We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spring sunshine break”
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Florida Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed for a week in March at the Florida hotel . When we arrived at eleven we we allocated a room on the first floor ,we asked for an higher floor as we had emailed asking to stay on a upper floor ,we had to wait for 30 mins while the room was cleaned and then got the keys for room 910 ,this overlooked the sea and marina .The weather for us was great and we were able to sunbathe in the afternoon on the balcony. On the first day we were lucky to meet James and Olla Jordan and watch them dance . We enjoyed dining early on good food ,the staff are all professional especially Maria ,who always managed to talk to us .The hotel is in a great position ,you can get your drink at all budgets at the marina ,we used the local buses and train to Ronda ,Mijas ,Marbella and Torramollinos easy to reach about 500 yd away . The rooms are very good fan and aircon ,free fridge free safe most uk tv channels and tea and coffee ..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeparkingpleze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

It is a pleasure for us to read you had a great spring sunshine break. We are happy to see you enjoyed dinner at the restaurant and the mention to Maria, she is a great restaurant manager. Thank you for taking your time writing a review and recomending our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
There are newer reviews for Florida Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from the Florida Hotel and having stayed at other Thomson Platinum hotels were disapointed by this one. The food was just okay but regularly cold and had to be heated in the microwave. Entertainment started off good however declined during the week. If you want to learn to dance go there - that is about all that is going on day and night. Oh and bingo ! But don't laugh at anything when the 'professional' dancers are teaching or the female from Liverpool will give you a right telling off. She upset one of our friends who was laughing at something which had nothing to do with the dancers. Local people use the hotel regularly in the evening for the dancing and the downstairs function room is used for Spanish evenings two to three times a week therefore holiday makers have to make do with the very mediocre entertainment in the Miami Bar. Drinks are expensive but if you catch one of the happy hours you get two for one. Be aware that if you are leaving the hotel early for your flight home all you will be offered for breakfast is toast and cereal. Staff were friendly enough, however the rep moved away from reception when I had a problem with my room 626 being smelly (a strong damp smell in the bathroom). It was clear he did not want involved in my issues. I was offered another room however it was no better, with broken tiles in the bathroom and no view whatsoever. I decided to buy airfresheners and cleaning materials and deal with the smell myself. Maria in the restaurant and Alison who arranged the bingo were really friendly and deserve a mention. The outdoor pool is tiny and was not open due to bad weather. The indoor spa pool is also very small and if 6 people are using it it feels quite busy. As Thomson guests you can use the spa pool whenver you want but if you want to use the sauna or steam room you have to pay 10 euros each, every time. The hotel is in a good location right opposite the harbour and there are plenty of excursions you can book cheaply from an outlet in the harbour area. If you are looking for a good lunch and a couple of cheap drinks go to E C Daze pub in the harbour area. It is spotless clean and the owners are friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandiCentralScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

We are sorry to hear you did not like the food at the restaurant and the issue you describe about an odour in the bathroom. Housekeepingwas sent to the room to clean again and make sure there was no maintenance problem. We offered another room in case you felt the smell was still there. Rooms are cleaned and inspected by the housekeeping manager everyday and therefore we can assure that there is no broken tile in any of our rooms. However we apologise if you felt we did not respond well to your expectations and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

When i was looking for a holiday to take my Mum, she i a wheelchair user, and my Sister who is parcially sighted, I looked at the hotels first then read the reviews on trip advisor so glad i did, we had a fab Holiday.
The staff were all lovely and helpful, the food was all well presented and well cooked, the outside pavements were well maintained(not so much the back streets)Every cafe and resuraunt was nice and all staff very helpful.
Oh and the spa was just the place to relax after several hours of pushing mums wheelchair.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotlipswellssomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Thank you for the compliments! We are very glad to hear you, your mum and sister had a fabulous time with us. It is a pleasure for us to know we succeed in generating great experiences for our guests. We also thank you for writing a review and recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The hotel was just as described by fellow trip advisors.Excellent standards of cleanliness,food and lovely staff. The spa was really nice but we didn't realise that we could only use the pools as hotel guests and were embarassed to be asked to either pay 10 euro each to use the steam room and sauna for one hour or leave---(we were in the steam room illegally!!) It does seem petty to charge for this facility, especially as we noticed that NO ONE used it and the clients were entirely hotel guests. Steam and heat were being pumped out to empty rooms!!
This hotel has references to "platinum", and "premium" though I don't know why this is.
Entertainment wasn't "Thomson Gold" standard. There was only entertainment in the basement caberet room a couple of nights in the week and the entertainment in the main bar area was usually a solo or duet with a keyboard. In the gold hotel there was a good choice of entertainment every night in both the bar and caberet room. I thought platinum and premium were a grade up from gold. The pool size was most certainly NOT platinum or premium.
All in all, the holiday was great with superb weather and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank banksy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

It is a pleasure to hear to had a great time at our hotel.
Regarding your comments about the sauna and steam room; The Spa is of course an extra facility to the hotel services. We included the free use of the Spa pools in our packages as an alternative to the outside pool. However the sauna and steam rooms are aside in order to make this more exclusive and not overcrowded. We also have to make sure that all the guests can be informed of how to use the sauna and/or steam room, the benefits this has and if it suits the person interested. As you know the sauna and steam room are not indicated for certain people. It is therefore considered a treatment and this is why it has a price. We apologise if this was not stated clearly and lead you to feel embarrassed. We will make sure our guests are well informed of this to prevent this from happening again. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for a week in February. Hotel was wonderful. Staff were superb, especially Maria who ran a tight ship in the restaurant where there was an excellent choice of hot and cold food on offer. Adrian, the Thomson holiday rep was very good too. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We had never been to this area before but thought it was excellent, plenty of nice walks along the sea front, lots of bars and restaurants nearby too. There is a good supermarket next door. Happy hour each lunchtime and evening was a nice surprise, but drinks very reasonable anyway. We were very lucky with the weather which was sunny and warm all week. Would thoroughly recommend for a winter break and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OswestryLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Hotel Florida and also for recommending us and considering us for future stays. We are happy to read you got to have nice sunny weather during your stay and you were pleased by the service provided by our hard working staff. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Like many other reviewers we booked this last minute at a good rate and weren't disappointed. Food and service were excellent with very friendly staff. The pool in the Spa was small but warm and it was good to be able to use the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna courtesy of Thomson. The breakfast and dinner buffets were well presented with hot food hot and cold food cold and a good selection of dishes available. Also used extensively by Spanish nationals which must be a good recommendation. Evening entertainment was available in the Miami Bar and also in the Canaveral Room in the basement with dancing in either venue most evenings. Free internet access was also available in the 'library' (which was really a card room with a couple of shelves of books available for swapping).
Adrian, the Thomson Rep was also brilliant and said this was the best hotel he had worked in - I guess because he doesn't get too many complaints from his customers.
If I had a complaint it would be that there wasn't enough room between the bed and dressing table in the otherwise nicely furnished room.
Highly recommended and we'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIL3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks a lot for recommending Hotel Florida Spa and for considering it for future stays. We are very happy to read you are very pleased with the service provided as that is what we aim for.
We hope to see you back at the Florida soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We booked this holiday 3 weeks before departure and we were very happy with the price. We had never been to this resort before and we were a little apprehensive.
Admittedley the hotel was full of mainly old age pensioners and the entertainment was geared to that age group. Mainly singers and duos that they could all ballroom/sequence dance to,but there was a magician and a local dance school performed. The dancing lessons with Victoria and Vittor were excellent ,they taught us the basics and enjoyed them immensley. There was a happy hour each night and the drinks were very reasonabley priced.

The choice of food and quality was excellent, there was something for everyone, obviously apart from the last reviewer who wanted fresh tomatoes at breakfast. There must have been everything else to have apart from fresh toms.We did not feel that we had to eat out in the evening.

The staff were all friendly and hard working.The rooms were cleaned every day,our room overlooked the harbour,but we didn't get any sun on the balcony in the afternoon.Request a room overlooking the pool.

The hotel is within 5/10 minute walk to the bus and railway station,there really is no need to go on organised excursions.The public transport was very reliable, cheap and clean. It was 2.50 euros to Mijas return, 4.50 return on the train to Malaga and about 3 euros return to Benalmadena/Torremolinos.

I maybe wouldn't want to go to this resort in the summer, but for a cheap,sunny week in Febuary it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for the feedback about your holiday at Hotel Florida Spa. We are very glad to read your got great value for money and that you enjoyed your winter break with us as that is always our main goal. We hope to see back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.4 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,021 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.3 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $96 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing