We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade Room”
Review of Yaramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yaramar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Upgrade Room”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited Feb 2012, booked with Thomson's paid extra for room upgrade and was not disappointed the room had a fab view of sea front, room was massive and room to swing a cat, it was fab. The Reception staff looked as though they had been slapped with a wet fish, but the restaurant made up for that in buckets, they was so friendly and had a laugh with you, and the prices for a bottle of house red wine was 5.00 Euros, sounds cheap but tasted great. The food here was below what I would say is Thomson's Gold and every evening meal had salad and cold meats as the hot food did not look and tasted horrible. The gym equipment was ok, some of it needs to be repaired, the sauna & Jacuzzi worked a treat after work-out. The Thomason's reps well thought a lot of themselves, went down on the last night and thank god I did not waste my time on my other days there, the entertainment was poor and OMG what a waste of money, come on Thomson's we pay you good money try spending it.. The Hotel overall was fab I would go again.

Room Tip: Get Room Upgrade well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback. It is great to hear you had a nice holiday and thought the Yaramar was a fabulous place to spend your holiday at. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    520
    169
    48
    16
See reviews for
132
1,018
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just returned from a fortnight at the Yaramar. We stayed here in 2002 and had a great time then. Having read some of the negative reviews posted, we were worried that going back might be a mistake. Our fears were unfounded. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the food was good (and what a wide choice|) and the staff could not have been more caring, helpful or friendly. It is true that some of the paint work could do with a little TLC, but this did not spoil our stay at all. Yes, the majority of the people staying there are 60+ but everyone was very friendly and we enjoyed the activities provided. We were there during a spell of bad weather; rain, wind and cold and as a result of this, some of the public rooms were cool during the evening. But we can all wear a sweater or cardigan!
Add to all this the great Thomson Gold team, the happy hour in the bars in the early evening and the fantasic location we feel that this is a very good hotel.
If you have been put off by some the negative comments made, all we can say is we were so impressed that we are going back next year or maybe even this autumn.

Room Tip: Go on the walking trip round Malaga with Edward, what a fantasic day in a beautiful city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retirementkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for coming back to Hotel Yaramar after so many years. It is really refreshing to hear you found the Yaramar as good as you remembered and we are very pleased to know you had such a great time that you are even considering returning soon. It will be great to welcome you back once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in this magnificent hotel from February 8th to 14th 2013 inclusive. We had half board and a magnificent room overlooking the sea with temp up to 21c. I could not fault anything at all during our stay and although it was my first stay there I am already looking forward to my next.
The staff were most obliging and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was absolutely fabulous and the selection for all meals was out of this world. Terrific.

Room Tip: I did ask for a room facing the sea which I had and it was a wise choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks a lot for all the praise and for sharing your first experience at the Yaramar here on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful and we really appreciate your kind comments, so it will be a pleasure to us to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Yaramar hotel for one week at the end of February.
I'm thinking that maybe we stayed at a different hotel to Joe W from Ashford!!!!!
Our room was clean, the sheets were perfect and our bathroom had no grouting missing or any loose tiles.
Our towels were changed every day even though we hung them up.
We went to the dining room every night about 7.00 and the food was nice and hot, and also what was refreshing was that the waiters and waitresses were always very swift to clear away tables of used crockery and wine glasses and replacing table cloths each time a table was vacated.
I think that Joe W needs to brush up on his grammar and punctuation skills before writing another review, as the review for the Yaramar is very poorly written, some of which does not make sense at all.

Thankyou Yaramar for a wonderful week's holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnie139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and for the top marks. Both are really appreciated and we are very grateful. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful holiday with us. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited in mid February. Took train from Malaga Airport to Los Boliches. Trains are every 20 minutes and take about 30 minutes. Single fare for two is around 5 Euros. The ticket machine provides instructions in English, takes Euro notes coins, and credit cards. Also gives change.
The hotel is then less than 10 mins level walk from the station.
Reception was very efficient and no credit card was required. Cases promptly taken to room. We had a corner room on 12th floor which commanded great views over the sea, the pool and Fuengirola.
The room had a small fridge, air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, flat screen tv and hair drier.
The restaurant was buffet style for breakfast and dinner. Food was good in terms of quality and choice.

Entertainment was provided in the bar/lounge. This varied from night to night and included professional cabaret acts. We didn't participate in the daytime activities but these provided a fresh twist on what is normally provided in similar hotels.

Drinks were a reasonable price and verging on the cheap side during the happy hour.

The long sandy beach is opposite the hotel. The road is quite busy but crossing was never an issue. The area surrounding the hotel has a wide range of shops and bars.

This was an enjoyable stay at a relaxing hotel. There were no children at this hotel which is perhaps best suited to more mature visitors.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you had a nice and relaxing holiday at the Yaramar and that you really enjoyed it. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

stayed at the end of feb was very happy with the level of service the staff work very hard to please you the brekkie was good but the food at dinner was only warm if you didnt get in there early.the room we stayed in seemed to be ok sheets on the bed a couple of holes but they were changed and we was in room 524 and when the wind blew at night it made all sorts of noises where they are badly fitted one night when the wind was realy bad i could not sleep but my wife did the bathroom is a bit shabby quite a lot of cracked and missing groute on tiles and shower blows hot and cold and woodwork needs attention seems like the keep up the decs in the rooms but ignore the bathroom balcony was ok apart from the lose tile we kept tripping over and happy hour is ok if you drink beer and the entertainment was very 70s caravan park some nights

Room Tip: go to malaga on the train station just around the corner plus many other places to visit on the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just arrived back from the Yaramar and was very pleased with the holiday overall. It is full of the older generation, but this was nice and the people we met where lovely. Its not just the young who know how to have a good time, so don't let reviews that say its full of old people put you off, we made some very good friends..

The food and hotel are very good and the staff are lovely, We did not have any problems at all whilst staying here, but if we had we knew that our Thomson rep was there on hand to help. If you have never been to Malaga before I would recommend the Malaga Walk with Eduardo, its a nice friendly trip on the train into Malaga and Eduardo will show you around.

The gym as one other review stated is in need of a overhaul. They had 2 bikes that would have not been out of place on the antiques roadshow and a stepper that was equally as old.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor and found it very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillianp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and the top marks, we really appreciate it. By what you say it seems you made the most of your stay and got to know lots of new people. We are glad to know you had a good holiday at the Yaramar and hope to see you around soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,360 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
1.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaramar Hotel

Property: Yaramar Hotel
Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaramar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yaramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yaramar
Yaramar Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing