We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a week in April and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was nicer than it looked on the website. The decor is very modern, sort of upmarket Ikea, which may not be everybodys idea of comfort. We booked a junior suite, but had to change rooms as the original room had a steep spiral staircase to the bedroom and my husband has trouble with stairs. The 2nd room was 2 rooms with a linking sliding door, very spacious and light, floor to ceiling windows and great views. If you are on the pool side you get the sun, but noise from the tennis courts. They have a number of paddle tennis courts, and the noise from these can be excessive. The other side only gets the sun early morning. We would have liked reclining chairs on the balcony instead of the moulded plastic bucket seats, and english tv channels or at least sky news. The lighting in the bathroom was poor, impossible for ladies to do makeup. No room phones, but mobiles were offered to some guests. We only had breakfast there which was good, most things on offer including omelettes cooked to order and Cava. The tables could have been cleared more efficiently. There was always a queue at reception which is annoying if you are trying to check in or out quickly, however the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We knew exactly where the hotel was situated, but it might come as a shock to some to see what a steep hill it is on. A car is a must and there is free secure parking. At £68 per night B & B we felt it was a bargain and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are sunnier but noise from the tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very different hotel with lots of quirky features. Beautifully designed.with really comfortable, open plan bedrooms, The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice to suit all tastes. Sport facilities are amazing, if you are that way inclined. The hotel is situated half way up a very steep hill in a residential, gated complex. There is a free 'train' to the beach every hour which is invaluable, It finishes at 6pm so taxis back from nearby Fuengirola will cost about 11 euros. Bus and trains are at the bottom of the hill and both are very cheap, frequent and on time!
Overall a relaxing break at a lovely hotel which is not perhaps what you might expect. The infinity pool is to die for!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a very beautiful place Fuengirola. We stayed in this hotel for a week. And we engoyed to stay there.
The food was very taisty and good.
Very good evening buffet. :)
Three pools and beautiful places to relax.
We loved to stay there for a week! :))
Thanks! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taurins_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Modern hotel. Stayed in junior suite. Spiral staircase to bedroom. Not suitable for all. Room basic fittings. Food not 4star. Staff okay. The whole hotel has the potential but just misses the mark. Interior designer must have had an off day. Rooftop pool and bar excellent though. Need transport. Don't expect uk tv. No information in room re hotel or local area. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked for a long weekend this March. Hotel was refeshingly modern but there was a distinct lack of customer service. The buffet dinner option was poor and bland. Whilst a buffet breakfast can be expected - on holiday I would have preferred some degree of personal service at dinner. The eating experience at the hotel was extremely disappointing.There was no atmosphere and there was no central indoor bar to relax at. The door to our suite was difficult to open and whilst it was reported to housekeeeping on arrival it went unfixed for the remainder of the stay. The infinity bar and pool did not open till 11am which left you to twiddle your thumbs, with no alternative activity, until such time. There were no facilities to make a tea or coffee, the only machine in reception was constantly broken. The only plus point to the stay was the wonderful spa and its treatments. Given the option I would not choose to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny balcony for in the morning where you will sit until the pool opens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went as a family over Easter. My kids and I liked it on the whole but my husband less keen- he's used to 'proper' business class hotels he felt it was too spartan and the food not good enough. I liked the contemporary feel tho it was less good on dull/ windy days when the wind literally howled through the hotel- I would not come here in winter. Tho evening food was good when cooked fresh on the grill (like swordfish steak or pork steak) but less good off the buffet and puddings were disappointing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts pretty good with excellent selection inc squeezed orange juice and fresh pancakes, but dry croissants. We stayed in a Junior Suite for 5 nights which was great with good king sized bed, sofabed and shower/WC/TV both upstairs and down tho the narrow creaking spiral staircase was a nightmare with heavy suitcases (my hubby fell down it!). We did not have a car but found that the free shuttle to the train station was pretty easy for getting to Malaga / Benalmadena etc (Carvajas beach not worth visiting really tho you can stroll along the prom towards Fuerengirola). Taxi from Malaga Airport to Hotel was Eu35. You can walk up the (steep) hill 15 mins to a small Carrefour supermarket useful for snacks and drinks (room had a minibar). Lunches in at the Infinity pool bar were OK and ranged from Eu3.5 to 7. Generally we rather liked it tho it felt rather empty and perhaps lacking 'buzz'.

best bits:

Infinity pool and lovely large sunbeds- fab tho vulnerable to wind
Quiet and civilized!
ice bucket/ nespresso machine in lobby where you could help yourself to wine + coffee
quirky design
Paddle tennis was fun, lovely courts but Eu24/hour inc hire
Pools beautiful but unheated

worst bits:
soulless echoing dining room with 'cold' lighting
telly channels limited (only BBC News 24 and MTV) and no kettle in room (thanks to Tripadvisor we took a kettle and dvd player!)
Indoor pool is dark, gloomy and cold- my kids did not like it
Spa aqua circuit is expensive and not great

Room Tip: I was pleased we were in a Junior Suite- I think they are all on the 5th floor and have decent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RozzyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Whenever travelling to new destinations, my wife and I look for modern/contemporary luxury, so having never been to Spain, or the Costa del Sol, this hotel looked a suitable candidate. We were well pleased when we arrived, the decor and style of the hotel are very nice, quite minamilist, yet tasteful in my opinion.
We were upgraded to a superior double room, it was minimalist and had a very comfortable bed, the view of the ocean was also very nice.
We dined at the downstairs buffet twice, and the food was very nice, plenty of vegan options. The rooftop pool bar was fantastic with great views, and lovely lounge music playing throught the day. There are quite a few swimming pools within the facility and the sports club downstairs is also very nice, with paddle "tennis" and gym.
There is a tram to the beach and there are supermarkets and restaurants very close by..The only caveat with the hotel is the location, if you plan on exploring the area, i.e Mijas Pueblo, Puerto Banus etc... a car is absolutely necessary.

The staff were absolutely great and very helpful !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Palmfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,541 reviews
2.1 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,086 reviews
4 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ronda 4
Ronda 4
#12 of 37 in Fuengirola
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $89 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing