We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent pool”
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent pool”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arrived without a reservation and offered an excellent over 55s rate for full board including wine and water at lunch and dinner. Rooms small, but good sunny balcony overlooking the pool, and with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast and lunch very good, but dinner if eating late (after 8.oopm!), buffet was a little tired. Public rooms recently attractively refurbished, bar happy hour 7 to 9 pm. Outdoor infinity pool, nicely heated. Good location in Los Boliches and 20 minutes walk to central Fuengirola, and across the road to beach. Helpful Reception, and all in all very good value.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and for deciding to stay at Hotel Angela. We are very happy to hear you were happy with your choice and you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope now you know us you pay us another visit soon. We really do love seeing guests coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    466
    186
    41
    17
See reviews for
121
829
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the Angela 1st to 8th of November and enjoyed beautiful weather. We decided to book direct with the hotel using their website (very easy) and were able therefore to take advantage of the special Over 55's offer. As the airport and train station are now in the same complex, we took the train to Los Boliches. (The ticket machine is easy to use if you press the button for English instructions- bottom left,) It cost 5 euros 20 for the two of us, and the machine does take notes.)

At Los Boliches it was a 10 minute walk to the hotel. Head for the front, then turn right. We checked in quickly and noticed that there were up-grade options available if required. A poolside room was 3 euros, and a superior room was 7 euros (per person per night). We would definitely take advantage of this offer next time as our room had limited sun.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful, and the hotel clean and tidy. There are toiletries provided in the bathroom plus tea/coffee/milk sachets, small cups and a kettle in the room. We really enjoyed the food. We were on full board and found plenty of choice.

The entertainment was very much geared to an older clientele (ballroom dancing in the main lounge) but we preferred the acts in the downstairs Entertainment Room.

The Happy Hours are great value!! Two for One drinks at lunchtime in the Pool area, 7-9pm in the Lounge, and 9-11pm in the Entertainment Room.

We would welcome more information on the hotel website - in particular the dates of Gala Evenings so we don't waste valuable suitcase space bringing husband's jacket which was not needed!

Overall we had a wonderful holiday and we hope to return in the Spring.

Room Tip: Its worth paying for the upgrade to poolside or superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyHo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for reviewing Hotel Angela and for rating us so high. It is lovely to hear you spent a lovely week at the Angela and you very much enjoyed your holiday with us. Regarding your comment about the lack information on our website we would like to inform you that our website is not very dynamic as it contains general information about the hotel, therefore it does not get updated as regularly as our Facebook page where you can find all the information about what is going on in here, upcoming events and so. We hope to see you back in the Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a lovely 10days at the Angela at the beginning of November, great weather. Can't really fault the hotel Angela, it was great. Food was lovely, I am a fussy eater, but I always found plenty to eat. The rooms are a little on the small side, but it wasn't a problem. Staff were lovely and friendly. Kelly the Thomson rep was great and very helpful. The hotel is in a prime spot right on the promenade. I loved Fuengriola, plenty to do. Can't wait to go back, and stay at the Angela again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts about Hotel Angela with other Trip Advisor users and for your kind words. We certainly love reading happy reviews like yours as they are a great motivation and they help us keep working hard. It is very satifying to hear you had such a fantastic time at the Angela and we really hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Positives - the staff were friendly and very helpful, the hotel was spotlessly clean and it's in a good location being right across the road from the beach and not far from shops, restuarants and bus/train stations. Beds comfortable, complementary toiletries and free wifi in main areas and in your room. Ask at the main desk for a code ( if you have several devices you will need a code for each). Free digital safe in room. TV with some English channels. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Remote control AC.
Negatives - the rooms are tiny nowhere to sit except the balcony. If you do not have the pool side you get NO sun at any time of the day so quite chilly at this time of year. The showers are dangerous. Every few seconds the water goes from cold to scolding without control, I would not want to have a child in them, and there are no baths and the bathrooms are shabby. Had to ask for the heated pool to be actually turned up to a temperature that was warm enough not to take your breath away as freezing, but they did do this so fair enough. The food is dire. Restaurant all refurbished and looks lovely, same with the lounge but it is a realistically it is a canteen. Self serve Buffett and although lots of variety but it is luke warm, dry meat and mainly tinned vegetables. We struggled to put together a reasonable meal. Depends on your own expectations/tastes. Paid for HB but went out due to this. However for the cost of the holiday, what can you expect. Lastly the entertainment...or lack of it unless you are over 70. The majority of the guests here are retired and come back year after year, the entertainment were various vocalists each evening all which sang the same songs every night so the guests could sequence/tea dance. There is a bar downstairs, again beautifully decorated but no one in it. There was a disco advertised but not really a disco with only 2 people! Happy hour in various places in the hotel throughout the day which was terrific value. Come in summer there may be different entertainment but NOT in November! Not a bad holiday but no way a 4 star due to the rooms/food. It certainly is a friendly hotel guests and staff alike.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a pool view or sea view, not road side as no sun and can hear the traffic a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hello all holiday searchers my wife and I stayed at this hotel on October 27 till November 3 what a great week we had .First of all this hotel is very central close to all the shops and bars and a nice stroll to the marina about 5 mins walk .The room we had was 812 great view over looking the pool which gets the sunshine all afternoon until sundown lovely.The food in this hotel is spot on we found a good selection every night of meat and fish dishes and plenty of dessert dishes had to use the next notch on my belt after our weeks stay here.The staff are all very pleasant always smiling and on reception Alison is very helpful .Don't believe what you read about the sun beds you can go down to the pool anytime and still get a couple of beds you still get those desperate people who have to be there at 9am to get close to the pool saddos.Bye the way the swimming pool is always freezing even with the amount of sun they get here.This was our second visit to this hotel and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view high floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulmcgregorcorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks a lot for writing a review about the Angela and for coming back for another holiday. We are also grateful for the high rating received from you and for your nice comments regarding our services and staff. It would be lovely to see you back at Hotel Angela, so we hope you pay us another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at the Angela last year in October just before it closed for refurbishment, so when looking for this year thought we would go back and see the changes. The dining room,main lounge had new furniture in different shades of grey very nice and comfortable. The swimming pool is good but very cold some comfy chairs and tables round the pool and snack bar. People still laying towels on sunbeds really stupid there are loads stacked on one side. Only had one problem on a night the first week (we went 11th Oct until 25th Oct) we would go and sit near the snack bar outside and play cards we went up one night only to find it was closed. When I asked at reception why I was told it closes at 6pm because it was now winter I did say I thought it as a bit daft considering the temperature during the day was 28 C and at night never went below 22C. The next day there was a notice saying it would be open until 8.30pm so someone listened only trouble we never got out from dinner until about 8.45pm but never mind. ROOMS only difference was the bath had been taken out and a walk in shower instead a lot better. Make sure you ask for a room on the pool side we had to pay extra but worth it you get the sun most of all the day. The other side of the hotel faces the road so could be noisey. Food was okay salad bar was good plenty of choice. Have to say most days we went on the beach opposite the Hotel Yaramar
get a card from reception and show it to the beach man and you get two sunbeds with cushions and a glass of sangaria for 5 euros great. Will go back but might leave it for a year.

Room Tip: Pool side is best but make sure you do not get a room opposite the lifts very noisey at night with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnYorkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your opinion with other Trip Advisor users and for coming back to the Angela to see how it looks after the refurbishment. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and liked the changes. We hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just returned from the Angela after two wonderful weeks.All the hotel staff were very kind and helpful nothing was to much trouble,this counted a lot as my wife as a disability issue.The room we had was on the 5th floor good view and the room was cleaned daily.The hotel is close to the beach ,the area is nice and flat very good for people in wheelchairs, and a very good super market close at hand also a very good market on a Tuesday.My only concern that some of the hot food was served cold.We enjoyed it so much going back again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are the sunniest side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for choosing Hotel Angela as your holiday retreat once more. We really appreciate your kind words and took note of your comment regarding the food temperature. We love seeing our guests coming back so we are very happy to know we will see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Property: Angela Hotel
Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing