We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value small friendly clean and central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Itaca Fuengirola
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value small friendly clean and central hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel may not many facilities but is central to the old town is on a great bus route and is small but friendly. The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. I travelled with my sister mum and niece and we were put in an annexe room opposite the main hotel facing the pool area. We had a number of items that the maintenance team had to address but this was sorted with speed and efficiency. The beds were fabulously comfortable with crisp white linen as was the dining room with white tablecloths and napkins for evening meals and dressed also for breakfast. There wasn't any evening entertainment however for us this wasn't a problem. There were tvs to our bedrooms, although we never used these and the lobby area was comfortable where we played cards supplied by the hotel as was the umbrella on the one day it rained.

Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs bacon beans salad meat and cheeses fruit and yogurt with breads rolls croissants and pastries, plenty of choice, hot and tasty. Evening meals were 2 main choices, one veg meat pasta or potato. Soup for starters, loads of salads and rolls. For desert there were fruit yogurt and cakes. My only gripe was that there could have been more than one choice of veg.

The staff worked so hard especially the guys in the restaurant, constantly busy replenishing food, clearing away etc etc. Gabrielle, Roberto and Carey were a credit to this hotel, courteous helpful and knowledgable, addressing any concerns queries or issues we had. Joshua was great too serving us to our night caps.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for small and friendly. My one suggestion is that as there is only 1 pool maybe having this heated for the cooler months would be great.

Well done to the staff our holiday was great made all the more happy by the staff.

Tracey miller

Stayed 4-11 th April. Rain on day of arrival and 2 nd day and then each day getting hotter.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 501 and 502 overlooking the pool. Quiet and private with a small lobby area before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:
We´d like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice coment. We do appreciate all the great comments about our breakfast, cleaning, room and staff.
We Look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Best regards.

NUESTROS HOTELES
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    97
    71
    26
    29
See reviews for
59
176
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Definitely budget, clean, good staff, OK location. We stayed in four of the pool side rooms, it rained for the first three days so had a lovely cold shower every time we walked out of the door. There were not enough quilts to go round and the first couple of nights were cold, so after the second night of asking, were given extra sheets, the rose wine ran out and was never re stocked.
Then the food.....every morning was sloppy scrambled egg tomatoes covered in random herbs and if we were lucky dried out beans, there was toast, jam, marmalade and croissants, so there was other stuff but the same every morning, the evening meal was always cold and a random mix including ham and egg soup,...left overs from breakfast in chicken stock. The soup each night was made from the veg left over from the night before, green bean soup, cauliflower soup and broccoli soup, you get the idea... The menu really needs some professional input, eg mash potatoes, (soup) pasta and seafood(we think) with bone and fat (unidentifiable)does not make for a good meal, The tuna ran out one night so was replaced with egg and beetroot, to go with the egg and beetroot already out, the next night was pizza with tuna on it, someone must have found the tuna..... All in all don't expect budget food it doesn't come close, its much less than budget. The hotel had four largish groups of students staying through the week, although their behaviour was excellent the noise was loud and we had to wait for a table a few times. Having said all that it was clean the waiting staff were excellent and our holiday was brill, just wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: We were told balcony rooms cost extra, not advised when booking, I would suggest just booking bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedupofbadservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest

We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your comment. We regret that your stay was not satisfactory.
We are happy to welcome you in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Apparently it had been raining for weeks (wettest March in Spain for 65 years!) However, the sun made an appearance on day 3, hooray!
We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at The Itaca. Our room was one of the 'chalet' type rooms overlooking the pool(rm511), so it was very quiet. We didn't have a balcony so it would have been a problem if we had wet towels/clothes to dry. The room was a good size, cleaned daily and the beds very comfy.
We had B & B and enjoyed the food. Plenty of bread/toast/rolls, cooked scrambled egg, beans, tomato, bacon, cheese, ham etc lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt and a nice treat of Danish pastries and croissant.The coffee and tea was disappointing, but a good excuse to head to a local café for a morning coffee and watch the world go by.
We hired a car and were lucky with the parking. Be careful not to park in spaces reserved for the police station next door. Fuengirola has a good mix of restaurants and a 7km Paseo (Prom to us!)to walk off those extra calories. Malaga is a lovely city and Gibraltar is well worth a visit. If you go, it is worth taking a mini bus trip onto the Rock to really take in the sights and get a bit of history; very interesting.
We have friends who live near by so will be back and would definitely stay at the Itaca again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable assessment. We are glad your stay with us was comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our facilities and services.
We look forward to your return

Best regards.

NUESTROS HOTELES
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We did 3 nights B&B here in mid March. We found it very friendly and clean with good facilities but the rooms can vary in size and quality, request a room with a balcony because the ones without are small with just a small window. The position was ideal for us, 5 mins to the beaches, 5 mins to the train station (for Malaga) and the shops and the bus stops right outside the hotel for Marbella.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrydavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Itaca Fuengirola and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinión about our facilities and services and we look forward to your return.
Best regards.

OUR HOTELS
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went out for a few days on a budget, to get some sunshine after being quite poorly. Hotel perfectly adequate, rooms spotlessly clean beds VERY comfy, We had a room overlooking the road however not a problem as the patio doors really are good at reducing the noise - Im a light sleeper and it didnt bother me one bit. Agree that food was modest, but again adequate for the price. Cereal, toast, fruit, scrambled eggs, beans cheese at breakfast, something for all tastes. We were on a B&B basis and restaurants a stones throw to suite all tastes, great value ones alongside more upmarket. We did eat in the restaurant one evening, again modest but something for everyone, rice, meat, fish, pasta. If you're expecting haute cuisine then dont stay here, but thats reflected in the price. Pool area nice, only short walk to the beach. Staff lovely and friendly, if you speak a little spanish you will find they really appreciate that and the ladies (and a man) on reception very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Fuengirola train station a ten minute walk, train straight to Malaga airport so again great for budget break! Would return definately.,

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and the thought of the road bothers you that much, ask for a room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caznbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable assessment. We are glad your stay with us was comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our facilities and services.
We look forward to your return

Best regards.

OUR HOTELS
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We are just back from 2 weeks at this hotel the staff are great and friendly and they make your stay enjoyable the hotel and the rooms are very clean and comfortable,some web sites say that there is laundry service and iron at reception but there is not,it is also on a busy main road so don!t look for it being quiet also if you have a hire car you may go round many times trying to find a parking space,when it comes to the food i feel sorry for the waiting staff the breakfast is not so bad but the evening meal is hit and miss and they are very slow at replacing food when the tray is getting low though i talked to a school party from Canada who started in Madrid and have made there way down through Spain and they said it was better than some they have had,if I go back it would be B&B or room only as there are many good eating place near at hand,the pool area was very good but still a bit cold to try it out,other reviews say to ask for a room overlooking the pool but I heard someone ask for one and they were told that there was a supplement, hope the food improves to make this a great hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Itaca Fuengirola and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinión about our facilities and services and we look forward to your return.
Best regards.

OUR HOTELS
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We're not long home from a lovely 8 day stay on the Costa del Sol, staying at the Hotel Itaca Fuengirola. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at 10pm and were hurried into the hotel restaurant before we were even checked in! There wasn't a lot of choice and it was cold, but we put that down to the fact that it was just about to close and everyone had eaten already - in fact we didn't expect to eat at the hotel that evening anyway, so considered it a bonus! It wasn't until the following evening that we came to realise that that was how it was! There was always a good selection of salads, but the main course was just 5 trays, 1 meat, 1 fish, 1 potato, 1 pasta and 1 veg! Hubby always looks forward to the soup, but ..... always cold and tasteless ... Luckily there were lots of lovely places to eat in Fuengirola, and we found a great Chinese Restaurant called El Cisne, that did a 3 course special for 5.15 euros ... we ate there 3 times!!!
The breakfasts weren't too bad though, always a good variety of bread and delicious pastries, cereal and a toaster too so I was ok. Hubby again prefers a cooked breakfast but they weren't too exciting!
Having said all that, the restaurant itself was beautiful, spotlessly clean and well set out tables, with proper napkins in the evenings too, all colour co-ordinated in brown.
Our room was really nice, with a lovely bathroom. We had the towels changed twice and our bed linen once. The Hotel was on a busy road and we overlooked a zebra crossing, but it wasn't too bad. Maybe we could have done with being on a higher floor but it wasn't too noisy, and we did get the morning sun!
The bar was small but we only went in on the first night, and then once when we had drinks by the pool one afternoon.
The staff were very friendly and most helpful - especially Patricia in reception, who helped me out when, in a panic, I realised that I hadn't printed out my boarding passes to get home!!!
Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Itaca Fuengirola and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinión about our facilities and services and we look forward to your return.
Best regards.

NUESTROS HOTELES
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
0.5 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
620 reviews
1.5 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#26 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Itaca Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Itaca Fuengirola

Property: Hotel Itaca Fuengirola
Address: Avenida Santa Amalia 2, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Itaca Fuengirola 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in central Fuengirola, just 150 metres from the beach. It has a large outdoor pool with loungers, a poolside bar and a Mediterranean buffet restaurant.The modern, air-conditioned rooms at the Itaca Fuengirola feature free Wi-Fi and a safe. Each one comes with satellite TV and a private bathroom. Some have a private balcony.The beaches of the Costa del Sol are a short walk from the Itaca, and there are many bars and restaurants in the surrounding streets. Fuengirola has a famous Zoo and Sohail Castle. Discounts are available at a local car park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Itaca Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Itaca Fuengirola Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing