We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No kids hotel!”
Review of Yaramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yaramar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife, in-laws and myself have just returned from a week in Yaramar and it was faultless(and no kids). It started with the staff taking the luggage to the rooms and it just continued with superb service all week. The hotel was spotless, plenty of loungers, food excellent and entertainment not bad.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are the best and if you want great views , floor 14/15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RayCee626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks a lot for writing a review about Hotel Yaramar on Trip Advisor and for rating our establishment so high. We are very grateful for your positive comments and very happy to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We love seeing our guests coming back so we hope you revisit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We decided on a return trip to the Yaramar following past good experience, and we are now also Thomson Gold 'veterans'. We booked late and so got a very good price. Booking via the website was very quick and straightforward. The airport experience at both ends was perfectly acceptable, and the flights were satisfactory. Interesting that for short haul flights, there is now no entertainment at all, so, after the safety video on the runway, the TV screens on the plane retract, never to be seen again. There is also no audio. This seems a bit miserly. The return flight was via Sunwing, a Canadian airline operating on contract to Thomson, with Thomson cabin crew, and the safety announcements were in English and French! The cockpit crew were Canadian, and the pilot spoke only briefly. Once before take off with the usual speech, and then just before the descent to the airport where all we got was "Ladies & Gentlemen, prepare to land!".

The Yaramar was clean and comfortable, and check in was swift and simple. We were relaxing on our balcony about ten minutes after arriving. The hotel could do with some smartening up, as it looks a bit care worn, but everything works, and is kept tidy. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The meals were Thomson Gold standard - buffet style and plenty of choice, and the restaurant staff were very attentive. The pool was very cold, but the outside terrace was warm and well kept.

The Thomson Entertainment Team were excellent. Our stay co-incided with their final week, so they were getting a bit emotional towards the end. During the day, they entertained with games and activities for those who wanted, and in the evenings they put on spectacular and very professional shows in the hotel cellar bar area. On their nights off, Thomson 'flew in' some decidedly mediocre 'professional' acts - a dodgy comedian and a 'club singer'. Imagine our disappointment when we realised who we were missing on the night we left - Sid Little.

We took one Thomson excursion - Gibraltar. This was an excellent day out and included a Rock Tour, and a look into the famous warren of tunnels. The guide was a bit too enthusiastic and kept us down there a tad longer than we would have liked, but it was certainly good value for money. There were no problems getting into Gibraltar, no queue at all. Interesting was the different attitudes of the border police - the Spanish officer was polite but distinctly surly as we left his jurisdiction, whereas the Gibraltar officer was positively 'Hidey Hi!" and delighted to see us as we crossed through the gate.

We went under our own steam to Malaga, Marbella, and Mijas, all perfectly easy to do via the local public transport network.

The hotel puts on its own entertainment in the ground floor lounge, usually a singer, and this was pleasant enough. The hotel also has a permanent resident, 93 year old Geoffrey from Yorkshire. Geoffrey is a delight and loves to talk to the endless procession of guests who pass through. Geoffrey's long stay (four years and counting) is the hotel's best advertisement!

A very pleasant and happy stay once again.

Room Tip: Book as late as you can for a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HalifaxThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks a lot for writing such a nice review and for choosing the Yaramar as your holiday hotel. We are very pleased to hear you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. Making our guests happy is essential to us, so it is very satisfying to see you having a great time here. Regarding to Geoffrey we feel extremely lucky to have such a lovely and interesting gentleman with us. He is a very important member of our big family and as you say our best advertisement. We all hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A very good and comfortable hotel. Staff were very polite and welcoming. Stayed in a superior room which gives extra space and a nice balcony. Great views from both the room and balcony. Across from the beach and a very short walk to the train station. Previously have stayed (3 times) at the Florida Hotel. This is better. Adult only, mature guests. Yes it could do with a bit of an update but very clean and tidy. Pillows were awful.
A really nice resort that is still being developed and improving. Easy to get around using public transport.
Warning to People using the Thomson free coach to the hotel. You MAY find yourself sitting on a coach in the underground car park of Malaga Airport in semi darkness waiting for passengers from another flight to fill the coach. This hotel is no longer a 1st or 2nd drop off, so you MAY do a tour of the resorts first. Nearly 2 hours in my case before getting to the hotel.
I entered a similar review on the Thomson website but it has not been published. Shame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks a lot for writing a review about Hotel Yaramar and for choosing it as your holiday retreat. We really appreciate your comments and are very satisfied to hear you liked our hotel and our staff. We are sorry to hear it took you so long to get to our hotel by coach. As you well said Fuengirola has a great public transport offer, so you might be interested in knowing that it is quite easy to get here from the airport by train. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

went to this hotel sept 2013 lovely hotel had a great time would recommend this hotel in future very clean food great plenty of choice, location was also great near to shops and bus station or train station will certainly return some time in the future no complaints with the hotel at all

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magsb218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks a lot for reviewing Hotel Yaramar and for rating it so highly. We are very happy to hear to enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our hotel and the services offered. It would be a real pleasure to see you back at the Yaramar, so we hope it happens in a very close future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a lovely week at the yaramar.

I emailed the hotel before we went for a quiet room with the overnight sun and got just what we asked for. Room was clean, spacious and had the added bonus of a free safe and tea and coffee making facilities. There were also pool towels available in the room. Room cleaned every day. Towels and linen changed when requested,

Restaurant was fine. You could always find something to eat. Personally I preferred the breakfasts to the evening meals. Wine at the evening meal reasonably priced from 6 euros per bottle.

We didn't see much of the entertainment but heard very good reports. We enjoyed the happy hours inthe pool bar at lunchtime and patio bar at night.

Caught the local bus to Mijas and benelmadena and torremelenos. Quick, cheap and on time.

Lots of nice bars and restaurants close by. Had a lovely week at the yaramar, which was made by the hot and sunny weather we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollymaid1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Yaramar as your holiday hotel and for writing a review. We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely week with us enjoying our beautiful weather and for this reason we hope you consider our hotel again for future holidays. It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Super hotel excellent friendly staff Thank you all for your help and concern over Peter during our October holiday. As always a super time was had by us after a bad start on arrival
We hope to be back to see you all soon
Bette Pickstock

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bettepick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks for visiting Hotel Yaramar once more and for taking your time to write about us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you had a fantastic time once more even if your holiday didn't have a good start. As you know seeing guests coming back fills us with happiness, so we also hope to you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at the Yaramar again in September. Had another great stay, This was our second visit and would recommend for a quiet, relaxing holiday. Food was excellent and always plenty of choice. Wine along with meal was at a good price and plenty of selection. Cleanliness of room was excellent and always kept to a high standard. Only downside I would say was having to pay Euro 30 to hire small mini bar style fridge for 2 weeks!
Small bar 2 streets back from hotel was El Boliches Bar, great wine and a very pleasant owner, would recommend for a quiet drink.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmithsHawick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thanks a lot for your feedback and for paying us a second visit. It is always a real pleasure to see former guests coming back and we really appreciate you decided to stay at Hotel Yaramar once again. We hope you revisit us soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,524 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaramar Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $89 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaramar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Yaramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yaramar
Yaramar Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing