We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to The Angela”
Review of Angela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angela Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at The Angela end of April for 10 days, with my 82 year old mother. We have stayed here many times and my Mum used to go with my dad. As we all know the hotel is in a brilliant position, near to cafes, shops, beach etc.....It is suitably flat for those who struggle with uphill walking.
The hotel itself is very popular and caters well for its clients, in my opinion, the refurb had mixed responses from people we spoke to. The most significant improvement is the pool area, it is very impressive and now has a larger sitting area at the side of the pool, the downside is predictably those selfish people who are poised at the crack of dawn in order to block sun loungers with towels. It is very frustrating to see loungers blocked for hours on end when they can be used and probably vacated to allow other to use them. The hotel need to enforce towels being removed from loungers that are blocked for more than an hour.
The restaurant refurb is more efficient although the wood on the ceiling is a strange design!!!! The food is good but at times a little lukewarm. The choice at breakfast is excellent and the staff are efficient in removing used plates. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful and deliver their service with a warm sense of humour.
The entertainment room is much bigger and looked fine but as I don't attend for entertainment I had better not comment. My Mum enjoyed the bingo and stayed for some of the singing.
Now I get to the rooms. I paid for a sea view room which has a fabulous view and a larger balcony but the room itself was quite small. The room has had a lick of paint and a new leatherette headboard which comfy on the old head but no major refurb. I was very disappointed with the bathroom, yes it had a new shower tray but the actual shower had not been changed and nothing else replaced, it was badly designed with little space between the shower and sink to manoeuvre through.
Although I have raised some issues that I am not happy with I have to say that the Angela is still a good hotel and I await to see the completed refurbishment with the added spa section.
I would certainly recommend the Angela and will return. I wouldnt recommend booking direct with the hotel as it is considerably more expensive than with hotel only from Thomson, I paid approx £200 more and our cases were not taken to the room by staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank loveholidays010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We know your mother is a regular guest and very much appreciate her loyalty. Thank you for all your good comments about the refurbishment, we do believe the angela has improved its facilties. About our rooms, they where just retouched as other areas of the hotel needed the change more urgently and in only 4 months of renovation we have to prioritize. We took into consideration all our guests comments to decide which parts needed to be done first as well as practicality for our employees to have update areas to be able to give a better service. Our rooms cannot be changed in size as we have to work with the structure of the building, so in the future what we will do is to finish the redecoration. We currently don't have a date for the start of the next stage of the refurbishment to add the spa and new rooms but we also can't wait to see it all. We hope to see you and your mother back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just come back from the Angela. This was our 2nd time and we plan to make it an annual trip. We had booked direct with the hotel on a special for over55. We travelled by train from malaga and it was far better than transfers. Our room was lovely on the 7th floor. It was spotless and cleaned daily. Staff were all friendly and could not do enough for you. Food was fantastic with such a selection at breakfast lunch and dinner. Staff worked very hard in dining room to replenish food and the chef could be seen inspecting the food displays often. The new pool is beautiful and the lounge had been greatly improved. We were probably the youngest people at the hotel but we joined in and were made to feel welcome by the other guests some who had been visiting this hotel for the last 15 to 20 years.
We loved the hotel and are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Sunny balcony overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank easyjettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice review and for visiting Hotel Angela for the second time. We are delighted to hear you are planning to do an annual trip to the Angela, that would be amazing! Thank you for your trust and we hope your next visit comes soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have just returned from the Angela following the refurbishment of the hotel.The dining room is very smart and the addition of the new Maitre,Angel makes the atmosphere very welcoming.Although the lounge area has been extended with new furniture etc it is only suitable if you can get seats near to the entertainment.Otherwise you are sat with your backs to the artistes at the back of the room listening to chatter,chatter,chatter.Not relaxing at all.The "best seats" are almost impossible to get as non residents claim them whilst the residents are at dinner or 2 people have early dinners and reserve the remaining 8 or 10 seats for the people in their group. I really do not think the hotel should allow this practice and perhaps the system as at the Florida hotel should be introduced. I much preferred the previous system of entertainment in the downstairs room in addition to the lounge. The downstairs room was indeed a miss and I wonder if it will ever open again
There was plenty of choice of food in the dining room but most times it was cold -what a shame!
The staff are very friendly except for a few exceptions and the hotel is very clean.
The quality of entertainment has deteriorated and most of it is provided for the sequence dancing and line dancing which suits the older clients.Where have the good entertainers of previous years gone ?
Ienjoyed my stay but not as much as in previous years.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sunny room.It is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valdec999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest, we are sorry to read you felt we disapointed you compared to your previous stays. We understand the entertainment room is a very important part of our hotel and although when you were here it was still not finished to reopen, it has been open since June 2013. Upstairs in the lounge we could not give the same entertainment as downstairs and this is why you missed some acts you used to enjoy but now they are all back and some new also! We hope to see you back soon, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we have just come back from a week spent at the angela.we checked it out before we booked and it looked really nice it had a revamp over the winter so we booked,we have been to fuengirola many times and have always stayed at the yarama.the main reception of the hotel is fine and the reception staff are nice and friendly.the selling point of this hotel is the new lounge and bar area which is lovely with lots of comfy chairs and nice tables and lots of lovely plants it really is a nice place to relax.now for the dineing room what a let down to many tables all far to close together,you fell on top of each other,at breckfast they have horrable cheap place mats,wheres the nice white table choths guys.there were no little table bins to put your used teabags or other breckfast rubbish in so the tables looked a mess.the breckfast food was good and there was plenty of choice.evening meal was nice plenty of choice again and great white table choths.the staff are friendly but sometimes take your plate before you have finished.now the bedrooms,they have been painted and look quite nice,they have a tiny flat screen tv,kettle and plenty of hanging space,the bathroom was ok,but not great the hairdryer was not working and even after the revamp i think they just took the bath out and put in a long shower tray.i forgot to say the beds are the worst i ever slept in,overall the hotel is not bad but not a four star,if you want a better hotel for not much more money go to the yaramar hotel much better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 766susanh487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest, it is great to see that knowing our sister hotel Yaramar, you chose to try our Hotel Angela as well. Thank you for choosing our establishments when you holiday in Fuengirola. About your comments on our refurbishment, we understand you did not find that it met your expectations and take note in order to be able to continue improving. We hope to see you back at either of our hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just spent a lovely two weeks here in April. the hotel is perfectly situated for all the amenities and right next to the beach. there are loads of bars, cafes and shops close by and the bus and train stops are a 5-10 minute walk away. staff were all lovely and the food was great. Most of the guests were elderly during our stay but that may change during the high season. the entertain was not to my taste but others seemed to enjoy it and there was a different act every night.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. Only one side of the hotel gets the sun in the afternoon so take care when booking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank f d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks a lot for writing a review about Hotel Angela here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely 2 week holiday at the Angela and that you liked the hotel. We hope you choose us again as your holiday hotel as it would be great to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was probably the most tranquil hotel we have ever stayed at. No noisy children and no drunken behavior. The hotel is located on the seafront of the town’s long sandy bay and within easy access of the main shops.

Our room was tastefully furnished and there was adequate storage for all our clothes. The room was equipped with a free safe (remarkable), a kettle with tea & coffee supplied, a hairdryer and a flat screen TV with English channels (ITV, BBC). Our balcony, on the 8th floor, commanded breathtaking views of the mountains and some sea glimpses. It is possible to upgrade to a room with sea views and afternoon sun for 3 Euros/person/day.

The quality of the food was excellent throughout our stay. The buffet displays were well presented and equipped with additional plates and cutlery. Entertainment was provided every evening in a spacious and comfortable lounge.

The town of Fuengirola is connected by a regular train service to Malaga Airport which gives easy access to the hotel if you want to book it independently. The cost of a one way ticket from the airport to Los Bolishes, a station 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel, is only 2.60 Euros. For this reason, it’s well worth looking on the hotel’s web site for any special deals as they could be cheaper than going through a travel agent.

This was our first visit to the Angela and we were very impressed by the staff and facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JohnoShanklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks a lot for your review and for giving us such a high rating. We are very happy to hear you had a very positive first experience at the Angela and a nice holiday with us. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel Angela is a first class Hotel we have been on holiday there for nine years on the run never h
ad a bad holiday very clean bed rooms good food always been good plenty of entertainment always make you welcome very friendly staff They have recently done a lot of alterations the photoes on F/B look great cannot wait to see them ...Location Ideal near Beach and Bars what more can you ask for ,Excellent....

Room Tip: Ask for a high level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Holly399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks a lot for your trust and your compliments, they are very flattering and we are delighted! We hope you visit us soon as we would love you to see with your own eyes how beautiful Hotel Angela looks now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,044 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $92 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing