We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable week”
Review of Yaramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yaramar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Yaramar in February and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This was our third time at the Yaramar in the last two years and it was good to see that their high standards had been maintained. We found the food to be of an excellent quality with a good choice.
All the staff were excellent, helpful and very friendly, they all seemed to be happy in their work, which is always a good sign.
The rooms were nice, very clean but were rather "tired" and could do with a makeover but this certainly didn't detract from our enjoyment.
We are now looking forward to our next visit to the Yaramar in July.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robbo68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks a lot for staying at Hotel Yaramar once again and for planning to come back so soon. It will be a real pleasure to us to see you back at the Yaramar. Seeing guests coming back is a great satisfaction. We feel very lucky for having such loyal guests like yourselves. See you in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Yaramar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Have just got back from our first stay at the Yaramar. The first point to deal with is theloud entertsinment. It really isnt all that loud, in fact comparedto most other hotels it is at a very comfotable level. However, the desig of fthe hotel does mean that you can hear the quite clearly, even on the 7th floor. Didnt worry us, but for some it is an issue.
Good points: Nice room, great views, good food and friendly staff
Bad points: None worth mentioning.
Be aware that if you go out of season, the average age of the guests is about 75 and the entertainment is aimed at ths age group. As long as enjoy a waltz, fox trot or the hokey cokey you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter and want all day sun, choose a room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks a lot for writing a review about Hotel Yaramar and for rating us so highly. We are happy to know you enjoyed your first stay with us and hope it is not your last as it would be a real pleasure to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife had stayed at this hotel with her sister, some ten years ago, and had been impressed by it then. We decided to have a spur of the moment short break of 4 days midweek in January when the weather was dark & bleak in the UK and we had spotted very cheap flights with the new customer friendly airline known as Ryanair. And compared to the bad old days it has been transformed, but this review is about the hotel not the flight, so moving on…..
We had seen some very critical reviews on this website about the Yaramar but these we're far outnumbered by songs of praise so we decided to go for it.
We booked with Hotels.com to give them a try and the whole process was smooth and bug free.
On arrival in the evening the desk staff complimented me for speaking to them in Spanish and after asking whether we would prefer a pool view room which is sunny all afternoon and into the evening, or sea view which is only sunny until mid afternoon.they expedited our check in so we would not miss dinner which closes at 21.00, and what a delightful dinner that was after a days travelling !
The restaurant was very quiet, almost empty, but the selection of food was staggering and still being replenished at 21.10 !
We then went to our 14th floor pool view room, admired the amazing panorama of both the city and the port area from our balcony, the switched on the TV to find several English language channels along with most other European language which is a pleasant change from the usual BBC World news which does tend to be a tad repetitive and boring at the best of times.
We did laugh though when the BBC news announcer would say "and now over to the news where you are" and we got the London local news!
Next morning we went down to breakfast at 09.00 and were amazed t how busy the restaurant was after the night before. We had to search for a table but did gets one and were immediately greeted by a smiling and even singing waitress who welcomed us and explained the restaurant protocol to us.
Again a stupendous range of goodies to tempt us, even cava, and dietary or healthy food , not to mention just old fashioned full English if that was what you we're looking for.
The greater majority of the clientele appeared to be English, and it was soon obvious that they mostly had been coming to this hotel for a very long time, and were well known to the staff.
But nevertheless we were pleasantly impressed by just how courteous and polite we're the entire hotel staff with even the occasional demanding clients.
The only thing which we would respectfully recommend the hotel should examine, is the sound level of the PA system used both at the 21.00 bingo in the ground floor lounge, than during the 22.00 entertainment session in the same area.
It seems to be customary nowadays for all entertainment to be amplified to almost painful levels when this is not at all necessary. It was so loud that one had to resort to using sign language , or once I even had to write my order on a napkinsfor the bar person to read it.
There is apparently a Happy Hour period but I never did find out its precise time frame except that it ends at 22.00, I think!
The bar personnel were noticeably not as courteous as the rest of the hotel staff and the two we encountered seemed to be a bit anxious not to communicate with us, any more than was absolutely necessary.
The sound level meant that the whole hotel was filled with it right up to our 14th floor anyway, and we could hear every word until it ended at 23.00
There is a lovely long on the second floor with a vista of the sea, and it is a haven of tranquility during the day, but due to the din from the bar area one floor below,it is certainly not a pleasant place to be while the entertainment is in full swing.
The room was large enough for our purposes, and was impeccably cleaned every day.
Of course there were signs of wear on the taps, but like very other hotel, there is a rolling program of refurbishment going on and we noticed that the wall tiles and sanitary ware had already been replaced. Maybe the floor tiles and taps are to be seen to this year, who knows, or even cares, as long as they work and are clean?
All things considered we would gladly return to this excellent hotel where almost the entire staff care about the clients greatly, and you leave feeling happy with the world inside it.
Incidentally we had one glorious day in the sun, but then three wet cooler days when we simply enjoyed loafing in the lovely lounge during the day, followed by eating& drinking ourselves unconscious in the evening.
Way to go man !

Room Tip: High floor to distance yourself from the noise from the bar area 21.00-23.00 only. Pool view for su...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKEurotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks a lot for coming back to Hotel Yaramar after such a long time and for rating us so high. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your 4 day break with us and that we did not disappoint! We really appreciate your nice words and take note of your comments hoping your next visit comes very soon as it would be lovely to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just a short stroll from Los Boliches train station.
Situated on the sea front with great views of the bay.
Room very clean but may be needing a little updating.
Breakfast was fine including the coffee didn't make evening meal.
Check in was smooth and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel will recieve sunlight for the majority of the afternoon
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KratieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for the feedback and for staying at Hotel Yaramar. We are very pleased to hear you liked our hotel so we really hope to see you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We enjoyed our New Year 2012 week at the Yaramar so much that we returned this New Year for 2 weeks. The New Year celebrations were again fabulous with a beautiful 6 course meal (we managed 4), free red and white wine and water all seated with good company and served by friendly staff who worked really hard and joined in with the celebrations; 2 of the younger waitresses even doing a little dance. We were also able to have a dance between courses to the duo who did a good job of catering for all. The entertainment after in the Patio Lounge were Dreamgirlz, a Supremes Tribute act who belted out number after number and seemed to enjoy that we were dancing all around them and we thought the atmosphere was good.
The staff at the Yaramar cannot do enough to make your holiday special; Reception, Dining, Maids and Maintenance were all wonderful. The Thomson reps deserve a special mention too. As we were the only ones (at first) turning up for the morning exercises they tailored them to us starting slowing with yoga and pilates and warming up to boxercise and disco exercise. Well done it set us up for the day!
As mentioned in previous reviews the evening entertainment was a little flat at times as Bingo was sandwiched in the middle of the night and I agree with a previous reviewer that it should be on much earlier. There is no stage in the Patio Lounge which sometimes confused the acts as the audience is in 2 separate halves of the room. If the lights had been dimmed when the acts were on it might have created a little atmosphere. Last year in the top half of the room were tables and chairs and this year they were replaced by rather tired sofas, half of them facing the wrong way and once seated were very hard to get out of. Therefore Bingo on first, subdued lighting and tables and chairs brought back please.
Weather was very pleasant, we don't like it too hot. Hotel in a very good area. The best way to spend New Year. See y'all next New Year!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, pool view sunny afternoon until late
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for spending another New Year with us at Hotel Yaramar and for your well detailed review. We are very pleased to know you had a fantastic time and you really enjoyed your holiday. We do take note of your comments regarding the entertainment and hoipe to see you around some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

location is excellent.All rooms have a sea view,Staff at reception and throughout the hotel are second to none.Food is very good with plenty of variety. Entertainment leaves room for improvement .Hotel parking is good & reasonably priced.My only complaint would be charging for using the fridge in your room This is nonsense for a hotel of this .regards James L.

Room Tip: rooms with pool view sunny from mid morning to early evening
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks a lot for your review and for staying at Hotel Yaramar. We really appreciate your comments and take note of them as we think there is always room for improvement. It would be a pleasure to see you back at the Yaramar so we hope it happens soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Having just returned from a New Year Break at this hotel having been there for the 2012
New Year I would certainly concur with Malcom B & Carol H.
Very very disappointed with the entertainment this year, I hardly feel that Tamla Mowtown music seeing the New Year with no communication with the audience at all just gave it a zero atmosphere.
As for the following act they also just did not communicate with the guest's either it should have been party time even for just an hour, it never happened.
Hotel, staff, food, all good, your entertainment Thomson very poor feel very let down.

Norchis

Room Tip: Sea views morning sun. Pool views afternoon sun but go with higher floors
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank norchris47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,467 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaramar Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $90 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaramar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yaramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yaramar
Yaramar Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing