovely from reception to restaurant and also our lovely maid, Sonia, who although she did not speak much English was very tolerant of my poor Spanish.

Food in the restaurant was fine, no problem in finding something to eat and I couldn't believe how many times we had fresh prawns. We have been to many other 4* hotels and they have practically disappeared off the menu.

We will definitely be returning as I love the location and the promenade. Everything you want is nearby, supermarket just round the corner. If you want to go further afield the bus station and railway station are only a few minutes walk away.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cruisegirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your lovely review about your stay at Hotel Florida Spa. It is really rewarding to us to hear you had such a fantastic time at the Florida. We really appreciate your nice comments about our staff and we encourage you to keep on practising your Spanish whenever you visit us. Many of our members of staff are studying English so the language exchange is always fun! Anyway when the language barrier appears smiles are also a great form of communication. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went to the Florida in January, just 2 years after our first visit. Hasn't changed at all - everything still excellent! Having said that, I can't comment on the pool (except to say that it wasn't used much - probably too cold) or the bar and entertainment, which we didn't go down to. Everything else was great - mostly the "older" visitor - mostly British. Staff were great as was the food (there is a microwave for those who want super-heated food)
I would highly recommend the Florida and will certainly return when I can get a sensible deal!

Room Tip: A room on the pool side, 9th floor or higher, gets the sun all afternoon until it sinks behind the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaellaPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for coming back to Hotel Florida Spa. We are very pleased to hear we did not disappoint and you still found the hotel great. It would be fantastic to welcome you for the 3rd time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned home from our fourth visit to this hotel. We stayed for three weeks and really didn't want to leave. Everthing regarding the rooms was just as good as ever. We stayed in a side sea view room and had lovely sun on our balcony until six in the afternoon. The restaurant was still just as good as every, the food was lovely and it was always hot.
The hotel Angela, a sister hotel to the Florida is closed for renovation and a lot of people who would have stayed there were staying in the Florida. This probably caused the restaurant to be busier but for us it was never a problem.
The Miami bar where the evening entertainment takes place was a lot busier than last year, once again due to the Angela effect. This did cause queues at the bar for drinks at the start of happy hour which is eight thirty to ten. The lovely waitresses who serve drinks to your tables were run off their feet at the start of the happy hour. All the bar staff are friendly and first class at their jobs, the new bar manager Antonio is particularly good and joins in with many things. The performers in the Miami bar this year were paricularly good and were well supported.
I love Fuengirola and I love this hotel. We are in the process of booking the Florida for next year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great for seeing the beautiful sunrise but if you like the sun in the afternoon c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTraveller6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very happy to hear you love Hotel Florida Spa as much as we do! It is always a pleasure to read comments from loyal guests, so thanks a lot! We will be delighted to see you back at the Florida soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

After all the good reviews I read about the Hotel Florida I was rather disappointed. We usually go to the Hotel Angela but as it was closed for refurbishment we chose the Florida.

Our room was lovely and so were the staff. It was the food that was disappointing. The boiled potatoes had been left in water and that made them watery and mushy. The chips were always dry and cold as were the fried potatoes. The meat also left a lot to be desired it was sometimes tough and fatty.

Sorry Hotel Florida it is back to the Hotel Angela when it re-opens.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1004 had a side sea view and great for the winter as we had plenty of sun which ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest, we are sorry you didn't find our Hotel Florida as satisfaying as our sister Hotel Angela regarding the food. We take note of your comments and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.2 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.4 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Property: Florida Spa
Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing