We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult only hotel in pretty Benalmedena in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adult only hotel in pretty Benalmedena in Spain”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked a junior suite which was great. Overall the hotel is clean, friendly and has good facilities. Be aware that the advertised spa and outdoor pool are not part of the hotel and are paid for separately. The dining experience is clinical and far too little seating to cater for the number of guests in the hotel. It's buffet style means plenty of food, just no ambience considering this is an adults only hotel. The rooftop pool is gorgeous however very limited seating/lounging area so we didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it during our ten day stay. No tea/coffee facilities in the rooms which again is surprising for an adults only luxury hotel. The reserve itself its lovely and the beach area good but the road leading to the beach is dangerous for tourists ad it is falling apart. What spoilt it was that they were building new tennis courts so the diggers started every day at 7am which was very intrusive. The health club under the hotel allows children to swim until 11 pm so you can hear them even though its an adults only hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical but the suites are more spacious and have seating areas which we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janevanvelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    537
    256
    122
    82
See reviews for
142
983
40
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great relaxing time at resort...the other reviews say most of what you need... rooms lovely and cleaned/fresh towels if needed daily. The beach is a fair way away and you will need the train bus to get there... The places to eat at the beach are somewhat ropey but that maybe just us as we have very high standards!!! At the top of the hill near the supermarket take time out at 'Enlatados Gastrobar' the food was great and the Sangria the best we had on the holiday at €7 a jug. The hotel breakfast was great and found all of the staff friendly enough... But the lady on the grill doing omelettes was by far the friendliest and tried her best to talk your language.. I think her name was Carmen ...unbelievable at multitasking that work station ....really accommodating lady. Dinner at the buffet was tasteless and stodgy and not even worth having ...we quickly skipped dinner in the hotel despite being on half board choosing to eat out elsewhere and we were only on a 5 day break. We chose to taxi to and from the airport at €40 each way but I understand the train is a good option. Only thing to add is there is building work that is going on as part of the sports bar... Diggers constantly busy and expected to do so until a volleyball court is built (told until end August) but it was ok you got used to the noise! May not of booked knowing this but overall great couple resort and loved the break x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TreetopCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel back in late June and had an amazing week , we got a very good deal which included half board so we weren't expecting too much but this hotel delivered big time. It is a modern style hotel which has a touch of quirkiness that makes it quite unique to other holiday resorts we have stated at in the past, as you enter the reception there is an Aston Martin parked next to the front desk which is unusual in itself but still rather impressive. Check in was easy and our room was very clean and again had a modern feel to it, the balcony overlooked the tennis courts and pools along with having a sea view which was lovely.
Breakfast and dinner there was very nice and had a decent choice, obviously towards the end of the week it did get a bit samey however they did mix it up each night. The Infinity pool is where we spent most of our time however you have to more or less be there by 10am to get a sunbed, definitely worth it though as it’s beautiful up there and the beds were so comfy you could literally have a few hours kip especially if you had had a late night beforehand! No real night time entertainment there though but we actually quite liked the chilled out atmosphere the hotel had and enjoyed a few drinks at the Infinity bar most evenings – drinks were pretty reasonable in terms of price.
If you want some nightlife then you will probably have to drive or get a taxi into Fuengirola which we did a couple of times and there are plenty of bars/clubs on the main strip. Speaking of transport we actually rented a car for the week which I would recommend as this hotel is about a 15/20 mins walk to the beach and shops and it is also quite hilly although we did see a shuttle train that goes from the hotel to Fuengirola.
Overall we had a great stay and would fully recommend for couples/small groups of friends who want to have a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonWM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went to this hotel with my family.. The hotel is so beautiful very nice decorated, they have so many swimingpool inside or indoor. But so sad the food is so bad and service is zero. The spa is great and good service there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mixlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently returned from a weeks holiday at the THB Reserva Del Hiqueron with my daughter (she's in her 20's).
I'd read loads of reviews before I left so I was fairly sure I knew what I was going to get. Sure enough the hotel is very contemporary and lacking of chintz, but that suited us fine. Spent most of the day around the infinity pool, sipping cocktails and cooking nicely.
Would definitely recommend the hotel to those that I know that like to chill. I'd also like to recommend the Tapas restaurant that is next door to the hotel (I believe the hotel recently acquired it). The food there is fantastic and the prices are very reasonable considering the surroundings.
A car is good to have but you can quite easily get to the local beach or to Malaga/Marbella etc using the train if you make the effort.

Room Tip: We had a standard Twin - - High floors offer the best views, but all rooms are absolutely fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed one great week in this hotel. We enjoyed the quiet pools, including the fabulous rooftop Infinity Pool. We loved the Al Rolo restaurant with interesting tapas, wine and good service. We used the spa, the fitness room, we had massage by two excellent physiotherapists, we played tennis and paddletennis. We enjoyed the buffet breakfasts, we nipped to the free coffee and wine in the reception area as we passed, and we loved the spacious and modern rooms.
The atmosphere is very relaxing.

We had a car that we used to see Mijas, Marbella, go to the Corte Ingles shopping center. We walked to the beach the first day, but found life so relaxing at THB that we spent most of our time there.

A great holiday!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with sea-view, they also face the pools, tennis cours and the rolling hills towards Fue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 190479Okr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Compared to the usual scenes of chaos at other hotels (fighting over sun beds,fighting over meals, hustle and bustle etc etc) this hotel was a haven peace, all this in the middle of July.
Having said the infinity pool at the top of the hotel can be busy.But we found no problem settling down on one of the decadent sun beds and just relaxing for our 5 day break. Not for any one with mobility problems.Hotel is like staying at an art gallery.

Adult only hotel attached to energetic sports club so if relaxing is not your scene have ago a padddle tennis which looks good fun.

Our room 432 over looked the sea (although at a distance)but got an excellent view of swimming pool and the tennis courts and hills.

Toptip: Don't make the mistake of lastminute's standard return transfer it took 2 hours. Get a cab 30 euros approx and don't be a skinflint.Get there in 20 mins and enjoy.

Room Tip: Hotel divided into two buildings evens and odds, So evens have sea-view and mountain view as do the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dajo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,315 reviews
2.1 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
921 reviews
4.0 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel
Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel
#17 of 37 in Fuengirola
186 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing