We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNHAPPY N.YORKS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“UNHAPPY N.YORKS”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We returned from this hotel on 6th October. We agree with everything in the two previous reviews.
Also be aware of plant pots randomly placed round the pool area (for cigarette ends). These are very dangerous and I gashed my leg on one and have had bad infection and am still having treatment, I went to enter this in accident book but they did not have one and didn't know what I meant (so much for EU regulations).
The entertainment is almost non-existent we were there 11 nights and only entertainment on 2.
Flamingo dancers (approx 45 mins) and Chinese acrobats (approx 30 mins).
There was a wine list but only house wine and expensive ones left - the others had run out,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    446
    146
    57
    37
See reviews for
305
609
41
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for a family get together and was disappointed from the minute I walked through the door. Let me assure you, I travel a lot from backpacking to 5 star hotels so I am not a snob or expecting too much but this place could have been so much better. In summary there were a number of factors that ruined my friend and I's stay. First problem was the smell, bit like a sewage had erupted, next was the the unfriendly check in who just passed us back and forth as we stood like lemmings in check in, next was the rediculous location of the lift to get to your room, the room itself was then old fashioned, drab and basic. The TV was something off ebay from the 1990's! My Dad's arrangement for his birthday at the hotel had somehow been lost in translation and forgotten and they'd run out of Cava!! In Spain?? Bearing in mind this is all on the first day!
The breakfast queue extended out the door and round the corner and no, I was not there 5 minutes before close, the food was straight out a tin or carton, such a shame from a country that grows amazing fruit. They ran out of must things and nobody seemed to care, perhaps they were short of staff?
I really can't say many good things about this hotel, I wish I could, oh maybe one - It's on the beach? On our last day we wanted to enjoy a bit of sunbathing on the beach (as the pool was green and all the sunbeds were taken) but to get a beach towel you couldn't just go to the pool guy and get one, no you had to trek all the way back up to reception, get a token and pay a deposit, then go and see the pool guy!!
One last thing, be prepared to wear a shower cap if you want to swim in the spa pool!! It's a good look, but rules are rules!!
I wish they would just improve the basics to make the stay more enjoyable. It's not much to ask.

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonezy203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

just spent a week at the Beatriz Palace & Spa, and would not like to repeat the visit. Actually, for the first time in a hotel I didn't meet anyone who had been there twice. For a start; we went to check in, told a porter would take our luggage so we waited and waited until the guy on reception told us briefly where to go and our luggage would follow. Anyone who has been to this hotel will know it's a maze. We went to where we had been directed, wandered around and then went back to the reception who then did find a porter who took us to a place we would never have found.
First impressions of the room (all sea view rooms there) looked good but on closer inspection saw that the carpet was very very dirty. The bedding was spotlessly clean as were the white bath towels and toletries wer renewed when required

The swimming pool (sea water) had a filtration problem the whole of the time we were here and the water was very dirty, just couldn't see the bottom of the pool. Someone told he reception about the pool and just had a reply 'will be noted' Finally someone came, had a look and for the first time since we had arrived (4 days) someone arrived to actually clean the pool. Every hotel we have been to have had pools cleaned every day. So bad in fact that in the middle of a hot day no one was actually in the pool. We understood that the pool had been like that before our arrival! Sun beds were being jet washed whilst we were there then put away, leaving filthy ones around the pool.

One of the comments were that the walls between bedrooms are thin, well they are very thin. A baby was crying one night and we felt it was in our room with us.

The chambermaids work well but they do need to use a hoover in the bedrooms more often. We found the beds very comforable.

One thing I would say to anyone going on that coast for a holiday BEWARE OF PICKPOCKETS AND GYPSIES ROBBING YOU!! We heard of many having scams and losing money actually out of wallets but wallets in pockets, it's not called the Costa del Crime for nothing.

The hotel is certainly not worthy of the 4 star it's rated.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an open balcony (if you must go to the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAPPYHOLIDAYMAKER20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel its self is lovely, a very grand building and mostly very clean (although someone had been sick on the carpet near the 5th floor lift and it hadn't been properly cleaned up in the week we were there)
Beds very hard which I don't mind but the fact that they are covered in plastic made sleeping very uncomfortable, as did the foam pillows.
Apart from one man at reception we found the staff very unfriendly, they will help when asked but without a smile or any conversation. I asked about bus times and no-one could help even though the bus goes past the hotel regularly.
Bar prices are very high, 2 very small cola's 12 euros.
Breakfast very good although someone asked for bananas every day and never got them. The orange juice machine leaked all over the floor every day without being fixed as did the hot water urn.
Dinner - not too good, very same ish. A small bottle of water at dinner was 2 euros 30, neither tea or coffee available.
The only entertainment all week was on the Saturday when there was a balancing act on for approx half an hour. Not very entertaining!
We were disappointed that there weren't tea/coffee making facilities in our room until someone told us to ask at reception and they'd be provided, they were but you have to go back every day to have them re-stocked.
Safe is 2.30 euros a day. Mini bar provided but this also is very expensive.
We were very unlucky in that the weather was dreadful while we were there which didn't help but as other people have said this hotel is out of the way if you want night life of any kind.
Didn't use the spa so can't comment.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms very nice, ask for a balcony with railings rather than bricked up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenandWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southyorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just back from week stay at this hotel and really pleased we chose this one very smart hotel nice size rooms almost on the beach lovely breakfast too - the hotel is a bit of a trek into the centre fine for us as we like a walk but may not suit all and about 9 euros one way by taxi into the town no entertainment in the hotel which some may not like either. It was about an hour and half transfer time by coach but this was mainly due to having to drop off here there and everywhere. It does seem to be used by business travellers and hosts conferences etc which is sometimes a good sign . We had bad weather but still found lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelteam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently had a 9 day break here.Hotel in very clean,rooms all have sea view our first room had a closed in balcony so you could only see the sky when sat out!- reception staff very good and moved all our belongings whilst we were out for the day.Breakfast is chaos -the buffet constantly running out of things- no one monitoring the supply of cutlery,foods, drinks ect. Even when you ask for something it takes ages to arrive.Staff in the restaurant do not seem happy in their work at all. The hotel is the last hotel on fuengirola beach and is a good 25/30 min walk to the main restuarant area not 10/15 as quoted.The beach is lovely and safe although a little stoney. Would have liked to have seen tea and coffee in the rooms even pub b/b in the uk have tea & coffee these days! No concierge - had to take our own bags to and from reception when checking in and out of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to sit on your balcony and see the view ask for an open balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just come back from a business trip.
Have to say this is probably the best hotel i have stayed in for yonks.
I arrived at 11am, but my room wasnt going to be ready till 2.
So i asked if i could leave my luggage somewhere while i attended a meeting.
The front desk told me my room had been cleaned earlier and it was ready so why not just drop my luggage off their instead.
I came back around 3 and had the most wonderful buffet lunch for 20 euros, followed by an equally delicious dinner buffet for a further 20 euros.
The sea view from my room was beautiful and the beach looked amazing.

Will definately bring my family for a short break in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
2.4 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
955 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel IPV Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IPV Palace & Spa

Property: Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Address: A7 km.207,junto al Castillo Sohail, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel IPV Palace & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel IPV Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipv Beatriz Palace Hotel And Spa
Ipv Beatriz Palace Hotel Fuengirola
Beatriz Palace Fuengirola
Hotel Beatriz Fuengirola
Beatriz Palace Spa
Beatriz Palace Hotel
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing