We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yaramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yaramar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great hotel, with style and ambiance : loved the location of the pool, way above ground level with fantastic views of the beach across the road and in to the distance left and right - see the photos.
The cafe there, La Piscina, serves very good cold and hot drinks eg coffee 12 - 6, food/snacks 12-3pm and 12 -1pm happy hour. And you can buy a 4 ltr bottle of water there for 1.50 Euro to put in Fridge - 15 euro for fridge key. Easy to use, free safe in room as well, and tea and coffee facilities. They provide small cartons of milk, but we used to bring up glasses of milk from breakfast and keep in fridge. They provde white sugar and sweeteners.

Great choice of food both at breakfast - from Porridge to Champagne ! Lots of cold and hot - including great omelettes made to order. The evening selection from salads to main courses was very varied as well, including great roast beef , pork or lamb, with reasonably priced wine. Well Done. And thank you Matre'Ds, Carmen and Graciola for your friendly and helpful service.

Room with a view ! Ours was over the pool and we loved it. Fab shower, and if you need to keep up with the UK news etc,there 3-4 UK channels including BBC1 on a very good flat screen TV.

Room Tip : if you dont like lifts that much and are not keen on walking up flight after flight of stairs , then try for one of the rooms 200 to 220, one level up from the pool. If you use the stairs be aware there are timed light switches at the start of each pair of sets of stairs - as they can be dark and dangerous otherwise.

Great entertainment by day and night with the team of Mille,Craig, Dan and Ellie - first class shows in the evening down stairs of West End quality - Mia Mamma was fab. And in another show they were singing songs written before they were born - with great skill ! The fun and games around the pool by day were great - but there was no pressure to join in. The competitions Mille et al set themselves were light hearted and entertaining - like when Millie stood on one leg for over 7 mins - great applause from those around the pool !!

What was also of a very high qualityin the evening down stairs was the key board and singing of the duo Laura and Jesus - very talented pair. Laura is not only a great singer but could also teach dancing like Salsa. And for Jesus, lovely voice eg - one minute singing like Roy Orbison and the other moment like Willie Nelson !

At the Rivera cafe across the road happy hour : 11 am to 1 pm great for lunch time ! And 2 comfy beds, a parasol and 2 sangrias for 5 Euros !! Rivera owned by Yaramar : just show your Yaramar beach towel for discount. They serve great sardines cooked fresh and a wonderful ice desert with a creme brulee type toping - delicious !

There is no better place for walking : across the road from hotel is an 8 km virtually flat, very wide promanade. We saw many jogging, fast walking as well as disabled/elderly using motorised
low vehicles ( dont know the name type ! ) for getting about. UK papers of the day can be bought at a store a short stroll from hotel for 2.20 Euros

We plan to return again !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachandsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and for giving us top marks! We really appreciate it and love reading happy comments like yours. We are very pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable stay and that you are even planning to return to the Yaramar! We will be delighted to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    493
    156
    45
    14
See reviews for
126
962
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from this wonderful holiday. We found the hotel just perfect for a well deserved break. The staff were very friendly, the food amazing and the Gold Entertainment Team, Millie, Craig, Elle and Dan were fantastic. They provided fun and entertainment during the day if you wanted to join in and the shows in the evening down stairs were first class and could be on any stage in the West End. It was worth the holiday cost alone just to hear Millie sing! We have stayed at Thomson Gold hotels in the past and will continue to do so in the future. Would not hesitate to return. Carole.

Room Tip: We stayed on 15th floor, amazing views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are very happy to hear your holiday was wonderful! We hope to see you soon for another perfect break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Yaramar, so thought I would share my thoughts with you on how things were.

Flights to and from Manchester to Malaga were on time, check in at both airports was smooth and painless (but do watch your luggage allowance at Malaga, they are very strict!). Thomson have now stopped doing meals on all short haul flights, but you can get snack-type things if you so require - not overly impressed with that to be honest, but may well suit a lot of people. Coach transfer to resort was nearly 1.5 hours, yet only 20 minutes on the return (?).

Check in at reception was pleasant and painless enough; although we had requested a high, quiet room, we were allocated one on the second floor right over the snack bar by the swimming pool, consequently quite noisy during the day, but didn't anticipate spending much time in the room during daytime so we let it ride.

The room itself was fine; clean, plenty of storage space, good facilities, free safe (although we were charged 16 Euros for a very small fridge for a week, which I thought was excessive), decent sized bathroom with a good shower and limitless hot water. Towels and bedding were both changed when requested (just leave the note for the cleaner). The only poor thing with the room, as we found out through the week, was the beds were very hard with springs poking through, leading to consistently poor sleep quality.

The restaurant was of a good size and you never had to wait long to be seated at mealtimes. The quality of the food was excellent, I have absolutely no complaints about that whatsoever ( and can't understand some of the negative comments in previous reviews). Breakfast was amazing; proper sausages, not hot dogs, eggs fried, boiled, poached or scrambled, even omelettes, baked beans and tomatoes (fresh and tinned), mushrooms, must have been a dozen varieties of bread, cereals and porridge, sliced meats, fresh fruit, real fruit juice.....you get the picture? Even the tea and coffee out of the machines was good enough, and I could get my decaff as well! And if the breakfast was amazing, the evening meal was phenomenal! The choice and variety were exceptional; at least half a dozen different salads plus the usual tomatoes, vegetables, lettuce etc, two different soups, two or three different fresh fish dishes, even more meats (proper meat too), potatoes boiled, chipped, mashed, plus a couple of fancy ways of presenting them, certainly the vegetables were a bit samey but there was always at least four or five varieties. I don't do desserts, only fresh fruit of which there was a huge choice, but my wife always came back with a plateful and I never heard any complaints from her. The only criticism I would have regarding food was the quality of the early breakfast we had on the morning we set off on an early trip. I thought that was really poor considering the quality of the breakfast fare available and the hotel could have made a bit more effort and used a bit more imagination on that score. Overall though, as I said, the quality of the food and the service in the restaurant was excellent.
One observation about the buffet service. I was absolutely disgusted with the behaviour of a number of the guests with the communal food. Even with hand gel at the entrance to the restaurant does not excuse the way that people handled food and then threw it back in the serving dishes, positively turned my stomach! And this is supposed to be a Thomson Gold hotel attracting a better class of clientele? Joke!
We did eat out on a couple of occasions as well, just to sample the local ambience. Once at El Rio, once at Dominique's, both of which were very good (don't understand why Dominique's has such a low ranking on Trip Advisor) food quality at both was very good and if you exclude the cost of the wine the price was very reasonable for what we had. If you want a cheap meal, don't buy a £35 bottle of wine!

Other reviewers have commented that the hotel is looking a bit dated and could do with a bit of a makeover. I'm not convinced with that. Sure, it wasn't the colour scheme that I would have chosen, but everywhere was clean and bright, the paint wasn't peeling off the walls, the public areas were of a good standard (although sometimes lacking in enough air conditioning), so no real complaints on that score. What has been remarked upon in some recent reviews, which we also found, is how noisy the hotel is. Due to its design with an open central atrium, all the noise gets funnelled up and especially when people are returning to their rooms later at night, all noises, especially conversations, gets amplified tremendously.

A quick mention of the excursions; the "Go Beyond" land rover tour into the lakes and villages of Andalucía is just about the best we have ever been on and I cannot recommend it too much. Dave Warden is an immensely knowledgeable guide and gives a thoroughly entertaining and informative tour. Don't miss it!

Oh, I nearly forgot to comment on the well documented morning stampede at the pool. What a joke and what a waste of time! I stood on my balcony to watch this ritual on a couple of mornings and nearly fell off with laughing! There are loads of sun beds available, why bother about having a particular one, they are all equivalent if not the same. We went down poolside at about 11.00am and still got fixed up then, so just can't understand this obsession with grabbing the "best" places as if it's some sort of competition. And this is the Brits too!

The quality of the entertainment was decidedly mixed. That laid on by the hotel itself was poor, the usual Costas fare, but the guys and gals of the Thomson entertainment team were the best I have come across in my entire life. There was a resident duo of male keyboard player and female vocalist who were really good, but the team themselves were all very good singers / performers, especially Millie, who should be in the West End shows and not just the chorus line either! Gosh, has that girl got talent! I've never know an entertainments team with so much energy and enthusiasm (and ability). Oh, to be twenty-five again!

So, all in all a very enjoyable holiday. I think the hotel does just about justify its four stars (especially if they sort the beds out). It's in a good location away from the tacky parts of Fuengirola and definitely has more positives than negatives. Do be aware though that the average age of the clientele is 80+ (we are in our late 50's). It also caters very well for disabled guests. I would recommend you try for yourself and make your own mind up. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room; you might not get it but no harm in trying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mayosgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for writing such a well detailed review about your stay at Hotel Yaramar and for recommending Hotel Yaramar . We are very pleased to hear your holiday was enjoyable and we hope to see you back at some point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

went to yaramar with my partner on sep 2 to 16 had the best holiday for a long time we are definatley going back next year it is so flat for people to walk .the staff are great very helpfull/friendly they will do anything to help you if they can .rooms big and clean views you will die for we were on the fifteenth floor it was great the entertainment was the best we have seen in any hotel thomson rep kat was brilliant she helped us a lot hope to see her again next year we recommend this hotel have a great time
jan winters end gwylon jones wales

Room Tip: high floor sea front you cant go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwylon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind comments, especially the ones regarding our hard working staff. We are really pleased to know you had a wonderful holiday at the Yaramar, so we hope to see you back soon for another great break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My daughter and I spent two weeks at the Yaramar in August.
The hotel is right on the beach and the rooms all have good views.The staff are courteous and helpful, and the rooms are clean and fairly spacious. I gree with other reviewers that hotel could do with a little updating, but really nothing too serious.
We enjoyed all our meals in the restaurant, the food was tasty, hot, and with a great variety of Spanish and European dishes.
The way the pool is run, with people lining up to put towels down was not to our liking, and we spent every day on the beach. This can be an unexpected expense as the sunbed/parasol is 7 euro a day, but that includes a glass of sangria. Here too the laying of towels goes on, but there are lots of beds, so you can usually get one.
The only downside is that the entertainment in the hotel and on the pool deck are extremely loud, and you can hear it all from your room. It does finish at 11p.m. so is bearable.
All in all we had a great time here, and would return.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience at the Yaramar here on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and are happy to hear you are willing to repeat. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just back from a week in the hotel through Thomson Gold (no kids in the hotel - yay!). The place is clean and well looked after, though showing its age in some areas - I was surprised at how new it was given the chrome had worn off the bath rail in our room. We were on the 7th floor overlooking the beach and spent many an hour just watching the world go by from our balcony - get a sea view if you can.
The location is beyond ideal ... down in the lift, through the lobby, across the road, and on to the beach. There is a deal with the beachside restaurant opposite (Rivera) giving you a couple of sunbeds, parasol, and a free sangria for 5€ for the day. In happy hour they'll sell you 1/2 litre of sangria for 2.50€. The hotel even provides beach towels for free, a first for me!
The train station is 5 minutes away (1.55€ to Malaga) and the port area a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll to jiggle down dinner.
Restaurant excellent on quality and variety (not great on labelling though, so check that what it says are chicken nuggets aren't in fact potato croquettes ... an amusing niggle, not a major problem).
We were half-board, but if you want to eat out, there are dozens of reasonably priced and good quality restaurants within easy reach - the port area seemed extremely popular as a venue for food and drink.
Overall - if you get the chance, do go...

Room Tip: Get a sea view, and aim for 7th floor or higher to see the cruise ships pootling along on their way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review about Hotel Yaramar and for recommending us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and even got to explore the area. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed her for a week in late April 2012.
Picked this as it was on promenade and generally flat around this area (wife's health not too good)
Generally favourable being adult only and had a good relaxing week.
Excellent food with a lot of variety each night plus 2-3 themed nights.
Very attentive staff who couldn't do enough for you. Rooms well-appointed and very comfortable.

Only downside, central atrium has a magnifying effect on entertainment on ground floor to the extent it's noisier in the rooms than down beside the singer/band.
If you want a quiet night, don't go back to your room!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caldercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Hotel Yaramar. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and found our staff attentive and helpful. We are aware they work really hard and are a real asset to the hotel. It would be great to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaramar Hotel

Property: Yaramar Hotel
Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaramar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yaramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yaramar
Yaramar Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing