We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yaramar - Fuengirola”
Review of Yaramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yaramar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What can I tell you about the week we've just spent at the Yaramar?
Well, returned on Sunday 26th Aug 2012 and the upshot is that for the money we paid with a large tour operator, for one week half board you can't go wrong. I base this comment as a reasonably seasoned traveler with many short and long haul hols under my belt. I suspect that many of the more negative reviews are from people who pay 3-4* money but expect 5* luxury.
Location is grand with many (all?) rooms having sea views and you only have to tumble out of the hotel lobby to get to the most wonderful beach, separated by a lovely wide esplanade. Ideal for strolling along into town and jogging if you want to.
The hotel staff are great and go out of their way to speak to you, nothing seems a problem - a very pleasant bunch of people.
Rooms, not the largest, but plenty adequate and quite kept clean. We had a nice 3rd floor balcony overlooking the pool. Aircon, only just okay.
Meals, plenty of choice at breakfast and in the evening, a bit samey at times but always good, always hot and more than okay for a week. Note; you do have to pay for any drinks at the evening meal (small bottle of coke around 2.5euro).
Moan, the aircon in the restaurant is useless - suggest they open the windows as it was cooler outside!! Moan over.
Didn't bother with evening entertainment so can't really comment - what we did hear from around the pool sounded good.
During periods of high occupancy, there just aint enough sun beds around the pool; but for 5euros/day, there's plenty of choice on the beach immediately opposite the hotel. For your money, you get two beds with comfy mattresses, parasol and two sangrias.
Incidentally, the access to the pool area is locked until around 8.45am; so no putting towels down ahead of time!!! This lead to the most amusing scenes each morning. At 30 seconds before 'doors open', not a sole around the pool, just like the Marie Celeste... and all sunbeds neatly aligned and parasols folded away nicely. At 30 seconds past 'doors open', NOT A SUNBED VACANT, you just had to see it. Brits at their best - see before and after photos attached :-)
To see scores of holidaymakers queuing up two flights of stairs waiting for 'doors open', most amusing. Hasten to add, we decided on the beach option.
If you did fancy a bite to eat at lunchtime, then you could try The Uppa Crust. Nice staff, great snacks and beer, cheap prices and a nice breeze from the sea. Easy to find, just go left out of the hotel, turn first left (50yds) down the first side street and it's literally just on the junction on your left.
Lots and lots of bars to drink at in the evenings, but Tony Shanley's Irish bar, around 15mins walk along the sea front in the direction of the town centre offers a very warm welcome, great for watching footy... nice cool breeze sea gain, reasonable prices.
The hotel had a mixture of youngsters, middle aged (us!!) and older folks - all very very friendly and not too noisy. Also, not too many kids running riot and no noise along the corridors.
All told, A great week in the sun and yes, I'd go back at the right price.
Hope you find this review useful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks a lot for writing such a well detailed review about the Yaramar here on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your comments and your positive attitude and are very pleased to hear you had a great week in the sun. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband & i returned from a weeks stay at the Yaramar at the beginning of august & had a brilliant time,The food was very very good with plenty of choice, the room was immaculate,the staff were very friendly & helpful, the entertainment staff were very professional & the weather was fantastic(maybe a little too hot). The hotel is in a great position on the beach with sunbeds at 5 euros for 2 & a glass of sangria thrown in. The promenade is bustling & a great place to sit & watch the world go by.We had a seaview room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool with fantastic views. The sunbeds around the pool are not available until 9.00am but people queued down the corridor from 8.30am & when the doors were opened onto the terrace it was like the grand national,we made sure to be on our balcony at that time for the entertainment(not an international event, they were all brits) as we are beach lovers it didn't bother us. The trip to gibralter is a must.Would definetely recommend the Yaramar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annwoodlesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks a lot for your review. We are very pleased to know you had another brilliant holiday at the Yaramar as that is our main aim. We hope to see you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We returned to the Yaramar on 14 August for a 10 night stay and were not disappointed. We've previously been 2004 and 2005 with Thomsons but this time we booked directly with the hotel and booked our own flights and transfers. This was mainly because we wanted to go B&B this time and not half board. Nothing against the food in the Yaramar, just that we wanted to experience more of the surrounding area.

 Whilst the rooms at the Yaramar haven't been upgraded for a few years I wouldn't say they were in a dire state, yes, they could be upgraded, but that would no doubt add to the cost of your holiday in the future I'm sure! They are kept very clean by the maids, who work very hard to keep us holidaymakers satisfied. 

As we only ate breakfast at the hotel, I can only comment on this, there was certainly plenty of choice, with lovely fresh fruit every day, my partner had an omelette a few times and was always satisfied with that. I'm not a big eater so tended to have fruit and toast and marmalade which was fine for me. Tea and coffee weren't great, but hey, you're abroad, what do you expect! We did see that staff were doing their best to keep on top of the glass/crockery situation and we witnessed a few grumpy faces and wanted to go up and say You're on your holidays, chill!!

Speaking of the staff, they are excellent! Can't do enough for you. Nice to see that a lot of the same staff are still there, especially Gloria and Carmen in the snack bar, always very friendly.

On to the Sunbeds situation! I think there is supposed to be a rule that you're not allowed to book a sunbed but nobody adheres to this so we didn't!! My partner was quite happy to go down in the morning to put the towels down, like they say "if you can't beat them, join them" who wants to lie in bed all morning on their holidays anyway! We Brits moan about the weather all the time so why not get out in the sunshine as soon as possible! 

As we ate out every night later in the evening, we didn't see any of the shows but realistically, as we weren't with Thomson's we felt we shouldn't take advantage of it. That said, what we witnessed throughout the day and the half hour in the evening before we went out was second to none, all four were so friendly and so enthusiastic and we heard nothing but positive comments from others so well done team!

As I said, we wanted to experience more of the surrounding area, glad to see Meson de Bravo still there up the side street from the hotel, excellent food! Also we found, El Rio, El Patio and Pata Rusa. Another place that had been recommended to us was Ponchos nearer the busy end, opposite Las Palmeras Hotel. This was fantastic, excellent food and excellent, friendly staff! Was also glad to see Upper Crust still going strong - best sandwiches ever!!

Toms Irish Bar was our local before and it was again this time but we liked going to Bar One also, again, staff were very friendly and free wi-fi!

On the whole, we had another fantastic holiday and this is why it gets four stars, for the overall experience! If you look for problems, you find problems.

Oh and I am 40 and my partner 49 , so not over the hill!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Vcarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks a lot for your feedback and your positive attitude! We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear you had another nice stay at the Yaramar. We hope to see you around soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Yaramar hotel and was really dissapointed with the hotel.It really is showing signs of age and a little/lot of TLC would go a long way. In our room lampshades were hanging off the walllights,there was hair all over the floor and cheap plastic glasses in the bathroom and on the unit.The information book was covered in old food and drink stains and the cups were missmatched and chipped.Holes in the sheets and towels, someone had obviously tried to use the fridge for free as the door had been badly damaged.As for the lifts the third lift didnt work unless someone closed the door from the outside.In the morning there was the usual mile long queue for a bed by the pool, not forgetting the many alarms that went off at stupid o'clock for the daily trip across the road to put towels on beds that the guy had just unlocked and it wasnt even daylight.
Its also a pity that the dress code was not adhered to in the evening. While most men made an effort to wear trousers there was still a few turning up in shorts, but this was ignored by the staff even though there are signs stating the dress code. the air con in the dining room was non existant so by the end of your dinner you were very uncomfortable and could not wait toleave.
If you are lucky or quick enough to get one of the beds on the beach , unless of coure it is one that seems to be " reserved " ( nothing surprises me ).then you also have a glass of sangria at mid day. This isnt the first time we have been to this hotel , but unless the yaramar is given a face lift and brought up to date we wont be returning.This seemed the general concensus.
The yaramar is in prime position its a good hotel going to waste.
.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms opposite the lifts as they ping very loudly on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mazda4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in the Yaramar, will not be going there again! Even though I found the staff and all the entertainment team very friendly, talented and helpful I don't think the hotel deserves to be rated as a 4star, I found it to be very dated and the nonsense of having to queue every morning for a sunbed was a pain, and I did not like the food at all, my first experience of Thompson gold and I was not impressed at all, the fact that there were children present in the Hotel as well did not help as we had booked thinking it was going to be a child free enviroment, i will be more careful reading the small print the next time decide to book a Thompsom Gold!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendyk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We came here last August & enjoyed it enough to make a return visit. However, things have changed. Most notably, the pool is filthy despite a man 'hoovering' the bottom every other day, the tiled edges are furry green!
The fridge, which is charged 16€ per week for, is barely cool probably cos it's a defunct mini-bar circa 1988!
The female receptionist has 'attitude'
I saw a cockroach in canteen...sorry, dining room.
The pool bar staff are excellent, as are the chambermaids & Thomson entertainment team.
It doesn't warrant being Thomson Gold when the (dirty) pool is full of kids either
Gonna have to go elsewhere next year

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne.d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Have just returned from our annual visit to the Yaramar, third year in a row. have read the negative reviews below and have to say cannot agree with the whinges over sunbeds etc. Yes there was a rush at 9 o'clock but that was caused by ridiculous people insisting they have the same beds every day!! Yes it was hot in some parts of the hotel but it will be in August particularly when Spain was in the middle of a heatwave.
i agree that the hotel is looking a little tired, but this is more than compensated for by the extremely helpful and friendly local staff who cannot do enough to help you. the food is very typical Med/British fare but there is always plenty of choice and you never have to queue for a table.
On to undoubtably the highlight of our stay and the fantastic foursome that are this years entertainment team. Individually they were superb, as a foursome they were fantastic. Millie has a super voice, and is charm personified. Elle is friendly, funny and again has a great voice. (She completely bowled me over with her rendition of 'Warwick Avenue' Dan the quiet one! is a great singer/dancer - catch his version of Music of the Night, and Craig would light up any show by just being there and sings Robbie Williams' Angels better than anything that's ever been on X factor etc. Seriously if you are reading this review get to see these four even if you have to sneak in before they go their own ways at the end of the season.

Room Tip: Go High to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks a lot for taking your time in writing a review about Hotel Yaramar and for your nice comments. We really appreciate them and hope to see you back at the Yaramar for the 4th time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.6 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,060 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,541 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaramar Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $92 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaramar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yaramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yaramar
Yaramar Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing