We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,818)
Filter reviews
1,818 results
Traveler rating
611
628
312
155
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
628
312
155
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolsteep hillsports clubtennis courtsopen planrooftop barmodern designshower and toiletshuttle traindouble treesports facilitiesbottle of cavaduplex suitehire caramazing hotelbuffet restaurantexcellent facilities
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 1,818 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

This was our second festive visit for 10 days over the New Year period; we had previously visited in 2013/14 when it wasn't Hilton. I gave the previous review 5 stars, but can't bring myself to award 5 now, but they do have the potential.

Positives:

The hotel is modern and quirky, which I like. Large rooms, very comfortable beds with quality linen, bath by the balcony and separate showers and amazing sea views towards Fuengirola. I don't have a problem with the open plan nature of the room; you're not on holiday with strangers!

SPA and gym are excellent. The gentleman at the SPA has excellent customer service skills, a credit to the SPA. We remember him from our previous visit.

Yoga almost every day, although class content was repetitive.

Amazingly roof top terrace.

Breakfast and evening meals are good, although 2 out of the 10 nights we were a little uninspired with the evening meal choices.

Decent prices for drinks.

New Year's Eve gala experience; the champagne and canapé welcome was great, the menu was too ambitious, what was the first starter? There was a long delay with the main course, which wasn't great. Good party atmosphere, free bar, live band and disco.

Not so good:

You do really need a car, but you should know that before booking.

Poor lighting in the bedrooms, a standing up-light would do the trick.

Show cooking, breakfast and evening meals, make sure someone is there to cook. There were a few occasions we had to wait a while; once I gave up and made do with what was cooked.

Don't charge for roof top. This was free in 2013/14.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank PatsyBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for my 30th birthday from the 28th of December until the 1st of January with my girlfriend. Check in was swift and we were given our key to our room , which was room 343 on the the 3rd floor which was the Hilton Honours Floor. The room was fantastic. Very quirky and modern with plenty of space. The room had both shower cubicle and bath. Large flat screen tv on the wall. There was also a kettle in our room and the maid left coffee, tea and milk every morning. There was also a mini bar with beer, spirits, juice,water, chocolate and crisps, but this had to be paid for. Beds were very comfortable and had a great nights sleep every night. We also had a good sized balcony with amazing views over the ocean.

The whole hotel was great and very modern and welcoming. Me and my girlfriend both had an hour long massage at the spa in the hotel, which was honestly the best massage I have ever had, and not bad for €120 for the two off us. After that we were allowed to used the spa pool which was very relaxing and they gave you towels, bath ropes and flip flops. Plus guest staying at this hotel get 15% off all treatments and free entry to the spa/sauna.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast board. The breakfasts were ok. Nothing to write home about. But did the job 1st thing in the morning after we had one to many the night before.We didn't eat any other times during the day at hotel as we always took the free shuttle bus into the town and ate there and got the shuttle bus back up again.

At nights we would drink up at the infinity pool bar. Lovely vibe and very relaxing. Also some awesome views from up here.

All in all we had a great time at this hotel and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MarkF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Views from room were incredible. Staff friendly and efficient. Food was good except for one evening meal. Seating in the room was not very comfortable. However, I love Art and the hotel looked like an art gallery which pleased me greatly.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

The hotel is sold with excellent views and amazing resort facilities. The view was a building site and crane! The staff do not adhere to their mission statement in putting everything right-they ignore you!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
4  Thank carolinedp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Dear carolinedp2016,
Thank you for your recent stay at Doubletree Reserva del Higuerón and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to read that we did not reach your expectations in so many areas. This is not how we strive to provide service to our guests.
As discussed in our previous email conversation, we look forward to welcome you back in the near future, so you can enjoy the quality of services most of our guest experience.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

I went away with my mother (who is not very well and cannot walk far) for a relaxing 5 days away before Christmas. This hotel looked great from the pictures and the amenities (swimming pools, sea views, spa, good reviews etc). Unfortunately, we did not really get what we were looking for, not totally the hotel’s fault (we misjudged the weather!), but partly due to the slightly exaggerated marketing. Whilst the staff were friendly enough, the free breakfast had a great choice, and the place was clean, here are few things to note before booking this hotel to make sure it is the right one for you:

1) The hotel is located in, what feels like, the middle of nowhere if you do not have your own transport. There is a supermarket and a couple of restaurants a 20 minute walk up a hill but the hotel staff did not tell us about this, we only stumbled across it ourselves on the last day. There is a tractor-pulled open-air cart to take you down to the beach, and train station which then takes you towards Fuengirola or Malaga - obviously in winter this is not very practical and in bad weather it doesn’t actually run. The cart only goes every hour between about 10am and 7pm (presumably it goes more frequently in summer?) and there is an incredibly steep hill in between. One time we got the train back and had a 50 minute wait in the cold and rain (there is no shelter) so decided to walk. My mother has 2 replacement knees so walking is not easy for her. The upshot of all this is that YOU NEED TO HIRE A CAR to have any kind of freedom or do anything interesting. HOWEVER - do not use the ridiculously overpriced Avis service that the hotel offer you (97 EUROs per day for the cheapest car). When I asked the staff if there was anything cheaper they said they didn't know. Of course if you go into Fuengirola there are a load of choices and we found one service - HELLE HOLLIS car rental - which was excellent and only cost £85 for 3 days. It is a real shame that the hotel thinks it is ok to take advantage of tourists not knowing the area in order to make an extra buck from a car rental service.

2) I assume the hotel was designed around a concept of quirky features, trendy lighting and designer furniture. What has in fact been created is a highly impractical, confusing and soulless building with an enormous amount of random chairs placed around the building, with no apparent use. There is no map of the hotel to explain where everything is, meaning we spent a considerable amount of time going up and down lifts, walking long distances to find the restaurant and car park and frequently having to leave the hotel in order to get back into it, because of random lifts not stopping on certain floors. Only on the last day did the receptionist tell us that you need to swipe your card in some of the lifts – this was NOT obvious and the staff did not really go out of their way to help us.

3) The spa in the hotel is nice but on our deal you only got 1 free go per person and it was around 30EUR to use otherwise. The gym seemed well equipped but it was very loud and open to all residents who live near by so pretty busy and there are a number of outdoor tennis courts. There are also 3 lovely looking outdoor pools but of course are not useable in winter.

4) The bedroom / bathroom set up was completely ridiculous. First of all we were offered a disabled room which should have been easier for my mother. However, the bathroom was completely open in the bedroom with no door at all to any of it. We asked to swap to a “normal room” but even here the bath is in full view of the room and there is just one shared sliding door between the toilet and the shower – so you can only use one at a time! I don’t know if all the rooms are like this but I do know that however well you know the person you are sharing with, YOU STILL NEED SOME PRIVACY. Apart from this the rooms are built on a supposedly “trendy” angle but this just wastes space and when paired with the positioning of ridiculously oversized pieces of, again, “trendy”, furniture just means you are constantly tripping over things. There was a tiny cupboard space – it cannot really be called a cupboard- with no door and the hairdryer provided is on a very short, tight coil wire which offers very little flexibility – take your own!

5) In our deal we had half board, which given the fact that you are in the middle of nowhere is kind of useful. Sadly, but now not unexpected, the food was unbelievably bland -Packet tortellini, a piece of fish with a carrot and a sprout of broccoli and fruit salad- even if I were running a cheap OAP bus tour in the UK I would be embarrassed to serve this. We looked at the food from the A La Carte menu but to be honest it didn’t look that great either – but we didn’t try it so cannot be sure.

Having said this I imagine in summer this hotel is quite different and if you are after a sporty holiday where you don’t need to leave the hotel, are happy with pretty mediocre food and love sitting on random shaped chairs then this is the place for you!.

Room Tip: A door to the toilet is nice!
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank judepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Dear judepowell
Thank you for your review, Aden. We are very sorry that you did not like the resort's current decor. We have shared your comments with management for future enhancement consideration. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope your next stay at a Doubletree by Hilton Reserva del Higuerón exceeds your expectations.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews