We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot going for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A lot going for it”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mixed experience but I will stay positive.
The hotel is easy to find and has the most beautiful strip of beach, ideal for kids. The views of the sea from the room balcony was stunning with the moon reflecting in the sea.
Parking is easy, free of charge and I think quite safe,
The hotel public areas are very large and comfortable with several places to take a drink or a snack - must recommend the Club Sandwich - it was excellent and not overpriced.
The room (2211) was large, a little outdated with an old fashioned television with sparse UK channels. I will say - great air conditioning ! The bed was maybe a little on the hard side for some people. We did have a Spanish family next door to use and we realised the walls are very thin.
Now the very annoying downside - the wc had a paper band around the lid so as to tell you it was sanitised - not true - the underside of the lid was splattered in faeces! To me that's a cardinal sin! A closer look at the drinking glasses showed them to be unclean also.
Breakfast was good although a little disorganised but then this is Spain and par for the course !
Check in check out was simple and efficient
One thing we noticed is that all bars close at midnight which is a good thing to ensure you are not disturbed by late night noise from the terrace and bar.
You should also note there is no tea and coffee in the room.
Fuengirola itself is easily walk able and offers some great shopping areas - check out Dunnes for the cheapest clothes prices I have ever seen.
All in all for what we paid it was value for money (70 euro) and we do intend returning as the location was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maranelloLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    433
    141
    56
    37
See reviews for
301
592
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Only spent one night in this hotel - just a stop over at the weekend - and we were pleasantly surprised. It is a big hotel with long corridors so an adventure finding your way to the room but when we got there it was a decent size, spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom - all the rooms face the sea so no chance of getting stuck at the back overlooking the dual carriageway so that's a bonus. We booked through Late Rooms and only paid 70€ for the night which is an absolute bargain. Not sure if we would want to stay there in the summer - pool doesn't look big enough for the size of the hotel so bunfight special every morning for a sunbed and there is only one lift in each of the blocks so to get in and out with suitcases in high season will be a challenge but it's in a great position and the walk along to the prom is very nice. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DolphinEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in the hotel on a Jet2 Holidays package from 28/4 - 5/5/12 and are very pleased that we paid the extra £50 each to upgrade to half board.

I would reiterate comments made by a previous reviewer about there being no in-room info. It is a bit frustrating to have to ask Reception for info on the smallest of things. I mentioned this on the survey forms I completed for both the Hotel & Jet2 and hope that they do something about it. I have therefore tried to include as much info as possible. There is some info on your cardboard key card but you need a magnifying glass to read it. However opening times for bars & restaurants are posted in the lifts.

Our twin room was No. 2411 in the Cesares building. It had a wonderful view from the balcony and was bright and spacious. The bathroom was also bright & spacious, with toilet, bidet, sink & shower over bath. Towels were changed daily. Both the bathroom and bedroom were immaculately clean. The TV has BBC1 & BBC News 24. All other channels are foreign language channels. There is no DVD player or iPod dock. There is a minibar, which we used to chill our own small water bottles in before bedtime to use the next day, but that was all that we could fit in it.

As is typical in most big hotels, including those in the UK, power in the room is only provided when you put your keycard in the slot as you come in the door. We could find only three wall sockets. One was for the fridge, the second for the TV and the third for general use. Since you will only be able to charge things like mobile phones or iPads when your keycard is in the wall slot, you will need to plan when you do this. You get two key cards so we left one in with the do not disturb sign on the door while we went for breakfast, and that was enough to charge my mobile. My husband's got charged when we came up from the pool or went for dinner, and my iPad got charged once his phone was removed. A bit of a palaver at first until you get into the routine.

Exit & entry to the building, your bedroom and your room safe are all secured by your keycard. Ours would not let us in or out the external door next to the Spa but this was immediately rectified by Reception. The room safe costs €2.30/ day.

The hotel is not a typical tourist hotel as it also caters for business meetings, weddings, communions, etc., all of which were held during our stay. This means that a lot of Spaniards visit & stay there. Reception, bar and restaurant staff are multi-lingual and provided you speak slowly and clearly you will have no problem being understood. However we always like to try and speak some of the local language and the staff really appreciated this. Still it amazes me how many toursts just completely fail to grasp the basics of please and thank you. There were only about a dozen other people from the UK staying there at the same time as us, which suited us just fine.

The lobby area of the building interior is beautiful, with lots of conservatory style tables & chairs. The only entertainment during our stay was a pianist who started up at 9.30pm. We were always still in the dining room until around 10.30pm and so gave that a miss.

We thought about using the Spa pool but just never got around to it. It looked lovely and peaceful. It costs residents €12 each time they wish to use the Spa facilities, with any treatments costing extra. There was a list of these in the bedroom. Treatment costs were on par or slightly more expensive than at a hotel in the UK with a spa, e.g. Hilton Hotels.

Free wifi is available in the public areas of the lobby, bars and restaurant. If you want it in your room you will need to pay €12 for a Telefonica card which will give you 24 hours access.

The food selection and standard at the extensive buffet breakfast and dinner was great. You can even have a glass of Cava or a Bucks Fizz at breakfast, at no extra charge. Breakast & dinner are served from 7-10.30 am & pm respectively. Despite comments from previous reviewers we did not experience our hot food to be anything less than that. There is one microwave in the dining room, but only saw that being used to heat baby food. You have the option of charging drinks to your room or settling these at the restaurant cash desk each night. Restaurant and bar staff showed exceptional professionalism, far superior to most of my experiences at even top notch restaurants in the UK. All staff we spoke to were very friendly, extremely customer focused and took a real pride in their duties.

Pool towels are available from Reception for a €10/ towel returnable deposit. You can have your towels changed as often as you want for this. I did go in the unheated outdoor pool, but only on two occasions. I am usually a bit of a water babe but it literally took your breath away. It took my husband two hours to heat up after his brief dip! The pool bar was not open at this time of year, which means you need to go in and upstairs to the tapas bar if you want a drink poolside. Since you need to use your key to get back out to the pool you need to do a bit of a juggling act if you don't take a tray. You also need to remember to take your key if you go to the loo just inside the door. We rescued many people in such a predicament!

We were not leaving until 6pm on the Saturday and so asked on the day after we arrived if we could keep our room until then. It has always been our experience that the sooner you arrange this the better. However we were told by the Duty Receptionist that we would need to come back on the morning of our departure to see if this could be arranged. I did not think this was very suitable and instead went on the Thursday morning, and was told this was not a problem. Our key cards were then simply reprogrammed to extend our stay, at no extra cost. My advice therefore would be to keep asking different Receptionists until you get the answer you want.

Overall we had a lovely experience at this Hotel and would definitely come back to stay at it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gizasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Although quite a big hotel, it didn't feel impersonal. It is right on the beach (the best of them, I think) and only a 10 minute walk from the main Fuengirola strip. There are a couple of bars even closer than that.

I only had breakfast and lunch there. I thought the lunch was good, the breakfast OK.

I would have given it 5 stars but thought that the room (especially the bathroom) was a little tired. Also there is no wifi in any of the rooms. But it was a great location if you want to stay in Fuengirola. We will stay there again next time we visit F.

Room Tip: They all have sea views, but some have more than a view than others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at the Beatriz but the staff were excellent and very friendly. The food was well presented and there was plenty of choice. Unfortunately there wasn't an indoor swimming pool and the outdoor pool was too cold but in summer I am sure it would be lovely. The only downside for us was noise due to a large group who had very noisy children and as a whole the group gave no thought to the other guests in the hotel. However, I would definitely return but I would ask if they had a large group booked in at the same time as my holiday. The hotel itself is very quiet and no noise at night which is a bonus. It is close to a lovely view of the sea from a new bridge where there are lots of exercise equipment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last week. Our room had a proper frontal sea view i.e. we didn't have to be contortionist to see it which was great. Breakfast at the hotel offered an excellent choice so no complaints there. The buffet restaurant provides show cooking both during breakfast and dinner and again has an excellent selection. We tried one of the restaurants which was simply delicious, we were told that this restaurant has won awards. They offer everything on the menu as well as local dishes (i.e. lobster and rice which was delicious) and tapas.

My wife loved the spa and said it was very relaxing and clean. The staff were very happy and always ready to help and offer advice about some of the attractions in the area. Our small daughter had a great time too!

We'll definitely be back and cannot recommend this hotel enough. It was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights end of March with my sister, lovely hotel, quite quiet which was good as we wanted a relaxing holiday, only had breakfast in the hotel, which was lovely lots of choice, beach is just out the back of the hotel through a gate and has a lovely beach bar on which does nice toasted sandwiches and lovely cocktails. Room was large with a large ensuite bathroom and heating and was cleaned everyday, our room looked onto the beach so great view. Only thing i can fault about the hotel is its location, not much in the area other than the beach and a couple of shops so we had to get a taxi into the town each night to go for dinner which cost 12 euros. Overall though a lovely few days break in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rache1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.7 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel IPV Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IPV Palace & Spa

Property: Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Address: A7 km.207,junto al Castillo Sohail, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel IPV Palace & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel IPV Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipv Beatriz Palace Hotel And Spa
Ipv Beatriz Palace Hotel Fuengirola
Beatriz Palace Fuengirola
Hotel Beatriz Fuengirola
Beatriz Palace Spa
Beatriz Palace Hotel
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing